We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night in newtonmore.”
Review of Newtonmore Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtonmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newtonmore Hostel
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One night in newtonmore.”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had the pleasure, of staying, Some would say a typical bunk house, But it s the people that make it special. The host s could not have been more friendly and having a nice log burner to warm your toes on was lovely. its set in a exultant position for shops/pub, and bus stops, there is a train station, only a mile away, yep would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 824StuartM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
12
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple of times recently and consider it to be one of the better run hostels in the highlands. It's as clean and slightly cramped as most hostels are, but the details are all sorted: an efficient drying room, working wifi, recycling, friendly owners and a short walk to a pub. Recommened

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooterthebikefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stopped here on a cycling trip. Arrived soaked and bedraggled and a bit fraught. The Hostel was absolutly perfect to get me dried out, relaxed and back on my way the following day. Neil and Sue are inspirational characters and take a real pride and interst in their guests. Possibly the best Hostel ive stayed in? Certainly. cant recommend it enough, and thanks for the help with the bike Neil.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zebra206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

An excellent hostel - you usually are guaranteed a room of your own for your group / yourself. The hosts couldn't be friendlier, and the location is perfect for exploring all sorts of hills around the area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Thank God for places like this hostel. Really well equipped, best drying room ever for soggy cyclists, nice lounge area and a thoroughly relaxed atmosphere. We arrived and left bikes in shed, cleaned up and went for food and only met the owner after that. Very friendly people and the rooms were great with plenty of storage and very clean.. definitely recommended

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank decbres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We only stayed for one night in the hostel as we were breaking our journey south. Neil made us very welcome and our twin room was a good size with comfortable bunk beds. The kitchen and living space was well equipped and there were lots of labels and instructions on how to use anything and everything we needed to use. The showers and toilets were clean and functional. The only minor downside to our stay was the lack of central heating and insulation as, even though we were staying in May, the weather was unseasonably cold and we had to turn the heating on to keep warm or sit next to the wonderful wood burning stove in the communal area.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalandDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the hostel two nights after completing a 4 day off-road cycle tour adventure. It was the perfect place to recover, and I wish we could've stayed longer!

Peter was very welcoming and friendly, and was more than happy to advise on mountain biking in the area. The room was just brilliant- you don't expect to be able to hire out a room that sleeps five exclusively for two of you, but they let you. The fact the hostel is not actively booked out means its very friendly and intimate, and you can get to know the other residents really well without being overwhelmed by strangers!

It was impeccably clean, the kitchen was well equipt, the showers warm and the living space was extremely comfortable. Just what we needed to have a few bottles of wine and games of cards. Also, had a couple of the best nights sleep in a long time. The beds are so comfy!

All in all, I am a fan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newtonmore hotels
0.0 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#2 of 13 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newtonmore Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtonmore Hostel

Property: Newtonmore Hostel
Address: Craigellachie House Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Newtonmore
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel sleeps 10-12 persons in 3 bunk-bedded rooms. There are three toilets and showers, a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge area with a wood burning stove, and an excellent drying room. We also have dry secure overnight storage for bikes. We're dog lovers and try hard to accomodate our canine freinds. Please ring us if you want to bring your pet along.Standard price is £20 per person per night, the entire hostel from £180 per night. Newtonmore is a small highland village in the Cairngorm National Park. It has good ameneties including several pubs serving bar food and a restaraunt as well as a well stocked Co-op for those who wish to self cater. If you are not spending your days walking climbing, cycling or skiing there are plenty of local attractions includinfg the Highland Folk Museum and a short drive away is the Highland Wildlife Park. The "Wildcat Experience" experience goes down well with children - there are over a hundred lifesize models to find around the village and you can spot your first one from the hostel window. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newtonmore Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing