We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasent stay”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I must say we were very impressed with our stay at this hotel.
We had a standard twin room which was very spacious, the bed were comfortable and the room was clean. The hotel restaurant was very popular. Breakfast was included in the price, which gave you lots of choice. The staff where friendly and helpful. Would most definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goynuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 411 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

4 nights on a business trip...
I was really impressed by the friendliness of all the staff. From arriving and booking in, to the quality of food and bar service.
The chef's did an excellent job on preparing the meals, good quality foods were prepared very well.
A fine selection of beers served by brilliant bar staff.
The room was cleaned to a very high standard.

It was a memorable business trip for all the right reasons.

I cannot think of anything negative to say.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

live local to the crown and have to agree with other comments.refurb nice but the drinks prices are very high especially the wines and the portions of food have shrunk and not a large choice.shame ,used to go in quite a lot but have started using other nice and more reasonable pubs

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comment regarding our refurbishment, we are very pleased you like the new and beautiful polished Crown.

Our liquor prices did not change when we reopened and as such find your comments re pricing quite a surprise as a prior customer .
Our food pricing in fact has actually dropped and all our dishes are made using only the best fresh ingredients.Thank you for your constructive comment re portion size we look into this to understand your concerns.

We strongly believe we are the best pub and dining experience in Chertsey and hope you would agree. With this in mind we hope you do not stay away and will see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked this for 1 night, but we had really nice twin room, sofa, TV etc. Very spacious.
Tea coffee facilities, IRON, Hairdryer, ...everything!
Really comfy beds and duvets. Great sleep
Food in bar, restaurant was high standard. Breakfast (full eng)was also brilliant lots of tea and juice and toast, lush bread!

Really good standard - keep it up!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigmarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, General Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have to admit have not been here in a while and we only tried the restaurant . Sunday lunch we arrived and decided not to have the roast but chose from the menu. The place has been through a transformation, the restaurant is light modern and airy and the menu what is en vogue now. The starters took a while to appear, but were hot were they were supposed to be, and visually pleasing. The main courses were appreciated by all and again presented well from the chicken to the rib eye steak. The only comment was the chicken was a little dry. The desserts pleased all along with the very large cheese board (more biscuits please) The wines and beer were good too. Have to say what a transformation well done and keep it up, even the pub part was more pleasing to be in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank obleron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have stayed here for a month and I have to say it is very very good. A month is a long time to stay in the same establishment, trust me. Where to start, the rooms that I have been in are clean quiet and comfortable. Although it would be good to have a fridge in the room.

The bar and restaurant are also very good, especially have just been upgraded. The menu selection is very nice but could do with a larger selection of specials. The quality of the food is very good and I haven't had a bad meal yet, which for a month is something I couldn't say about a lot of other hotels. The standard of cooking is excellent and the restaurant appears to managed very well, even when busy, they have lots of staff.

The staff are pleasant and friendly, however there are some staff that really go the extra mile to give you the service which makes this place. If there is a problem, it is sorted quickly, professionally and normally with smile.

This is one hotel choice that for me was absolutely right. Everything is very good, but because I genuinely don't think there is a better hotel in Chertsey with such an all round service and experience, it deserved more than just a very good!

I look forward to my next stay......Monday!

Room Tip: There are lots of good rooms. I have found the staff very accommodating when checking in so ask them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristolboy900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Crown has just finished a refurbishment to the original part of the building and what a great job they have done. The real ales are still there along with many guest ales but you would not know you were in the same pub.
We had a two course meal there from an updated menu, both courses were real nice and the price I would consider avarage going rate. Also the staff there are very helpful, which was not always the case in the past.
I will certainly be going back there very soon

I did not stay overnight so can not comment on the accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schuby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
0.7 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chertsey
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Olde Swan Hotel
The Olde Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chertsey
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,201 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
645 reviews
3 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 7 London Street, Chertsey KT16 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range: $66 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer friendly, personal and unpretentious service, whether you're just in for a quiet pint, planning an intimate dinner, a stop-over for a business trip or staying for a leisurely weekend.If you want to stay in one of our 49 rooms, there are lots of leisurely attractions on our doorstep, we're well-placed for nearby Thorpe Park and you can't find a better overnight stopping off point if you're en route for an early business meeting in London.Welcome to your local. Please be aware that every Friday and Saturday night we have live music for all to enjoy until midnight in our bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing