We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a good idea”
Review of THORPE SHARK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THORPE SHARK Hotel
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A group of us have just got back from a weekend at the crashpads! There not as small as people make out! Dont get me wrong there not massive either but there is enough room.
Theres plenty of storage in the room. Yeah the bathrooms abit small and yeah u can see through the glass abit but to us that made it funnier! The toilet flushes like an airplane loo so it is a bit loud. Overall the room was excellent could do with a bin in there though!
The entertainment was a bit poor and you dont really get in the park that much earlier as they let the public in at 9 20 so that was the downside. The staff were friendly and u can hire hairdryers for free from them. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J4kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear J4KK

Thanks for your positive review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at The Crash Pad.

We have looked into your first to ride feedback and have made a few changes for this August. The park is now opening every morning from 9.15am for Crash Pad guests only so they can be the first in the queues for our thrilling rides.
We hope to see you again soon at THORPE PARK

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 810 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

The crash pad hotel is there to offer a concept and that's what it does! You are in the park and can see the rides.
The room was clean and the bed linen fresh. The beds were adequate in size although my husband who is over 6 foot could not stretch out.
The room had air conditioning but it was very hot if you were in the top bunk so my son found it tricky to sleep.
The shower was good- powerful and hot but the only annoying thing was you could be seen through the glass. Not a problem for our family but I can imagine this could be tricky if you were staying with friends!
Breakfast was good. There was lots onto choose from and you could order a full English if you paid extra.
My major grumble was that we expected to be able to go into the park before the public. We were told that we could ride The Swarm for half an hour before the public. This was not true. Yes, they allowed you in at 9.20 but the ride did not start until 9.45 so you had to wait. The public were then let in at 9.30. This mean you had one ride before the public were allowed in and did not have time to get to another ride before the queues.....the whole point of staying overnight!!
Overall I would recommend this hotel but remember that the hotel is just what it says....a crash pad.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Sophie,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review on the Crash Pad at THORPE PARK following your stay. We really appreciate the feedback and are constantly looking for ways to improve the park and guest experiences.

We look forward to your next visit,

Kind regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Arrived and we were allocated a room that still had guests in. Second room was dirty, leaking toilet, bins still full from previous guest, hairs in sink, shampoo on walls. Needed air conditioning as no window but air con was extremely noisy and ineffective. If u stay on the lake side of hotel be warned the ducks start squalking at about 5am.
All in all pretty poor even though the idea is good, better off staying in a premier inn near by.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RICH2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about THORPE PARK. We appreciate all feedback as we are continually striving to improve the experience we offer to our guests.

I'm sorry that your expectations were not exceeded during your stay at the Crash Pad. It is our aim to give guests a truly memorable and thrilling experience so it's disappointing to hear that was not the case.

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A fantastic concept for accommodation. Very clean and neatly presented. Rooms cater for four people, I wouldn't want to stay with anyone I wasn't entirely comfortable with as the rooms are quite small. A lovely size for a couple. The location of the accommodation is perfect as it is actually in the park. Breakfast is simple but included in the price. Bed's very comfortable. fantastic air conditioning/heating system. All staff who we came into contact with we're fantastic and friendly, they were all very helpful! The only downfall was the noise of the toilet, there is no way you could have flushed it in the middle of the night without waking up everyone staying in your room and probably the rooms next to your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hello Kate E

Thanks for your positive review of The Crash Pad at THORPE PARK, we are chuffed to hear you loved the rooms.
We hope to see you again soon

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed in the middle of July with some friends. We were given a sheet of paper upon check-in and explained that because of high capacity and lots of school trips we would receive free fasttrack for a ride of our choice. Upon taking it to Guest Services we were given 3 each!

Staff were really friendly and walked us to our rooms while they explained all the details we needed to know. In the evening you can hang out with games and quizzes in the bar which was open until about midnight.

Before coming we did a bit of research so we knew that the rooms would essentially be shipping containers. On first glance, yes, the rooms are small, but everything you need is in there (T.V, air con, shower, safe, etc.) and there's a lot to do, so to be fair we didn't need to spend much time in the rooms apart from sleeping. Plus the Wifi is free!

Breakfast is included as well which is quite basic, but we weren't looking for anything fancy before going on rollercoasters. You can pay a bit extra for a cooked breakfast if you want. Then we were given locker tokens to store our bags before hitting the rides and having an awesome time.

Room Tip: If you want a lake side one they'll re-allocate you as long as it's not too busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polarbear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Lola

Thanks for your positive review, we are really chuffed to hear you had a great time at the Crash Pad, we look forward to seeing you again soon at THORPE PARK.

Thanks

Suzy
Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at crash pad whilst staying in Thorpe park. The hotel itself is best described as a giant porta-cabin made out of metal. Overall stay was comfortable, cheap, and within the grounds of the park. Downside, very little privacy, and definitely only a place to get your head down for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nram959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you taking the time to write your review on the Crash Pad at THORPE PARK following your stay. We really appreciate all feedback and due to the Crash Pad being so new, we are always looking for ways to improve it. We look forward to your next visit,

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on 11th July. We live a 4 hour drive away, so needed somewhere to stay and noticed this on Thorpe Park's website. It cost us £135 for the night and two day theme park tickets. We checked in about 4ish after a few hours in the park. Check in staff were friendly and we thought the crash pad was ideal. Exactly what it says it is. Very clean, well equipped and right in the park. We had a room overlooking the lake which had lovely views. We ate in Bar 360 and both enjoyed the food. Again, staff were friendly and put on a quiz. The next day we were given three fast ride passes as the park was busy. This was a great addition to the stay. We had the free continental breakfast which was great. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claireabella85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Claireabella

Thanks for your positive review, we are really happy to hear you had a great time at the Crash Pad, our staff work really hard to deliver memorable experiences, therefore I am really pleased to hear this was the case for you.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at THORPE PARK.

Thanks

Suzy
Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chertsey
681 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,905 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
408 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THORPE SHARK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THORPE SHARK Hotel

Address: Staines Lane, Chertsey KT16 8PN, England (Formerly The Crash Pad at THORPE PARK)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chertsey
Price Range: $100 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THORPE PARK Resort has a new addition to the thrilling line up this year as the Park opens the brand new THORPE SHARK Hotel, adding even more bite to a fun packed visit to the UK’s most thrilling theme park. The new look hotel situated on the ‘THORPE PARK Resort Island’ features 90 shark-tastic rooms in a stunning waterfront location, only a fin away from iconic world class rollercoasters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
THORPE SHARK Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing