We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely! But...”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Having arrived quite late on the night of arrival due to flooding and road closures in syrrounding area we arrived at The Crown starving! Were told at reception, that the kitchen closed at 945(the information in the room says 10). Promptly ordered food. Was lukewarm at best and service was not as good as I've been used to here. Kitchen could be seen from where we sat and staff seemed too interested in closing down kitchen to cook our food properly. Didn't bother complaining as too hungry to wait and had already had to chase part of our order

Hotel however made up for it. Lovely rooms, quiet even with the storms raging, clean well appointed rooms. As we were in the area for a wedding we were pleased to find ironing board etc in room rather than usual ask at reception. Slept very well. Breakfast next day made up for the service night before. Plenty of tea and coffee, porridge "cooked to perfection" as pronounced by the professional chef we were travelling with, a decent full English too! Much better than the buffet style we had been expecting. As we were going to a wedding they extended our checkout time by an hour or so at no extra charge and staff courteous and friendly in hotel and at breakfast.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 408 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

Came down from Birmingham to visit daughter and grand kids. Arrived at hotel and parked in the private car park. Went to reception and was warmly greeted by a nice gentleman who could not find my reservation and upon checking my mobile found we had booked for the 9/3 instead of 9/2. No problem for them they booked us in and gave us a bottle of wine for the hassle we caused. Great treatment. Room was spotless and well appointed. Towels were large and fluffy and the bed was so comfortable and huge. Plenty of tea/coffee and milk as were the quantity of the shampoos and conditioners in the bathroom. Had a great nights sleep and woke to go down to breakfast. The breakfast was average with the sausage undercooked and cold mushrooms. However for the price paid and quality of the room this hotel gives great value for money. I would agree with other reviewers on the price of drinks which were high. However we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TenerifeCasablanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I got a new renovated room- perfect for my short stay. Ground floor and quiet. Plenty of space, well decorated and with some cookies and hot chocolate mix which was all I really needed when I arrived. The restaurant area was busy when I arrived but I did not eat there. Breakfast was simple but enough for me. Would stay here again if in the area!

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Good service and good food. Drinks far too expensive. Live band was truly awful so didn't stay. Party of five. We all had the burgers. Cooked very well and tasty. Chips were very good. First time back there since refurbisment and it's much better than it was. Seen some good bands here in the past but this lot were terrible. Curb the ridiculous drink prices and vetting the band would have made a big improvement.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank EddieWill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food you received and service given, I will ensure all the team are informed.

With regards to the band
the band performing that night are regular performers here and generally go down very well on every visit. Music is of course a matter of taste and this could have been the reason for your dislike; all bands are vetted as you suggest and we book what the majority of customers appear to enjoy, we are sorry you disliked them on this occasion.

We do hope to see you again soon as we have a different band weekly .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I went with a group of friends for a meal here. My food had to be sent back as it was just warm. Came back over cooked! Drinks so overpriced. Took 35 minutes to get menus and drinks finally arrived 45 minutes after we sat down. Other friends meals just warm and barely edible. Even after complaining, just offered a desert or drink. Extremely disappointed!

Room Tip: Eat somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Caz945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest
We are very sorry to hear that you felt the service you received on your visit was terrible and our apologies again for your meal not being as hot as you would have liked it.

We did check back to your table on 2 occasions thereafter and was told on both occasions that all was fine; It is a shame that it was left until the end of the main meal to advise that there were further problems, had we been told sooner we could have rectified any further issues, had we been made aware.

As the above was the case, this is why dessert and drinks were offered ; i apologize if you felt that this was not a suitable solution.

With regards to your comments re drinks;
i have looked at the order placed and where we would normally like drinks to be served immediately to the tables, on this evening as you rightly said they were rather slower being served, this was due to the volume of business at the time of service where they took 15 minutes to be served to your table, once again my apologies it does not normally take this long to receive your drinks.

If you wish to discuss any aspect of your visit please by all means give me a call , i would be more than happy to discuss further your visit as we would not want this first impression to make you away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Pub was nice, to be fair did visit on a Sat night but took ages to be served. Queued for ages and bought 2 G&Ts, a pint of cider and 2 glasses (not pints) of coke and got 40p change from a £20 note. Not even in London! Best to find a wetherspoons before visiting. Even a mixer was £2.65 and G&T £6.10! They would rob their own grandmother! Didn't eat but the menus looked nice and strangely reasonable in price! Although the advert for Sunday roasts did not have a price which if you have to ask means you can't afford it!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Mac111Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

a really pretty pub. Just a shame that the food wasn't that great. Edible but disappointing. We ate from the bar menu and had a hotdog and a fish finger sandwich. The hotdog was underwhelming and the sandwich tasteless. Such a shame because this pub is so pretty and a great location.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest
I am very sorry you were disappointed with the food you received on your visit, but i also must say very surprised.
Our hot dogs have been very popular since going on our menu and our fresh cod fillet fish finger sandwiches have never been so popular.

So i can have a complete understanding of why you were underwhelmed, please contact us to discuss, as we would be interested in hearing your thoughts regarding these dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
0.7 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chertsey
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,161 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Ship Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 7 London Street, Chertsey KT16 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range: $74 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer friendly, personal and unpretentious service, whether you're just in for a quiet pint, planning an intimate dinner, a stop-over for a business trip or staying for a leisurely weekend.If you want to stay in one of our 49 rooms, there are lots of leisurely attractions on our doorstep, we're well-placed for nearby Thorpe Park and you can't find a better overnight stopping off point if you're en route for an early business meeting in London.Welcome to your local. Please be aware that every Friday and Saturday night we have live music for all to enjoy until midnight in our bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing