We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and lovely quiet hotel”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service and lovely quiet hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for one night and had a twin room. Rooms were really claen and spacious. The staff were extremely attentive and very helpful. I would definitely stay again at this hotel again. Breakfast was lovely and made fresh to order and both check in and check out were seamless.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    140
    68
    25
    20
See reviews for
74
104
8
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A visit to The Crown at lunchtime will not disappoint. Whether you are looking for a traditional English pint and a pie or something more from the restaurant then you will be well looked after by Tony and his team. The bar and restaurant menu changes daily - not just the date at the top - so even with regular visits you can find a new dish of the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim1757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I didn't stay in the hotel, but Trip Advisor didn't give me the option to review only the restaurant, so please ignore the score for "Rooms".

I actually stayed at the nearby(ish) Holiday Inn whilst on a business trip, but couldn't face another night in a 4* hotel bar/restaurant, so ventured a little further afield on this occasion.

A colleague had recommended Bar163 in Chertsey, but it was bereft of customers, so I ended up next door at The Crown.

Since I was "Billy no mates" for the evening, I opted to sit in the restaurant area, entertaining myself with my newspaper and smartfone, whilst drinking a beer and eating dinner.

The first thing to say is that the service was excellent. The waitress - a lady called Jackie, I think - was polite, friendly and very helpful. She seemed to care about what she was doing. Even the standard "Is everything OK with your meal sir?" question actually sounded genuine.

The food was well cooked and well presented. I had a main course and - due to the good service - decided to stay and have a pudding!

The food wasn't particularly cheap, hence my mediocre mark for "Value", but the overall experience was very pleasant, due mainly to the efforts of the waitress.

In summary, I would say that if you are dining on an expense account - as it is a little pricey - and are looking for friendly service in a relaxed, informal atmosphere, then The Crown, Chertsey is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IncognitoMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I travel to Chertsey on a monthly basis and stay for 2-3 nights at a time. I love the atmosphere at the Crown with the friendly staff , great food and the refurbished rooms are fab, the beer is a bit expensive but I have found it to be the same in a lot of the hotels around the area. The rooms are always clean and great Value for money. If you like Salmon I would definitely recommend the Cajun Salmon it is fantastic.As per some of the comments here the Staff are a Young Team and I think it is great that they love what they do and work well as a team. as the Great Arnie once said (ok maybe in every film) I'll Be Back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I stay at the crown at least once a month as travel on business on a regular basis, I love staying here as the staff are so friendly and welcoming, nothing is to much. The hotel rooms are lovely especially the superior rooms. room 605 is my favourite. The drinks are slightly expensive but the surroundings are lovely! I recommend this hotel to all my colleagues.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

just had to say what a lovely time i had at the crown with my family for my birthday we had a lovely lunch and the staff went out of there way to give us a fantastic day so pleased we spent this special day there, would tell any one that wants to be pampered to go here . thank you to all at the crown .

Room Tip: friends that stayed there before said they stayed round the back by car park and did not hear a thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweety169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

had to meet friends staying in chertsey went to pub / hotel in centre of town lo vely warm place with lots of personality food was very yummie and staff were more than helpfull would def go back how can such a small town have such a buzzing place to go great x

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yardfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
0.7 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Ship Hotel
2.9 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 7 London Street, Chertsey KT16 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer friendly, personal and unpretentious service, whether you're just in for a quiet pint, planning an intimate dinner, a stop-over for a business trip or staying for a leisurely weekend.If you want to stay in one of our 49 rooms, there are lots of leisurely attractions on our doorstep, we're well-placed for nearby Thorpe Park and you can't find a better overnight stopping off point if you're en route for an early business meeting in London.Welcome to your local. Please be aware that every Friday and Saturday night we have live music for all to enjoy until midnight in our bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing