We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Craigerne House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Rosmalen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Comfortable and friendly.”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed for three nights. Our rooms were very comfortable, one of them very spacious. This hotel can be reached very easily by car, and is close to all kinds of outdoor and indoor activities. Craigerne House Hotel is beautifully situated, with splendid views over the highlands and the golf course. Joanna serves a very good breakfast (delicious fruit salad!), and Dougie has helped to make a reservation for a quad-activity, and advised a beautiful scenic route to get there.
Also cosy lounges, and you can bring your laptop, because internet is available. A good choice!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keizer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2010

The Craigerne House Hotel is a gorgeous family owned and operated Bed and Breakfast abutting the golf course in Newtonmore. With an incredible view of the highlands and easy access to the A95, the hotel could not have been better located. During our stay, the owners, Dougie and Joanna welcomed us into their home and made our stay comfortable and relaxing. Additionally, Dougie and Joanna know the area quite well and provided great recommendations for dinner activities. No complaints whatsoever, a great place to stay in the highlands.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed just the one night after walking up Creag an Leth-Choin (Lurchers Crag) in a small group.
Joanna and Dougie were there to help without being intrusive. Rooms were basic and very comfortable, with everything you need. Excellent beer in the evening, and a fine cooked breakfast. Good local knowledge. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardPhilipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We were really luck when we went up north to Newtonmore. We got the best weekend of the year so far. 23 degrees, in April, ion the highlands!

However, the hotel would have been great even if it had been pouring.

The owners Doug and Jo were welcoming, funny and made my wife and our dog feel at home. The breakfasts were tasty and plentiful, the room clean and cosy and the fire pit at night where we spent every nigh we were there (3 nights) with wine and whiskey was fab!
The area is full of Munros (3000 foot mountains) and we climbed most days. Also the slopes of Aviemore are only 20 minutes away. We will return!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slippy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, Morayshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Craigerne House Hotel for two nights when we crashed our car coming home from Edinburgh (We're both ok and the car was fine, just stuck in snow) The first night we didn't stay at the Craigerne House Hotel as it was very late at night but the next day I sent Chris, my partner, out to find somewhere else for us to stay as where we were was very cold and noisey. He came back and told me about a beautiful house hotel just up the road that had vacancies for a very reasonable price and he was right. The room was perfect, they even had little mints on the pillows (I've never had that before) and the view from our window was very pretty. The owners, Jo and Dougie are very friendly and very welcoming. They've also got two very polite young boys and a cute little puppy (so adorable) I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a break in Newtonmore as the place is in perfect location (bring your golf sticks as there is a golf couse just a few steps away) and the owners definately make you feel like you're at home. 10/10 from us :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Everything you want for a small vacation type hotel, with the added value of being located on the golf course, and walking distance from the town centre. Also nearby are several other good courses, Boat of Garten, Speyside and Kingussie. Staff and owners are very friendly and easy to deal with. Rooms not the biggest, but should not be a problem on vacation. Town has a railway station where the overnight London to Inverness train stops. You can also enjoy easy access to all the outdoor activities surrounding Avimore, whilst staying in a much nicer and relaxing location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHASWHIGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night on way up north for 2 weeks camping. Really enjoyed it. Great breakfast, fantastic service from Dougie (the dogs especially liked the 2 sausages that he wrapped up for them for breakfast!) and nice comfortable room. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank effnboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
3.0 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
301 reviews
19.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
670 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sonnhalde
Sonnhalde
#10 of 22 in Kingussie
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigerne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigerne House Hotel

Property: The Craigerne House Hotel
Address: Golf Course Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Craigerne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craigerne House Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing