We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old Scottish hotel with a very friendly welcome”
Review of Balavil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balavil Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A lovely old Scottish hotel with a very friendly welcome”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Like many of the buildings in these parts, the Balavil has a rather austere granite outside with a rather ugly extension tacked onto it. But get inside and there are oak panels, old paintings and a very warm Scottish welcome. Rooms are a decent size and comfortable, the bar food is varied and well priced and the staff very friendly and helpful. There's a small swimming pool with a rather rickety Sauna which seemed to work perfectly well, there is a regular bus service from outside to the ski resort of Aviemore and if you want walking there are loads of opportunities right on the doorstep. If you want a plush hotel with all mod cons this is not the place for you, the furniture and carpets are all showing their age but who cares? It gives the place character and that's what you want in the Highlands of Scotland.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank politicsandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    93
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
69
76
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is great. The staff go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. The food is great, as are the facilities and its really reasonably priced. Ther are lots of activities close by, walking skiing etc. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a friendly family run hotel, and it was a pleasure to stay again, we had come up for skiing, but due to the high winds, only made one session, but we were informed each morning of the conditions. The pool was a great advantage here keeping teenage son happy and active with the lack of skiing. He also greatly approved of the sticky toffee pudding! A really nice atmosphere and the bathroom had been completely upgraded since our last visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Although it's within walking distance of our home, we have not visited the Balavil very often, but I thought I would mention how much my wife and I enjoyed the Valentine Dinner in February 2014. The Balavil is a fine old Scottish hotel, discreetly decorated with wood panelling and tapestries, the bar is cosy and the staff are charming. The food is homely and inexpensive and we were not kept waiting despite the dining room being almost full on this special occasion. The Valentine package dinner was very good value. I would certainly recommend the Balavil for travellers to the highlands who want a taste of old Scottish hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sky_Sailer_ETA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Me and my partner went here last year its really easy to find was at the top of the main road with a small car park facing, which we was able to park on free of charge. We went to reception to check in and was overcome with all the snowboarders and skiers. Obviously popular with them. The room was basic but very clean had beautiful views of the mountains. There was a pool at the hotel but we didn't use it. We had a three course meal that the hotel offers in its restaurant and the food was lovely the service was good too. if you walk round the side there is a pub at the side which is belonging to the hotel its very small and there is a pool table and a lovely warm log fire. There isn't much to do around but there is a few pubs on the stretch and a changing colour water place next door we didn't go there as it wasn't really right for our interests. We would go again when needing a quiet short break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy_Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had a nice stay, good food, service was fab. Ideally located for Aviemore and the local facilities. Nice pool and spacey family room. We spent our Honeymoon here 15 years ago, we were passing by so decided to spend a night there with the family. I think it is the same carpet in the lounge. Could be doing with a minor decor update but all in all still a pretty decent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoots007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a pleasure it was staying at the Balavil Hotel. Everything spotlessly clean, rooms spacious, reception and check in no problem. All food cooked perfectly with a good selection. I always made sure I was back in time for afternoon tea.The hotel staff are courteous, accomodating and friendly. I loved sitting by the real fire watching the boys playing pool.
I would recommend this hotel every time. Hope to visit again in the summer but will certainly be back for New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishaWilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
296 reviews
2.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
463 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balavil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balavil Hotel

Property: Balavil Hotel
Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balavil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Balavil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balavil Sport Inverness
Balavil Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing