We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
THORPE SHARK Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Chertsey
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Crown Hotel(Chertsey)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savannah Bed & Breakfast(Virginia Water)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveler rating
307
245
134
61
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
245
134
61
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfast trackcrash padwet roomrooms are smallmood lightingtheme parkair conbar and grillbunk bedstwo daysevening entertainmentfast passbig ridespark entryconverted shipping containersbottled waterfins restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
799 - 804 of 830 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Right we booked this for my Birthday. A group of 4 friends and it worked out at £69 per person for one night stay and 2 days park entry which sounds good but it not that great when you think that the crash pad rooms are tiny temporary shipping containers. They are kitted out really really well for the tiny size and are very modern but there were the following bad points: that the top bunk has no kind of barrier to stop anyone falling out of bed, not even a tiny lip and falling from that height in sleep could be very serious (we reported this to reception but they just said well we passed our health and safety tests). The bathroom sliding door is frosted but no properly so you can see straigh through it when someone is showering! Another bad point is In the morning, you get a continental breakfast included but the only food on offer was Kelloggs Cereals, toast with jam, croissants and yogurts (no meats or cheese or anything), and cooked breakfasts were extra £4.95! (these are included for free in the Alton Towers Hotel). The evening enternment that night was bingo for 40 minutes. Also there was giant jenga, pool tables, ping pong and connect 4 and music which we though was great until they started packing it all away while we were still playing at about 9pm which is not good as then there is nothing to do at all. Good points are that it is located actually in the park itself, you get wrist bands to come and go as you please and a parking ticket to get in and out of the barriers, there is a 24 hour reception, you can get into the park early, you get a bottle of water each put into your room with a cup each, shower gel and shampoo is provided and is resealable not a silly sachet you have to tear. The beds were comfy and duvets lovely, there is a flat screen tv and adjustable heating and aircon. The 360 Bar and Grill served really nice food in good portions at good prices. The staff were really friendly and helpful.
I do think if you pay to stay at the Crash Pad at that price you should get fast track tickets and a cooked breakfast though as it would make it better value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summerstar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on the Crash Pad. We appreciate the constructive critism and without reviews like this it would be hard for us to improve for the future giving guests a memorable and fun experience with us.

We look forward to your next visit at THORPE PARK,

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
TOHRPE PARK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed in the Crash Pad for one night and it was the best night ever!

When we booked we got a two day park ticket, Ministry of Sound ticket, one night stay and a lovely continental breakfast.

We spent a whole day in the park, checked in when the park shut, got ready for the club night and then the big rollercoasters re-opened for Ministry until 11pm! Ministry then went on until 3am.

The room was so lovely, just right for a place to snooze for the night and sleep off the drunkness as well. The staff were amazing on check in and out. They had a great laugh with us even walked us to our room which was a fab touch.

The room had two single beds (bunk beds) and one double which me a girl mate top and tailed as there were four of us girlies in a room.

I would def stay at Crash Pad again! The added bonus of staying on a weekend was having 15 mins to ourselves on The Swarm in the morning.

Room Tip: If you ask reception for a lake or park view they will do this for you if it's not too busy which was fab!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyLee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Ladylee

Thanks for your positive review, we are pleased that not only did Ministry of Sound deliver a fantastic night but you also found the Crash Pads to be a great exeprience too.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at THORPE PARK.

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Does exactly what it says, its somewhere to crash!! The staff were excellent, better than most hotels, even walked to my room. Geese kept me awake but beautiful lake view, early access to rides - happy days, well done thorpe park!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Olivia

Thanks for your positive review of the Crash Pad at THORPE PARK, its great to hear you had a fantastic time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went to the Crash Pad with an open mind. We knew at over £100 a night we were unlikely to get value for money and had an idea of what to expect from reviews we had already read, so our expectations were not unrealistic.

We checked in at 2pm. The room was larger than I expected and very clean and intuituvely laid out. The beds were comfy and spotlessly clean. There is aircon or heating which you can turn on whenever you want, and nice extra touches like free bottles of water. The double bed is padded all the way round. The only windows are two small portholes that look directly out onto a gangway and as people are often passing outside, you need to cover them most of the time unless you're in the mood to give a peepshow.

You are given a wristband and parking ticket which allows you to come and go from the site and take your car out as many times as you like and you can return whenever you want, even in the middle of the night; there is 24hr security.

The first problem was that our toilet was not cleaned and there were huge skidmarks all over it. We asked reception to sort this as we returned to the park and it was spotless by the time we returned which was good. Reception told us we needed to book dinner at Bar 360 but instead of reserving it for us, we had to go there ourselves which I thought was odd considering the receptionists did not seem busy. Dinner is in the Bar 360 and exceeded our expectations; it's nothing to write home about but the prices are low and the food was hot, and good quality.

The entertainment was a couple of comedians which was in the Neptune's Dome area. The staff make considerable changes to this area for the evening - all the outlets are shrouded in black curtains and it feels well adapted to the evening, though the entertainment was just OK and doesn't last long.

When we returned back to the Crash Pad some serious issues became apparent. Firstly, there is nowhere to sit out - not even a small area of decking, which is a real shame as the unit sits next to a nice view of the lake. You cannot sit outside your room as you would block the gangway. I tried to have a nice relaxing shower only to find there was no hot water - it was just lukewarm. I went to reception to ask them to sort it. The receptionist was a nice guy and apologetic but basically said there was nothing he could do until the maintenance man returned in the morning. I appreciate the mobile home type build of the Crash Pad, and I might have let this go if they were charging £40 a night but for £100 a night, this is simply not good enough.

Next, as we tried to get to sleep (at 11:30pm, not early!!) we were kept up by incessant dance music, playing loud enough I could recognise and sing along to Rihanna and Britney Spears had I not been in such a foul mood, and we later realised this was because there was a Ministry of Sound event on in the conference marquee, which is situated right next to the Crash Pad, and continued pumping out club beats until 1am. I can only imagine how awful it must have been to have had a family with children there - and we were situated at the front end, about as far away from the marquee as you could be. There was no warning of this on the website when we booked. Next morning, as we got up to get to the park, there was still no hot water in the showers.

In the morning, you get a continental breakfast included. The only food on offer was Kelloggs Cereals, toast with jam, croissants and yogurts, and cooked breakfasts were extra (these are included for free in the Alton Towers Hotel).

You are let into the park 15mins before the general public and the rides that are opened are The Swarm and Flying Fish. This was actually brilliant because there are so few hotel guests you don't even have to get off The Swarm, they just send you round and round on it. They also opened Saw early and we rode twice on this without getting off; though I don't think this was a hotel perk, it's just that you can ride The Swarm and then bomb it over to Saw at the very second it opens. This was a real advantage to staying in The Crash Pad.

Overall (and this is coming from someone who LOVES theme parks and themed hotels) if you are in two minds about staying at The Crash Pad, I'd advise you to book a nearby Travelodge and spend the money you save on treating yourself to a massive bunch of Fasttrack tickets for Thorpe Park. The Crash Pad would be absolutely fine if it were priced according to what it is - a budget mobile home overnight facility with a brief Early Ride offer. At upwards of £100 a night, The Crash Pad falls badly short in too many ways, too much of the time.

Room Tip: Book a nearby budget hotel instead and spend the £60 you save on queue jump tickets.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your stay at the Crash Pad here at THORPE PARK.

It’s lovely to hear that you were pleasantly surprise by the size and lay out of the room we provided you. We do try to provide Guests staying with us with the best value for money.

It’s great that the toilet incident was sorted out as soon as possible; obviously that isn’t what Guests are expecting upon arrival and it is something that could have been avoided completely.

Thank you for complimenting the efforts of the entertainment team in the transformation of the dome for the evening entertainment, it’s not as easy as it looks getting that big curtain around the dome.

As you are aware, the Crash Pad is new this season, so we are still trying things out and planning for the future. I will pass on your comment on having a decking area for guests to sit and view the lake, thanks for the suggestion.

In regards to the hot water problem, we would like to follow this up for you, if you could email Guest.Services@thorpe-park.co.uk and someone will reply as soon as possible.

We are glad that you made the most out of the early ride time by getting on some of the big rollercoasters before the park opened to guests visiting for the day.

Once again, thank you taking the time to write such a detailed review on the Crash Pad and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Me and my friend Danielle stayed here from Sunday 2nd June and came home Tuesday 4th June and had a fabulous stay, the Crash pad is lovely and literally is just a place to 'crash' it's not massive just a small space - our room had a double bed, bunk beds and a wet room with a shower inside it was perfect for our little holiday away (the room also has a safe).

When we arrived checking in was quick and easy, the lady with longish brown hair was lovely gave us all the correct information whilst showing us to our room and we settled in straight away.

By the time we arrived to Thorpe Park it was around 6.30pm so the park was closed and it was lovely and peaceful, we left our things in the room and went for tea in the restaurant which was lovely I had the chicken nachos yum :P - Breakfast was also lovely, basic toast/cereal but I couldn't eat much more or I'd of been sick on the rides haha!

The rides were absolutely brilliant and the weather was fabulous, we are now absolutely made up we have been the stay was lovely, the beds were comfy and the shower was hot and powerful... We will DEFINITELY BE BACK soon!!!

Thanks for a great stay and hopefully we will see you soon! :)

Room Tip: Both sides of the crash pad are lovely, the front is where you can see the theme park and the back where I stayed the lake was in front which was gorgeous at night!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaandJohn91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Lisa and John

Thanks for your positive review of the Crash Pad, we are so chuffed to hear you enjoyed the experience and hope that we see you again soon at THORPE PARK

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews