We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Letterbox Restaurant”

Letterbox Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fettercairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Letterbox Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I came here on our wedding anniversary and loved it. The food is freshly prepared on the premises by the chef/owner and was absolutely delicious. You can choose from set or a la carte menus. I am vegetarian and got a set menu with lots of choice. My husband chose from the a la carte menu and was not disappointed. The service could not be faulted and was very discreet but attentive. Very reasonable prices for the quality of food on offer. I would even rate this as one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in. The only bad thing I could say was that it is not close enough to home that we could dine there more often!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    59
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Staying at a local hotel. Drove past in the afternoon and stopped to look at the menu. Owner/ Chef was inside and came outside ( 4deg) and gave us an overview of the menu then a rundown of the specials. went in that evening with no reservation and had great speedy service. Both of us had the Steak which was the best ever ive tasted and the pepper sauce was great. could definatley show larger town/Cities a thing or two.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidkilpatrick18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“High Quality Food in the Cairngorms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Really great little place serving up absolutely delicious dinners. The Letterbox is a small but classy dining establishment, serving great food at a reasonable price. I had a venison steak with a red wine jus and my partner had a savoury seafood pancake. The dishes are made from local ingredients, but each dish is unique and not like anything you may find in any nearby pubs. My steak was cooked absolutely perfectly and the jus was the perfect complement. I had planned on having dessert however, had no room after the main meal! The food is all freshly cooked to order. From what I could see there was the chef in the back cooking and infront a lovely young lady waiting all the tables. Amazingly, with only two people, no hold ups or waiting and the food was cooked perfectly and timely. I like supporting local trade and small independent businesses and this is truly a good example of such. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suj_KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We came to the letterbox for our work christmas meal on Friday, The food was extremely good, you could tell that it was all freshly prepared and homemade,which makes a big difference! Great portions too,not too small like in some restaurants with that standard of food! Waitress was very helpful and kept an eye on us and made sure we were always with a full glass. Can't complain about this restaurant attal. An idea would be to possibly have a proper cocktail menu available for those girly nights!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cooljooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Newtonmore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Having walked up and down Newtonmore and Kingussie on several occassions looking for somewhere that isn't tartan and traditional or the local pub we came across the Letterbox Restaurant. The first time we popped in it was full and there were no tables available that night but it looked good. The next time we were in the area mountain biking we booked on the Saturday evening for a meal and weren't disappointed. It was delicious! One waitress was managing to serve the whole restaurant single handedly and very efficiently with a smile and some conversation - faster service than most others I have been in recently. The relaxed atmosphere was most enjoyable and we will definitely be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank memac-mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Letterbox Restaurant also viewed

Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Letterbox Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing