We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee”
Review of Ralia Cafe

Ralia Cafe
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Cafe situated on the A9 offering a range of freshly made sandwiches, soup, snacks and freshly ground coffee and tea.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I often stop here for coffee on my frequent trips up and down the A9. They have very good coffee and it is a great place if you are on your own and want a quiet coffee whilst browsing the internet or reading a book. There are few places where you can get good quality coffee close to the A9. I sometimes pick up a sandwich and find these to be really good as well. One thing which they could do is have a nicer selection of freshly made cakes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank northernlight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    85
    25
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“best crayfish & rocket sandwich”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really great place to stop on the A9, stunning setting, perfect coffee and must be the best crayfish & rocket sandwich in the UK!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMB661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hot chocolate I've had in UK (been here 10 months!)”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have been going to this cafe for the past 2 months or so every week and popping in to grab a hot chocolate, as I worked and lived nearby. I will really miss this place! It's great to finally find somewhere that does a good hot chocolate. I have been in the UK for 10 months and these guys make the best hot chocolates I've tried since I've been here (I'm from Wellington, NZ, where we have a really good cafe culture) Thanks Ralia Cafe for being awesome and making yummy hot chocolates :)

Have a great day,

Rach the kiwi

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachyrach83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“pricey but very convenient with free internet and mobile phone charging thrown in!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Certainly not the place to go for a cheap snack or main meal as it's a bit pricey but if you add in the 10 mins free WiFi access and the ability to charge almost ANY phone free - it isn't such a bad place to take a break! Very easy access off the A9 which runs alongside - just slow down, pull off, do yer thing and then rejoin the A9 a couple hunderd metres further along! :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Convenient stop”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had passed the signpost many times on the way to Aviemore,but decided to visit for the first time. What a lovely cafe with a variety of drinks and delicious snacks. Free internet is available and every phone imaginable can be charged there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralia Cafe also viewed

Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Ralia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing