We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Away!”
Review of Alvey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtonmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alvey House
Ranked #7 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Glasgow
1 review
“Wonderful Weekend Away!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a fabulous time here! This hotel was taken over by new owners in the Spring of 2013 and it is going from strength to strength. I stayed in a beautifully decorated room, with a fabulous cosy goose-down duvet, lovely new en-suite and a great view of the Highlands. I took a group of university students for a weekend and we had a fabulous time - great food, very knowledgeable hosts in Julie & Ian who spent time chatting to us, advising on walks and outdoor activities, and we had great meals - hearty cooked breakfasts, lovely packed lunches and home-cooked evening meals at the weekend. All our dietary requirements including gluten-free, vegetarian etc were catered for really well. We enjoyed the wee on-site bar and sitting by the fire in the residents' lounge. Most of all it is cosy, welcoming, friendly and a home from home - I will definitely be going back again - a great base for walking, cycling, enjoying the outdoors, or just relaxing - can't recommend it highly enough - and importantly, great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lejm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just back from my third stay at alvey house since the new owners have taken over. Love staying here. Rooms are comfortable and clean, breakfast is good. Hosts are lovely and can't do enough to help. Location and views are ideal and beautiful. Home from home :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julybeach90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed there with a group of 13 bikers in May 2011. We had a pleasant stay and were helped by lovely people. We came late and were in hurry to get dinner, so they managed a table in the hotel restaurant for us, while showering.
The rooms were clean and cosy.
Next visit to Scotland we will come again.
Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knight2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

On arrival we were met by a pleasant lady who showed us up to our room, a clean room with a small ensuite and some very dated decor. The bed was comfortable and the room had all the expected basics.
Breakfast in the morning was a disappointment, with prunes and grapefruit, poor cereal choices (Alpen and Branflakes) and a small cooked breakfast. The scrambled eggs and tattie scones were very sweet and there were also no vegetarian options (e.g veggie sausages).
The 'public' areas of Alvey House were very dark and dingy - and check out was more functional than friendly. The owners did let us leave our car on their drive during the day while we attended the Newtonmore Highland Games.
This place is clearly one for the older generation. (we clearly weren't their target market)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RovingK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alveyhouse, Owner at Alvey House, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
It never fails to amaze me that the persons with a negative review choose to do so in writing rather than discuss their issues during their stay. But as a member of the older generation perhaps I expect to much from some of the immature population In regard to this review I would make the following comments. Breakfast consists of a choice of cornflakes, muesli, fruit and fibre, orange juice, grapefruit, prunes. porage, eggs [3 ways] , bacon, sausage, black pudding, tomato's, mushrooms, hash browns and potato scones, Our continental breakfast consists of Croissant or Drop Pancakes with cold meat and cheese. Had the guest been unable to identify a satisfactory vegetarian breakfast from the above he/she had only to ask.

The rooms are decorated to fit in with the period features of the Victorian House which we do not consider to be either dark or dingy

At check out all guests are asked if everything was OK. In this instance I checked out the guests and no adverse comments were made. The normal pleasantries were exchanged and the guests asked if they could leave their car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western isles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

A lovely guesthouse at ease within a glorious setting.Good sized rooms which are clean,well presented and equipped,and would sit comfortably at the top end of its three star rating.Our hosts were welcoming,and responsive to our changed needs due to recent surgery.Having looked at previous disparaging reviews,l can only suggest that a grounded connection with price and aspiration was somewhat lacking in some.If you require huge showers,top end fixtures and fittings,or a hotel,these are available locally at a price that would probably be up to three times higher,and in the case of a hotel,definately noisier.This is a very good three star guesthouse and in an ideal location,strongly reccommended

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balancethescales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

WONDERFUL B& B

Travelling from Australia, stayed here for the second time. Again Roy and Margaret are very welcoming hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are large,very comfortable, clean and cosy. The breakfast is excellent. They are very knowledgeable about the local area, and suggested a couple of attractions to visit which we thoroughly enjoyed. We would highly recommend this hotel. We cannot believe the adverse reviews, they must be thinking of another hotel.

Thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay.

Stayed September 2011, travelling with Scottish relations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Scottish Tourist Board's three-start rating for B&B's talks about attention to detail. Definitely not the case here. Problems with cleanliness. Ageing mattress and decor. And not welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alveyhouse, Owner at Alvey House, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
At checkout the guest made the following complaints
The water from the hot tap was to hot, [first complaint in 8 years and we have many families with young children staying]
the light above the sink had failed [dud flourescent tube]
He could not get a wi-fi connection which we offer as a service and without charge [ although two other guests had connected the same evening without problem]

Given the above it seems strange that he did not also take the opportunity to express his disatisfaction with all the other [more serious] elements mentioned in his review. [perhaps he mistook us for another Guest House he stayed at]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.2 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#2 of 13 in Newtonmore
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Larick House B&B
Larick House B&B
#10 of 13 in Newtonmore
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvey House

Property: Alvey House
Address: Golf Course Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alvey House is a Visit Scotland 3 star Guest house on the outskirts of Newtonmore village in the lee of the Monadhliath Mountains and commands panoramic views of the Spey River Valley and Cairngorm Mountains. With en-suite bedrooms, Residents Lounge, Dining Room and Bar, Alvey House is Family friendly and makes the perfect base from which to explore the Highlands and all its attractions whether activity based or general tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alvey House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing