We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working in the area”
Review of Balavil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balavil Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Working in the area”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fantastic hotel. I stayed in it for 4 months while working in the area. Nice clean rooms lovely food lovely friendly atmosphere and the staff are brilliant. I would recommend to anyone to stay there. I will be back again. Mr P Gallagher

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddydunmore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    91
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
65
74
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went there with family for a meal and have a few drinks. The menu was new and looked pretty good. I had the home made beef burger and it was fantastic.In short the Balavil is a Great hotel with friendly staff and excellent service. Would go back again and encourage others to go too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcinnes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Cynog
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Travelling back south from Ullapool, through Inverness, down the A9 in the late afternoon every Hotel I tried was full to capacity. Apparently there were two or three big public events on in the area.

Came off the A9 for Kingussie and Newtonmore and chanced upon the wonderful Balavil with a sandwich board declaring ROOMS AVAILABLE, and only £35 per night!

Uncharitably I reckoned that it was because the place looked a touch tired and unkempt. When I entered the lobby-cum-bar-cum-eating area my heart sank further. The carpets, too, looked tired and the decor very 70's. Needs must, however, as it was by now half seven, and home a further 530 miles distant!

I could NOT have been more wrong; boy was I mistaken. Yes, the fabric was needing a lick of paint, but the welcome, the friendliness, the room, the bed, the towels, the facilities, the swimming pool - all were exemplary. Have I mentioned the food yet? Fabulous! Not exactly "Fine Dining", but that would not have suited me. No - generous portions, well presented, nicely cooked, and me at the tail end of kitchen time too. The service was spot on, with some good humoured joshing.

A very relaxed and welcoming place, with comfortable beds and facilities - and as a singleton my double bedded room was only £45, a bargain.

Thoroughly recommended - just treat the decor with a sideways glance and it WILL be ok. I promise.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freshacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonmore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I recently organised a 90th birthday lunch for a friend in the Balavail Hotel. There were 28 of us from throughout the uk and France attending. The feedback from all present was extremely gratifying and all attending were full of very positive and complimentary comments. It is one of the friendliest establishments I have ever visited and the staff went out of their way to make a very special day memorable. The standard of the food was superb, the service attentive and the whole event was first class. All of us would certainly recommend this hotel for a function or small get together.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Whilst visiting friends in Newtonmore, I was recommended to visit The Balavil Hotel for an evening meal. The staff (Liam and Maraks) were exceptionally friendly and attentive. The menu was extensive, however, the pakora (which had been recommended) was not listed which was disappointing. The meal I chose (haddock) was very tasty, as were the home-cooked chips. I found the meal excellent value for money. The Balavil was a nice, friendly old-fashioned Highland hotel and I would certainly recommend a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and wasn't all that impressed. Yes it was clean, and although basic, the beds were very comfortable However, 5 coat hangers between 2 people just is not enough and in this day and age I expect a hair-dryer as standard. We were part of a group and had to make our choices for evening meal at breakfast time. I thought that you only did that in hospital. Going out each day you did not know where or what would be available for lunch in the various places we visited and therefore on arriving back at hotel we sometimes did not want what we had ordered in the morning. I was also not terribly impressed by the meals - both choice and cooking were again, basic. Also had to ask for room to be cleaned, someone had been in, they had folded the toilet roll into a point but ignored the bed and tea tray. Just address a few minor points and improve the evening meals (breakfast was fine) and you really could have a decent hotel.

Room Tip: Take a hair dryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a lovely weekend once again at this friendly hotel.It is perfectly situated for touring the Highlands. The staff can not be more helpful and have great local knowledge of almost everything being local themselves. Nothing is too much trouble if you have a query or request. The rooms are spotlessly clean and have everything you need in them(if you need anything not there you only have to ask and it will be provided.) .I have been coming here for 11 years now and it is nice to see it back to being 'family ran' again. See you in October hopefully .

Room Tip: All rooms are good some only have showers but if you need a room with a bath you only have to ask it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
291 reviews
2.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
458 reviews
18.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balavil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balavil Hotel

Property: Balavil Hotel
Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balavil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Balavil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balavil Sport Inverness
Balavil Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing