We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How it should be done!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newtonmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“How it should be done!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were on the isle of Lewis and looking for an overnight stop on our way home to North Yorkshire. We were coming home via Skye so Googled hotels in the vicinity of Newtonmore and came up with this one with 5* reviews. We arrived about 5.30 - 6pm and were delighted when our host Neil came out to greet us and help with our bags. As we entered the hotel our hostess Annie appeared to welcome us, too - it was just like arriving with friends. Neil showed us to our superior room (we booked this to have wi-fi in the room, otherwise wi-fi is in the public areas) which was immaculately clean with lovely white bed-linen and a brand new en-suite shower room. We went down for dinner and were shown to our table by a friendly barmaid/waitress (the staff here all seem to muck in and do what needs doing at the time) and given the menu (one each, please learn, other hotels, it's not rocket science). The menu is not extensive but I think that is usually a good sign - I'd rather eat from a small menu done well than from an extensive menu done badly. And this was done well! I decided on things I'd never eaten before and loved it all. My husband boringly ate the steak but he was enthusiastic about it so we were well pleased. It was still light so we went outside to photograph the church ruins, and then went to sit at the bar for a nightcap. As I looked out of the window I could see hares chasing each other around the beautiful grounds, and when I went to the front door a large hare dashed past within a metre of me! The beds were comfy and we slept well. The breakfast was tasty, lovely bacon and free-range eggs with gorgeous yellow yolks. Annie and Neil gave us a good send-off, too, and it was like leaving friends. We are hoping to visit again in September.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumpuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

superb setting with great views.Best steak we have every eaten.
This hotel has only been with it's new owners for 6 months,they must have spent a fortune on it.
Comfortable rooms and beds,nothing too much trouble for Annie and Neil.
If you are in this area it's THE place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed here overnight and found it to be a charming hotel,so peaceful with beatiful surroundings.The rooms were very comfortable and the homemade biscuits were delicious and a lovely personal touch.The food was excellent although if you are a fussy eater it may be difficult for choice.My friend who is a little fussy had no problem as the waitress was more than happy to swap certain things.Breakfast had a great choice and the hot food was delicious.Fresh croissants are to recommended.The owners were always on hand checking everything was okay and it was nice to feel appreciated as guests,felt like valued customers.Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The hotel was fully booked when we stayed so we took what was on offer but superior rooms are availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were traveling a back road in search of a nice lunch stop and just happened onto The Monarch. Neil and Annie were most gratious, the food faulous and the settingsuperb! Try the shaved lamb sandwich and the meat and cheese tray. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stopped for lunch after visiting Dalwhinnie distillery and found this hidden gem. Very quaint and hospitable in a beautiful setting. The food was gourmet at a reasonable price. Both Neil and Annie were warm and gracious. It fact we felt as if we were guest in a friend's home. I highly recommend it for the

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Having experienced some examples of poorly run hotels in the remoter parts of Scotland we were not too sure what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised and please to have a warm welcome, clean comfortable rooms, good dinner and breakfast; all done with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Arrived at this place to meet some friends around 8 at night without a reservation. The owners were very friendly and offered a room for reasonable price. They made me feel very welcome right away. The hotel is in a lovely location with fantastic view from the restaurant. Food was fabulous. I had a great stay and WolfTrax is just down the road.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank opiatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.2 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
23.8 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin

Property: The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin
Address: Laggan, Newtonmore PH20 1BT, Scotland (Formerly Monadhliath Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in three secluded acres of private gardens this lovely Victorian house was originally built as a manse in 1851 and has a magnificent church ruin in its grounds. The Monarch is situated in the welcoming village of Laggan by Newtonmore, close to Aviemore and within the Cairngorms National Park. It’s also in the heart of world-famous "Monarch of the Glen" countryside and is surrounded by the spectacular Monadhliath Mountain Range. Enjoy our modern Scottish homemade cuisine using fresh local seasonal produce by the open fireplace in our restaurant or relax by another open fireplace in the cosy lounge bar. All our rooms have en-suite bathrooms and comfortable new beds and linen. Free WIFI is now available in all public areas of the hotel. A full Scottish breakfast is included in the room rate. A perfect location for exploring this iconic part of the Highlands area, whether you want to come here for a romantic weekend, walking holiday or enjoy a round of golf, fishing, skiing, mountain biking, quad biking, clay pigeon shooting, canoeing, horse-riding, cycling or taking part in one of the many activities that can be found nearby. The hotel has new owners and has just been renovated and rebranded. Neil and Annie Whittle have recently moved from the Sunshine Coast, Australia and are now proud to call the Scottish highlands home. Whatever the reason for your visit, you will be assured of a warm welcome in our comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Monarch Hotel & Church Ruin Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing