We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Highland Folk Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover how Highland people lived, worked and played at this award-winning museum. Experience life portrayed from the early 1700s to the mid 1900s. Find the difference between a “cruck” and a “croman”, smell the “reek” of a peat fire, relive early school days and life on the farm, or just enjoy a “blether” and reminisce with our friendly staff. Extensive play area, shops, café, and picnic sites throughout grounds. A great family day out for all ages. Free admissionOpen Easter to end of October – 3 to 6 hour visit recommended
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a fantastic day out for people of all ages. We visit the area regularly and try to pop in every time, even if it is just for a walk from the car park to the "smoky houses" and back.
The only drawback this year is that the antique bus that used to do rounds from one end of the park to the other is now out of service, so elderly or people who are not fit may find it difficult to walk the considerable distance (probalby around a mile) from the extremities of the exhibition.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ewa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    147
    19
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wee treasure”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Well worth a visit. Entry is free, they ask for a donation or that you buy a guide book. There is a lot to see, you could easily spend a few hours here and there is a cafe although cant comment as we bought a drink from the gift shop and sat out in the sunshine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacq J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A brilliant project being run by local people”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our guide took us to this free attraction. We were suitably impressed at the various parts of the site. Of particular interest was the old township which included a couple of people dressed in 1700s outfits showing how they would have lived. Also liked the walks through the pine woods and seeing the curling hut and pond. It was thoroughly enjoyable and informative. Recommend taking a detour to visit this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheresaB788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Really interesting place, for free”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We only spent a couple of hours here on the way back to where we were staying. It could, and should, have been much longer, there was so much to see. There are 3 main areas: 1700s, Victorian, 1930s to 1950s. The most recent period I could just about remember and relate to, especially the village schoolroom. The Victorian weavers, tailors and joiners were particularly interesting. However, it was the 1700s village which was the highlight for me. There were people in costume describing what everyday life was like then for the average people, fascinating. Didn't have time to try the cafe, perhaps next time. Did I mention it was free? But please help to keep it going and growing by making donations.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting place!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We decided to visit here as our hotel happened to be opposite and we were early for check in. When we went, we had no idea that it would be such a big place to see. We ended up being for hours, but you would really need that time. The woodland walk was nice and peaceful and seeing the old houses at the end was wonderful. A great day out for the family!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lin_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Folk Museum also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Highland Folk Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing