We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Craigerne House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly and clean.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Arrived to a very friendly welcome shown around and taken to room which was spotless pretty basic but everything we needed including tea, coffee, tv and freeview. Setting fantastic scenery amazing everything on doorstep. We were up for sled dog race in aviemore which was only a short drive away. Upgraded to cooked breakfast fabulous value and set us up for day. Sat in lounge at night in front of a roaring fire made to feel completely at home. Owner Dougie couldn't do enough to help and can't recommend hotel enough we will definitely be back 2 very very happy customers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottish25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

myself and my wife had a fantastic night stay here, the gentleman who owned the hotel made us very welcome from the minute we arrived there. had a lovely breakast was offered more toast and coffee if we wanted we were also allowed to stay in our room till it was time for our bus . the viws from the hotel are beautiful, i would definatly stay here again and highly recomend it to anyone who was thinking of going there. thanks Garry & Linda.

Room Tip: very friendy, beutiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrydundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, NJ, USA
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great location, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast (ask for porridge), staffed by owners who live there abd care. Perfect central location for walking/trekking the The Highlands. Easy walk to the train station.

Room Tip: Ask for room with strong Internet signal if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry_Keefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My 83 year old father (safely enthroned in his mobility scooter) and I stayed for 3 nights at Craigerne House Hotel, Newtonmore in December on a KGB voucher deal.

We travelled to the hotel on the overnight Caledonian Sleeper service from London to Newtonmore station, which is a short 5 minute walk/scooter ride from the hotel. We arrived early in the morning and were immediately warmly welcomed by hosts Joanna and Dougie. Their help and assistance throughout our stay was invaluable and something that we appreciated very much.

Our rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious, with very comfortable beds and lovely mountain views. There is plenty of storage space, tea & coffee making facilities and TV. The public areas were clean and tidy, the lounge was so comfortable I fell asleep there a number of times. Sitting reading the papers next to the wood burner was a delight.

A comprehensive continental breakfast of cereals, bagels and fresh fruits is included in the voucher. We opted for the modestly priced cooked breakfast too, which set us up for the day.

The locality has much to offer the visitor. Walkers, skiers, outdoors people and those who are looking for peace and rest will find Craigerne a pleasure to visit. We had intended to visit the local distillery, but the weather defeated us the day we planned to go, so we had to console ourselves, by honkering down in front of the hotel's roaring fire, with a good book and newspapers. We did manage to get my dad and the mobility scooter up the Cairngorm Mountain the following day, which is very easy to access.

Would we go back to Craigerne House Hotel. Absolutely. Would we recommend Craigerne. Absolutely yes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaldCWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booked with the KGB Deals offer (£35). There is nowhere mentioned within the deal that the breakfast isn't a cooked one - it's described as "tasty" on the voucher. I wouldn't go as far as to say it was a continental breakfast (didn't include cheese, cold meats or pastries; just cereals, toast and jam). The hotel is pretty basic, however the owner is very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

its ok hotel, rooms ok. you have to pay extra for hot breakfast that is wrong, i would give 4 stars if full breakfast including, but is not so 3 stars. as for me its bad. itell in advance that is 2 of us, me and my wife but we get twin room :( Put beds together but sleep wasnt best, cause gap betwen the beds and 2 single duvets. we did ask for double duvet but havent got it :(. We paid extra to get better room but got very simple twin room (that was biggest shock), or if its one of the best rooms i cant imagine what looks other.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BogdanMira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

WE booked this with the KGB voucher and we were treated fantastically with such attention to details that made us our stay a pleasure.
It's a lovely small hotel with a feeling of a Bed and Breakfast. Very nice garden outside and lovely views especially in the breezy and cold mornings.
Room was spacious , clean and well kept. Bathroom with very long bath tub.
Only down side: Tv was a bit small: (you don't go to an hotel for the tv, but a bigger tv would not be bad especially on cold winter nights).
Breakfast was continental (Kgb deals) but there was an option for an hot breakfast.
Hotel is very well decorated and lots of touristic information can be found around or given by the very kind Hotel owners.
Definitely a good place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bischerotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
3.0 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
301 reviews
19.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
670 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sonnhalde
Sonnhalde
#10 of 22 in Kingussie
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigerne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigerne House Hotel

Property: The Craigerne House Hotel
Address: Golf Course Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Craigerne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craigerne House Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing