We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olde Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here in April. Very disappointed with the room, toilet made an awful noise whenever we flushed it. There was a party that evening which we weren't told about so didn't get to sleep til late, not great when we had an early start the next day. In the middle of the night found a bug crawling on the pillow. For over £60 for one night, this really wasn't worth it. Also a really bad location, taxis could never find it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rugina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 113 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Fabulous bar. Good location, however; I felt like crying when I saw my room...

Yes, they have tried to make this hotel nicer but it doesn't meet the required standard.

Tiny tiny room. Hardest bed ever. Very cold (heating appeared to be off). Horrible pillows. Flimsy blinds that do nothing to block out light. One towel for two people!! Terrible traffic noise all night. No double-glazing it appears.

Your payment will be taken at the time you are checking in. You won't find anyone anywhere in the morning! Leave the keys in the door and exit through a very grim fire staircase.

I will not be recommending this hotel. Dire. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Izzysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I and my wife have started to have lunch at The Olde Swan Hotel.Very polite staff,well presented popular food and not expensive drink prices.
This establishment has been very pleasantly refurbished to a very interesting standard and is very relaxing to have a meal in.Quality.

Room Tip: Well worth a stop for a nice lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuzco48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Olde Swan has been uplifted (the pub area anyway). The opening night was last night and they have done a fantastic job on the refit. The style of the pub is relaxing and eccentric with lots to look at and a great feel to the interior. The food has not yet started but free samples were on offer and it was good!
being alocal I am pleased the Olde Swan is back. Lets hope it continues !
Take look - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank paulswbuk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the old swan hotel while on business in the area. It was more than adequate for my needs. The rooms where very clean if slightly under equipped (mine didn't have a tv) but this wasn't a problem as I had my laptop. The staff where great and considering they are very new to the area where very helpful.
All in all a pleasent stay. Many thanks

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonyw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

i have recently stayed at the hotel and i was very happy with how clean and tidy the room was and how freindly and helpful the new management was and how helpful the bar maid was.
i in understanding that the manager is also the head chef. and may i say what a difference the food is now from this time last year. my overall experience has changed tenfold from the last time i was here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

iv stayed here before the change of manager. and what an improvement....
the room was very clean, the food (managers the chef) was very nice. and the young red head barmaid was very attentive to cater to my needs...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesdrums_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chertsey
693 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
297 reviews
2.4 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Swan Hotel

Address: 27 Windsor Street, Chertsey KT16 8AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range: $74 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Olde Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Swan Hotel
The Olde Swan Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing