We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Questionable cleanliness” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alvey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtonmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alvey House
Ranked #10 of 14 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Questionable cleanliness”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

I would never stay here again. On arrival, we were escorted to our room which did not smell pleasant at all. The owner did not appear to notice this. When I went to use the ensuite toilet, it became apparent the reason for this smell. The toilet had been used and not cleaned (or flushed!!!) which almost made me vomit. We informed the owner of this who apologised and stated it would be cleaned while we were out. (If there were any other rooms/ B&Bs available at the time - we would have left but unfortunately it being the weekend of the Speyside whisky festival, we were out of luck there). On our arrival back later that night, I expected the place to be utterly spotless however, the toilet, despite being cleaner (couldn't really be any worse!!), was still not what I would call clean. I was able to clean it better with the toilet brush myself (which was completely disgusting). In the morning, I also noticed hairs in the shower cubicle. When speaking to the owners at breakfast there was no further mention of this incident. Personally, if I were running a B&B and this occured I would be completely affronted and continually apologise!!
The icing on the cake came upon check out. The owner took my money without so much as a thank you. In fact, I got no acknowledgment whatsoever as he just began to talk to someone standing behind me!!!! To say I was infuriated is an understatement!! It just goes to show what bad customer service can do, as if I had received a thank you and perhaps another apology for the state of the toilet on arrival, I would never have written this review!!!
From reading the other responses for negative reviews from this B&B I expect the owner will deny all knowledge of this, but believe me, it certainly happened!! I would really rather it hadn't as the smell is still with me!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenbrown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alveyhouse, Owner at Alvey House, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thirty minutes after arrival and on their way out for the evening the guests advised us that there was dirty water in the toilet pan. On inspection we found that the dirty water was coming from the cistern. Our only explaination is that the dirty water was due to a high concentration of chemicals from a disinfectant block. This being due to the room not being used for three weeks and the block dissolving into one cistern full of water rather than being dissolved by multiple uses of the toilet over a number of weeks. The cistern and toilet were cleaned and the room left in good order.

The following morning the guests had breakfast and It had been our intention to explain the situation to them at checkout. However at checkout two guests were present. Whilst trying to deal with the first guest the guest in question asked me to confirm the amount payable and on doing so passed me the full amount due in cash.

Concerned that I not had the opportunity to explain the situation personally I wrote the guest a letter of apology and explaination the same day. Cleanliness is a byword of Alvey House and we take exception to the claim that the room had an obnoxious smell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Roy and Margaret are fantastic hosts, they make you feel like part of the family, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is especially good, as you choose what you would like and it is cooked personally for you, and a fantastic choice. They are very knowledgeable about the area, and will suggest day trips, and help you organise them. We would highly recommend this hotel and cannot believe one of the reviews, they must have stayed somewhere else !! go to this hotel,, it is a must

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank philcaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaerwen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We were knocked out by the gorgeous view over the mountains and surrounding farmland (ask for room 4 if it's available)

The owners were friendly, welcoming and very accommodating.

We tried Mr King's wonderful full Scottish Breakfast and then had to walk it off with a long stroll around the adjacent golf course. Didn't bother with lunch that day!

Relaxing with a malt in front of a roaring log fire in the cosy residents lounge, was just the ticket after a cold day on the hill.

We were about a 20 minute drive away from the skiing at Cairngorm mountain and frankly, we were far happier staying in the lovely village of Newtonmore than crowded, commercialised Aviemore.

Alvey House is a real gem of a find - clean, comfortable and great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 464TMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

I also stayed in the B&B that DOES try and advertise itself as a hotel.
If the decor was supposed to be in keeping with a Victirian Mansion House it must have spent some time in a tardis.
I may well have stayed in the same room as the other reviewer. The shower door worked fine.... and I was glad to get out of it. It was hardly a trickle of water and I couldn't touch my toes without popping the shower door open with either my head or my bottom.
Battery chickens are bred in keeping with regulations. It doesn't make it good or right!
Breakfast was rubbish. Packed lunch was the worst little bag of food I have ever paid for.
The place looks nice from the outside but that is where my positive comments end!
Like the other reviewer, I don't complain or write bad reviews unless I am sorely disappointed. On this occassion I was.
The owner was most bizarre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joechunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alveyhouse, Owner at Alvey House, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Given that Joe Chunk has never been registered as a Guest and that we did not receive a complaint from him at the time of his so called disastrous stay in August I consider the review to be malicous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

Another glorious week spent at Alvey House in the middle of the glorious Highlands. As a young family (3 year old and 6 year old) we have been back to Alvey again and again. There is so much to do in the area and as Roy and Margaret (our hosts) have grandchildren of their own, they are always able to direct us to the best spots to keep the kids entertained, rain or shine (or both as is often the case!).
A traditional Victorian home which has been tastefully converted to a guest house with a variety of rooms, Alvey is full of charm and character.
As ever, our room (this time the large family room, though we have previously used the combination of double/twin and single) was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. There was a child monitor left in the room for us so that we could put the kids to bed then head down to the guest lounge for a tipple in front of the fire before retiring ourselves.
Each morning a full cooked breakfast set us up for the day and our hosts even put together a packed lunch for us on the days that requested.
Once again we were sad to leave but know that we will be north bound on the A9 again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Just back from 2 days in this Hotel, which is really just a B+B.
Room was small and VERY dated. The ensuite is the smallest I have ever suffered and I have stayed in a lot of places. I could hardly fit in the shower cubicle, not that I was missing out on a flood of water from the shower rose. Amazingly poor.
The owners were some what bizarre in their antics, watching our every moves. The breakfast was below mediocre, although the girl that serves us was very pleasand and the only nice thing I would say about the experience.
I don't often take time to write reviews, but what was a fantastic trip, was really let down by the 'hotel' experince.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norriedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alveyhouse, Owner at Alvey House, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
I would make the following observations to the review -never again
We are a three star Visit Scotland Guest House and do not promote ourselves as a Hotel
Alvey House was a Victorian Merchants House and the decor is purposely in keeping with that era
The Guest stayed for two days and did not complain about any aspect of the accommodation or service, except to say the shower door was sticking when paying his bill. [on inspection this was not found to be the case]
All the rooms are en-suite and the size and layout comply with Building Regulations with regard to the size of the bedroom, showeroom and its fitments.
As owners we only met the guest at check in, breakfast and departure, at which time the normal pleasantries were exchanged.
Other Guests who were present during the same period wrote positive comments in our visitors book on all aspects of their stay. These views are confirmed in every other Trip Advisor Review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed for one night only in the family room which was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was fine but we didn't get to speak to the hostess enough as she was preparing for a big party arriving that evening.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2beenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newtonmore hotels
0.2 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#2 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#1 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eagle View Guest House
Eagle View Guest House
#5 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.5 mi away
Highland Holiday Cottages
Highland Holiday Cottages
#1 of 6 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvey House

Property: Alvey House
Address: Golf Course Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alvey House is a Visit Scotland 3 star Guest house on the outskirts of Newtonmore village in the lee of the Monadhliath Mountains and commands panoramic views of the Spey River Valley and Cairngorm Mountains. With en-suite bedrooms, Residents Lounge, Dining Room and Bar, Alvey House is Family friendly and makes the perfect base from which to explore the Highlands and all its attractions whether activity based or general tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alvey House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing