We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant little gem”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AW2011S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant little gem”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Isla provided a thoughtful welcome by leaving out chocolate cake and milk for our arrival. The signal box is easily found and is a great base to explore the surrounding area. Although the trains are quite frequent, they're not a distraction and the lovely views from the cottage of the sheep, lambs, bunnies and Cairngorm mountain range are great to come back to after days out. The cottage was really homely and my other half loved using the wood burning stove in the evenings. Everything is provided. Would definitely stay here again if we revisit the area.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower!
Liked least: The fact that I didn't get to use the sauna due to me having a sprain that didn't need heat!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Stars021
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed here for a week at the end of November, it truly is amazing. Location is just perfect with amazing views, the accommodation is finished to the highest specification. The log fire is simply fantastic, with all logs provided for your stay. The signal box is so homely and comfortable we just didn't want to leave! This place is a real gem, totally unique and most definitely the best self catering holiday home we have ever stayed in, this fabulous place is without a doubt 5*
The home made chocolate cake and pretty flowers waiting for us upon just confirmed to us that this place is as wonderful as all the other reviewers have said! Can't wait to cone back next year. Book now you won't regret it.

Date of stay: November 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S2629LIda...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A REAL GEM”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in this purpose built property which looks like a signal box. Trains run approximately hourly through the day - we did not find them intrusive. There are commercial properties adjacent, presumably in the former goods yard, but the views are across fields to the hills beyond. Heaven. Ideal for walking and wildlife watching. We hope to return.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhona M
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We have found our little piece of heaven on earth!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had our 3rd trip to the Signal Box and again we had a lovely relaxing break. The accommodation is extremely comfortable, cosy and clean. Everything you could need or want has been thought of. The welcome chocolate cake is sublime and the sauna a real treat after a day out.

Date of stay: February 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderobo
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“High quality in the highlands”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place to spend a week. The views of the mountains are stunning. The trains are interesting, and not at all bothersome. The furnishings are tasteful and comfortable. The log fire (and sauna) are warming. Beautiful.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the location.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven.....”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5
people found this review helpful

This has to be one of the greatest holidays that we have ever been on. From Isla's warm welcome to the chocolate cake that waited for us on arrival, everything was perfect. The Signalbox is clean, spacious and set in beautiful countryside. We never tired of looking out the windows at The Cairngorms. Our 18 month old son loved the trains that stopped or passed through the station and was in his element exploring the cottage. There is plenty to explore on your doorstep with the Highland Folk Museum about 25-30 minutes walk away and Aviemore a short drive of 10-15 minutes. Further afield, we visited Inverness, Ben Nevis, the Wildlife Park at Kingussie and the nearby Inshriach Nursery that makes amazing cakes. Wonderful, hope to pop back sooner rather than later!

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & people
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing