We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Craigerne House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
EDINBURGH
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had an enjoyable 2 nights here. A very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. When we arrived on the Sunday evening, there was a note at reception saying that if no one there, phone a mobile number. On doing so, the owner advised us he was just sitting down to dinner at a nearby hotel. We should take the key to the room and make ourselves at home. We did that and enjoyed the trusting nature of the hotel. Also an honesty bar! In fairness we were much later than anticipated.
Nothing grand but comfortable and very relaxing. We did not take a cooked breakfast but at £5 a time it looked good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank KINGSKNOWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at this great bed and breakfast hotel. A stunning location with views across the golf course, who`s club house is with 100ft of hotel. Greeted on arrival by the owner Dougie who couldn`t have been more helpful from start to finish (thank you again for giving us a rout to walk, it was well worth it). Good standard of accomadation and loved your choices at breakfast.
We recommend staying here to anyone thinking of traveling in this area as it is idael for a base for all activities due to being so central for the area.
We liked it so much in fact that we booked another stay before we left. Look forward to seeing you again.
David and Tracey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very friendly and helpful proprietors.Nothing seemed to be too much trouble we went for 3 nights on a KGB voucher deal and were treated as well as the guests who were not on special deals.We intend to go back next year

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Was really looking forward to staying here after reading the glowing reports but was left a bit disappointed to be honest. The bedroom was warm and cosy and perfectly adequate for one night, any longer and you would feel a bit claustrophobic as it was on the small side .A few simple touches such as a set of decent hangers (four mis-matched plastic ones in wardrobe) cost only a few pounds and would give a more professional look, a new telly wouldn't cost the earth either. Bathroom was very small but apart from some mould around the shower tray, it was clean with lovely toiletries.
The area downstairs was very nice, dining room had a spectacular view. The continental breakfast choice was ok, two types of cereal, orange juice, various bread/rolls and fruit. We opted to pay the £5 extra for cooked breakfast, four rashers of bacon, a tiny sausage, beans and an overdone fried egg ok but not the greatest.

For the price we paid it was good value and ideal for a stopover when touring around the Highlands.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west lothian
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I are just back from a 2 day stay here and what a lovely time we had. We booked this on a special KGB voucher deal for a great price and therefore did not expect the high standards we received. Dougie was very friendly and welcoming from the word go and gave us handy hints for places to go and local restaurants. We upgraded to the cooked breakfast for an extra £5 each which was good value. Our room was basic but clean with all amenities and a very small tv. We were sad to leave and hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanor w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Dougie welcomed us and told us to treat the Craigerne House Hotel as if we were at home. There was an well stocked "honesty bar" which which we could serve ourselves to and we took advantage of it while relaxing in front of the roaring fire in the lounge which was nice and peaceful. There was a continental breakfast each morning which was nice and lots to choose from with plenty of coffee top-ups! I tried the fried Scottish breakfast for an extra £5 one morning and it was excellent. We learned also that there are two rooms downstairs which can accommodate guests and their dog, something which is very rare these days! Looking forward to another stay at the Craigerne House Hotel soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark1975_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here April 15 - 18, 2013 for hiking the nearby mountains. Even though the weather didn't cooperate, we had a lovely stay with Dougie,Joanna, and Skye! Breakfast always included fresh, delicious fruit, even with the porridge! A hiker's lunch was prepared for us each day - it was also delicious! The rooms were clean, warm and cozy - even with 90 mph winds outside. Shower had plenty of hot water, towels. Joanna's artwork is amazing, and adds to the feeling of being right at home! Thanks for the help with laundry and transportation! Hope to return someday.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 1woolspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
3.0 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
301 reviews
19.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
668 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sonnhalde
Sonnhalde
#10 of 22 in Kingussie
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigerne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigerne House Hotel

Property: The Craigerne House Hotel
Address: Golf Course Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Craigerne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craigerne House Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing