We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life as it really was.”

Highland Folk Museum
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover how Highland people lived, worked and played at this award-winning museum. Experience life portrayed from the early 1700s to the mid 1900s. Find the difference between a “cruck” and a “croman”, smell the “reek” of a peat fire, relive early school days and life on the farm, or just enjoy a “blether” and reminisce with our friendly staff. Extensive play area, shops, café, and picnic sites throughout grounds. A great family day out for all ages. Free admissionOpen Easter to end of October – 3 to 6 hour visit recommended
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Life as it really was.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Some interesting displays reflecting social and political situations in the past. Well explained displays and courteous helpful staff

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geordiescots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    133
    18
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“more time required”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

brilliant look into scottish life in the not to distant past.the staff were well informed and friendly

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Free entry, but not that exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I've seen better presentations of this sort of material in other places. It didn't show me anything particularly interesting, and many of the exhibits were quite cramped. The school room was good though, the 'teacher' in there was very animated. I think that free entry is quite appropriate.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to Highland Folk Museum.
The most enjoyable attraction is the teaching class, where you have the chance to see how was life in a Scottish school in the 20's. Great experience for the whole family!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Galileo_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Knowledge is free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went to the museum on a cold and rainy day, but the entry fee kept us warm. It is not a high thrill attraction but incredibly interesting. We wandered round at our own pace taking in the different buildings and reflected on how people used to live. The school was excellent, was told off by the teacher for being late! The school resembled a smaller scale version of my own school with much of the fixtures and fittings the same (and i'm only 30!) If you are interested in history and the way we were then this museum is perfect for a walk around for 90 mins. Only down side was the cafe didn't offer any gluten free options. All in all a lovely walk embroiled in tactile history

Helpful?
Thank Muchtysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Folk Museum also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 

Been to Highland Folk Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing