We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!”
Review of Balavil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balavil Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We recently had our wedding at The Balavil Hotel, the Coyle Family (especially Fraser) couldn't have done more for us. The service was fantastic, rooms were superb and the food was outstanding!! We certainly wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to anyone whether for a wedding, holiday or short break! Fantastic place, overall outstanding!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Net711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our second time at the Balavil. The staff are exceptionally friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, rooms are very clean and comfortable and the pub food is good. We like it because it is small and family-run and supports local people with employment, in addition to supporting the local shinty team.

It is not a sleek anonymous business chain - if you are looking for that, this is not the place for you. We will be back again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is ideal as a base for touring the Cairngorms. It is very good value considering the quality of the room and the standard of service. Food was excellent, particularly the Steak & Ale Pie. All staff we met were friendly and as helpful as we could wish. We would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Staff could not have been more helpful, and room was clean and adequate in terms of size and facilities. Dinners were excellent, though the choice at breakfast was a bit limited. Certain areas could do with redecoration. A good base for a golf tour.

Room Tip: Roms overlooking street would appear to be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The new management which took over in 2011 if I remember this right has done a great deal of work already. It is cleaner, friendlier, the rooms are getting a makeover and the staff is great! Even if there is perhaps still the one or other task to fulfill, the Balavil is certainly worth a visit. If that doesn't convince you - the food is great and the bar one of the cosiest in the Highlands. Oh, and it has a pool (and hopefully the sauna will be fixed soon, too)! I will be back :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dspolarbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Helpful and friendly check-in at reception, room was ample size with usual facilities (although shower soap was empty), free wi-fi was unavailable in my room and limited choice of freeview channels (obviously an issue with poor digital signal in the area). Bar area was small but ok for a couple of drinks with helpful, friendly staff, food was average "pub-grub", restaurant and bar busy with foreign travellers (quite loud and intrusive). Cooked breakfast was fine in the morning. Offered free use of the swimming pool (no other leisure facilities) but did not take advantage. Hotel could do with some modernisation but ok for price paid - biggest issue was that hotel was advertising B&B price @ £30 per night to walk-in's outside the hotel which was £10 a night cheaper than I paid on laterooms! Still, fine for price paid, nothing special, probably wouldn't stay here again due to the location and poor wi-fi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived at the Balavil after a long day's drive, touring Scotland. Pleasantly surprised, really helpful staff, plenty of parking, large room which was modern, clean, tidy, with a huge double bed, good en-suite. Meals very good and excellent value for money. Evening entertainment in bar also a nice touch. Swimming pool an added luxury. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
308 reviews
2.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
22.0 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
18.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balavil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balavil Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range: $104 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balavil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Balavil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balavil Sport Inverness
Balavil Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing