We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Id stay again!”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
leics
Level Contributor
236 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Id stay again!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed for just the one night in Nov. A reasonable mid standard hotel. Not overly pricey. Not overly modern but certainly good value. Room decor a little dated but well maintained. Good central heating! Usual toiletries and towels. TV was a bit dated. Room was a little noisy. Nice bar area.
Breakfast was buffet style. Plenty of choice. Attentive staff who replaced empty serving dishes. Good central location for the town.
if i needed to, id definitely stay there again
Checkout on the day was a little slow. Only one staff member and it seemed the whole hotel was checking out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the communal corridor entrance for quiteness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MITCHPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    140
    67
    25
    20
See reviews for
73
104
8
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst at a wedding so although we didn't spend too much time in the room we are glad we opted for the superior room as it was very spacious with a lovely bathroom. The bed was huge & the whole place was quiet even if we weren't! Shame breakfast on a Sunday is only until 10.15am. We had one towel missing & the shower wasn't very hot. All in all a good hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days whilst at an exhibition at Sandown Park. It was booked for me, and when I checked the website, I thought it looked OK, but nothing more. However, I had a really enjoyable stay - the hotel is a lovely old building on a small street of shops and restaurants. Lots of secure parking for residents around the back of the hotel, so there isn't the headache of finding somewhere safe to leave your car during your stay.

Staff were without exception superb. They actually seemed to enjoy their job, and when you stay in as many hotels as I do with work, that's quite a rarity these days. Room was nice. Mine was a big room with a comfy king size bed, big plasma TV, desk & chair to work on, and a nicely appointed bathroom with a great shower, bath & nice complimentary smellies.

The bar area is the real selling point for me though. Comfy leather sofas in front of real fires, with well kept beer. What else do you need on a cold evening? Ate in the restaurant both evenings, and my colleague and I both commented on the quality of the food - good quality ingredients cooked very well. Breakfast was a similar affair - nice juices, pastries and cereals, and some good old fashioned favourites on the hot menu (kippers, eggs benedict etc), as well as the ever present Full English.

For info, the hotel is about 20 minutes from Sandown Park. We had other colleagues staying at typical bland chain hotels nearer to the venue, (dull and boring were how they described their hotel), but for the sake of another 10 or 15 minutes in the morning, I'd take somewhere like the Crown any day of the week.

I'd definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My daughters wedding was held at The Crown in November and the staff were brilliant and very helpfull from booking it up right to the day and also we stayed the night and the rooms were so lovely for the Bride & Grooms and the Bridesmaids room, food was very good and the DJ Pete was great.....Thank you to all at The Crown for making this special day go so well !!

Room Tip: Bridal rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I travel for work quite often and lived in the UK for a year so I know what to expect from a local small hotel, normally.
The standard rooms should not be your first choice as they are in the old wing, very basic and quite in need of refurbishing (old rugs, split taps, tiny windows on parking view).

The superior wing is on the contrary quite well established and decorated, with spacious rooms and nice fittings.

The suite I have been given (700) was very noisy for some ventilation system running, so I would definitely prefer a lower category room, but quieter.

The pub and restaurant downstairs was a nice surprise: wooden finishings and high stools, nice selection of wines and beers (not the usual UK Fosters only!), real food to enjoy.

Room Tip: Take the superior wing, not the old one by any means! Suites on the top floor might be noisy for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliEnrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stay at the crown quite a bit due to business, I have never been disappointed with my room or breakfast. I was upgraded to a suite this week which had been newly decorated, really nice (thanks to the team at the Crown!). They served me food despite it being after 10pm, this place is traditional in the public areas with recently refurbished rooms being modern. It is one of the few nights away from home I enjoy. Couple of nice restaurants either side of the hotel if you're there for a few nights.

Room Tip: I like all the rooms but if you want a refurbished room they are in the block over the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moragyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed for 1 night before a wedding at Botleys Mansion. Room was comfortable and clean, with simple yet stylish furnishings. Bed was very comfy. The phone in our room was missing which meant when we needed to speak to Reception late at night we had to walk outside (receptionist confirmed there should be a phone in every room). We were on the ground floor of the block adjacent to the bar, it was extremely noisy, with doors banging all night. Plenty of free parking on site. Had dinner, food was standard gastro-pub fare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma1alp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
0.7 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,505 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Ship Hotel
2.9 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 7 London Street, Chertsey KT16 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer friendly, personal and unpretentious service, whether you're just in for a quiet pint, planning an intimate dinner, a stop-over for a business trip or staying for a leisurely weekend.If you want to stay in one of our 49 rooms, there are lots of leisurely attractions on our doorstep, we're well-placed for nearby Thorpe Park and you can't find a better overnight stopping off point if you're en route for an early business meeting in London.Welcome to your local. Please be aware that every Friday and Saturday night we have live music for all to enjoy until midnight in our bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing