We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old pub with good food”
Review of The Golden Grove

The Golden Grove
Ranked #17 of 46 Restaurants in Chertsey
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: International, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the all new Golden Grove public house, restaurant and garden. A landmark pub in Chertsey. A warm, inviting place with a home from home atmosphere for friends and family along with well behaved dogs to meet and enjoy great food and drink. The Golden Grove serves a fresh seasonal menu bursting with traditional dishes, only using locally sourced fresh ingredients and complemented by award winning wines, 6 forever changing real ales and International lagers, all at affordable prices. You can choose from one of our diverse areas at The Golden Grove, including an 80 seater restaurant with full table service, lounge area or the traditional pub both with real log fires as well as our huge garden complete with a kids play area. The Golden Grove specialises in party bookings and can accommodate most requirements. Please contact us to find out more information on our fantastic party booking offers. Our focus is on giving the local community and neighbourhood what they want in a local pub, and perhaps a little more.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice old pub with good food”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Went for lunch on 18th June 2014. We have know the pub for many years and we were aware there had been quite a lot of refurbishment work. We were really surprised the back of the building has been extended and a large restaurant area has been added. There is also a large patio area and gardens idea for summer and for the kids. There was a reasonable selection of beers and the menu for lunch was a choice of either bar snacks or a more filling proper meal. We all had fish which was well cooked and nicely presented. The welcome and service was really nice and friendly. The food was good and reasonably priced but we were a bit surprised at the wait before the food arrived, especially as the restaurant was very quiet, but we were in no hurry so it made little difference to us. We would certainly return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobandtinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    58
    50
    34
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“late lunch/early dinner”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

went on saturday for late lunch/early dinner with a friend. pub was relatively quiet but was perfect for an afternoon catch up. both had chicken burger which was lovely. staff were nice enough. would go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller41188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great pub for a tasty lunch with the family ”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday lunchtime with my husband and two young children. I haven't visited for a while and was impressed with the refurbishment and as a parent thrilled to see a spacious and fun garden. My children loved the bouncy castle, wooden play equipment and woodland area. We ordered a lamb roast, a grove burger, a children's penne pasta with cheese sauce and a children's beef roast. The lamb roast was well presented and well cooked, it was served with a large Yorkshire pudding and 5 types of vegetables and roast potatoes. A great roast but if anything the potatoes were a little dry. The children's roast was a great size as was the penne but the roast was much better value for money. My husband said the burger was great. The waitress was very friendly as were the bar staff and we will definitely be returning again and again.

Helpful?
Thank Tayk1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good service. Good value. Family friendly.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Its great when you find a nice place to eat out that has the space outside to entertain the kids with a great play area/ woodland den that is safe and keeps them occupied. Great staff and lovely food too. Even when its raining, you can sit outside under the heated umbrellas!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delivers less than promised!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Avoid or be disappointed! If the South African chef is in the kitchen then fine but if not, go to McDonald's! The roast meats are out of the freezer and rubbish. Ordered food doesn't arrive, even when staff are chased and reminded. 'Free' drinks end up on the bill, either because the yound bar staff are stupid or becuase the bar manager is skimming the till. The food bill was impossible to check due to unhelpful items appearing like 'Food' or 'Misc'. THe only people you are cheating are yourselves as we won't be coming back! Aoid!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelnut3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Grove also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing