We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch could have been better”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quick lunch could have been better”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

a really pretty pub. Just a shame that the food wasn't that great. Edible but disappointing. We ate from the bar menu and had a hotdog and a fish finger sandwich. The hotdog was underwhelming and the sandwich tasteless. Such a shame because this pub is so pretty and a great location.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest
I am very sorry you were disappointed with the food you received on your visit, but i also must say very surprised.
Our hot dogs have been very popular since going on our menu and our fresh cod fillet fish finger sandwiches have never been so popular.

So i can have a complete understanding of why you were underwhelmed, please contact us to discuss, as we would be interested in hearing your thoughts regarding these dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    142
    68
    24
    20
See reviews for
74
105
9
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Returned to the crown after it's re-fit, and have to say, very impressive, clearly they have spent a lot of money on the refurbishment, very social atmosphere, food average, but plenty of it, the big wow is the 'Hard Shakes', which are alcoholic milkshakes, a big must for adults! Will definitely return and recommend to others!.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lovely pub and resturant. Great hotel room. The staff were always helpful and friendly. I felt well looked after. Nice location not too far for Central London, right near the station. During my stay the food was excellent and offered a large varity. I will 100% be staying here again when I am next in the area. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith-664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We live in the US and make a point to stay here. The main reason I come is the quality of service and the food. This place feels like home and the staff is what really drives that. There are many places you can stay but very few that make you feel like family. Service is fast...and more importantly to me, friendly. And the food is amazing...consistent and good...really good. The proprietors Sian and Tony really make an effort to make it a memorable stay. The weekends they have bands which are always great. But really to me, it's the staff that makes the plac and Sian and Tony are the reason why. You can stay in London and have mediocre food and impersonal service or you can stay in Chertsey which is convenient to London as well as Windsor or Bath. Take a chance off the beaten path and create memories to, like us, friends for a lifetime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so, so much for such a glowing review.

Hope to see you very soon
Merry Christmas.

Tony, Sian and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Popped into the crown for a bit of lunch whilst in the area. Atmosphere looked good and it looked inviting. Service was very average, food was salty and burnt, inedible, I mention it to staff and she said "thank you i let the manager know" nothing happened after that....staff looked very young and slightly hungover but that was just my observation. Cappuccino turned up as a latte... Main turned up while we were still sharing our starter...maybe we have all be spoilt with real pub food these days. Don't be in a rush to visit for the food.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank polly1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest
It was very disappointing to read your review as i am sure you were in writing it.
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your visit and have tried to investigate what went wrong. Unfortunately due to you not saying when you actually came i am unable to establish what the problems were our end as i have asked all team members regarding your comments and no one is able to help me.
With this in mind please contact me to discuss this matter further so i can hopefully rectify this for you as we would not want anyone to leave unhappy and not to return.
Thank you and i look forward to hearing from you.
Sian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Popped into the Crown for food as Thyme at the Tavern wasn't serving! Absolutely amazing food. The pulled pork "burger" and the halloumi "burger" were delicious. Place was extremely busy for Halloween but the service was fast and efficient. We would have preferred normal sized chips though as Fat Chips are just like eating a whole potato!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I understand that this property has been refurbished in the last 2 months or so. It is much more than the normal run of the mill pub/hotel. It has been decorated and refashioned to a very high standard. It has an extensive and very reasonably priced menu at modest prices. The 'bistro' style of the dining areas create a great atmosphere. The food chosen by my small group came in generous portions and proved to be delicious. We were served by a young lady who could not have been more helpful. I cannot comment on the standard of bedrooms but I would expect them to be of equally good standard. There is ample off road parking and I would not hesitate in recommending you to this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
0.7 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,057 reviews
3.0 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,565 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 7 London Street, Chertsey KT16 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer friendly, personal and unpretentious service, whether you're just in for a quiet pint, planning an intimate dinner, a stop-over for a business trip or staying for a leisurely weekend.If you want to stay in one of our 49 rooms, there are lots of leisurely attractions on our doorstep, we're well-placed for nearby Thorpe Park and you can't find a better overnight stopping off point if you're en route for an early business meeting in London.Welcome to your local. Please be aware that every Friday and Saturday night we have live music for all to enjoy until midnight in our bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing