We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtonmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Craigerne House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

its ok hotel, rooms ok. you have to pay extra for hot breakfast that is wrong, i would give 4 stars if full breakfast including, but is not so 3 stars. as for me its bad. itell in advance that is 2 of us, me and my wife but we get twin room :( Put beds together but sleep wasnt best, cause gap betwen the beds and 2 single duvets. we did ask for double duvet but havent got it :(. We paid extra to get better room but got very simple twin room (that was biggest shock), or if its one of the best rooms i cant imagine what looks other.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BogdanMira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

WE booked this with the KGB voucher and we were treated fantastically with such attention to details that made us our stay a pleasure.
It's a lovely small hotel with a feeling of a Bed and Breakfast. Very nice garden outside and lovely views especially in the breezy and cold mornings.
Room was spacious , clean and well kept. Bathroom with very long bath tub.
Only down side: Tv was a bit small: (you don't go to an hotel for the tv, but a bigger tv would not be bad especially on cold winter nights).
Breakfast was continental (Kgb deals) but there was an option for an hot breakfast.
Hotel is very well decorated and lots of touristic information can be found around or given by the very kind Hotel owners.
Definitely a good place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bischerotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with a KGB Deals voucher. The owners are very friendly and very knowledgeable of the local area. They were able to tell us where was best to walk, to eat and to take the dog. It is often very difficult to find somewhere to stay when you have a dog and this little hotel has such a relaxed atmosphere and the owners have their own dog so are relaxed with the dogs too. It is only a 5 minute walk into the town where there are many pubs, restaurants, cafes and shops. Aviemore, Rothiemurchus and The Highland Wildlife Park are only a 10 minute drive away. The room was clean and warm and there are areas in the hotel and in the gardens to sit and relax and enjoy the views. The only slight issue is that the walls are paper thin so you can hear every word from the rooms next door and above. I would definitely go back for a longer stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booked the craigerne as a kgb deal to do a highland tour.Dougie made us feel very welcome on our arrival very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and tidy throughout. If looking for a nice quiet and relaxed place.........this is for you.

The only downside to the room we stayed in was cold and took forever to warm up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diding44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from our first visit to Craigerne House Hotel where we had a lovely time, on arrival we were welcomed by owner Dougie who was very friendly. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast.
Wendy and Roy, Kirriemuir

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here last week and would recommend it. Large comfortable room and bathroom, we had our dog with us and that was no problem to the owners, our room was next to the staircase to the rear entrance, quick to get out with the dog if needed. We enjoyed the continental breakfast,(especially the brown soda bread), but payed extra to have cooked the second day(not included if you book with a KGB voucher) and that was very nice too. It is a quiet area, ideal for exploring the Cairngorms anfd Dougie the owner was happy to advise on walks and places to eat-we tried The Letterbox on his recommendation and were very pleased. Would recommend the hotel and be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

booked the craigerne as a kgb deal to do the malt whisky trail and what a great jewel we found. dougie made us feel very welcome on our arrival very friendly and helpful. clean and tidy throughout. if your looking for a golf walking or whisky trail break this hotel or as dougie says big house is ideal. once again thanks for a great break dougie
ian & elizabeth

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newtonmore hotels
0.2 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#9 of 14 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#3 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#2 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigerne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigerne House Hotel

Property: The Craigerne House Hotel
Address: Golf Course Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Craigerne House Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing