We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!”
Review of THORPE SHARK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THORPE SHARK Hotel
hassocks
1 review
“Excellent!!!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Does exactly what it says, its somewhere to crash!! The staff were excellent, better than most hotels, even walked to my room. Geese kept me awake but beautiful lake view, early access to rides - happy days, well done thorpe park!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Olivia

Thanks for your positive review of the Crash Pad at THORPE PARK, its great to hear you had a fantastic time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    228
    123
    53
    79
See reviews for
341
195
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went to the Crash Pad with an open mind. We knew at over £100 a night we were unlikely to get value for money and had an idea of what to expect from reviews we had already read, so our expectations were not unrealistic.

We checked in at 2pm. The room was larger than I expected and very clean and intuituvely laid out. The beds were comfy and spotlessly clean. There is aircon or heating which you can turn on whenever you want, and nice extra touches like free bottles of water. The double bed is padded all the way round. The only windows are two small portholes that look directly out onto a gangway and as people are often passing outside, you need to cover them most of the time unless you're in the mood to give a peepshow.

You are given a wristband and parking ticket which allows you to come and go from the site and take your car out as many times as you like and you can return whenever you want, even in the middle of the night; there is 24hr security.

The first problem was that our toilet was not cleaned and there were huge skidmarks all over it. We asked reception to sort this as we returned to the park and it was spotless by the time we returned which was good. Reception told us we needed to book dinner at Bar 360 but instead of reserving it for us, we had to go there ourselves which I thought was odd considering the receptionists did not seem busy. Dinner is in the Bar 360 and exceeded our expectations; it's nothing to write home about but the prices are low and the food was hot, and good quality.

The entertainment was a couple of comedians which was in the Neptune's Dome area. The staff make considerable changes to this area for the evening - all the outlets are shrouded in black curtains and it feels well adapted to the evening, though the entertainment was just OK and doesn't last long.

When we returned back to the Crash Pad some serious issues became apparent. Firstly, there is nowhere to sit out - not even a small area of decking, which is a real shame as the unit sits next to a nice view of the lake. You cannot sit outside your room as you would block the gangway. I tried to have a nice relaxing shower only to find there was no hot water - it was just lukewarm. I went to reception to ask them to sort it. The receptionist was a nice guy and apologetic but basically said there was nothing he could do until the maintenance man returned in the morning. I appreciate the mobile home type build of the Crash Pad, and I might have let this go if they were charging £40 a night but for £100 a night, this is simply not good enough.

Next, as we tried to get to sleep (at 11:30pm, not early!!) we were kept up by incessant dance music, playing loud enough I could recognise and sing along to Rihanna and Britney Spears had I not been in such a foul mood, and we later realised this was because there was a Ministry of Sound event on in the conference marquee, which is situated right next to the Crash Pad, and continued pumping out club beats until 1am. I can only imagine how awful it must have been to have had a family with children there - and we were situated at the front end, about as far away from the marquee as you could be. There was no warning of this on the website when we booked. Next morning, as we got up to get to the park, there was still no hot water in the showers.

In the morning, you get a continental breakfast included. The only food on offer was Kelloggs Cereals, toast with jam, croissants and yogurts, and cooked breakfasts were extra (these are included for free in the Alton Towers Hotel).

You are let into the park 15mins before the general public and the rides that are opened are The Swarm and Flying Fish. This was actually brilliant because there are so few hotel guests you don't even have to get off The Swarm, they just send you round and round on it. They also opened Saw early and we rode twice on this without getting off; though I don't think this was a hotel perk, it's just that you can ride The Swarm and then bomb it over to Saw at the very second it opens. This was a real advantage to staying in The Crash Pad.

Overall (and this is coming from someone who LOVES theme parks and themed hotels) if you are in two minds about staying at The Crash Pad, I'd advise you to book a nearby Travelodge and spend the money you save on treating yourself to a massive bunch of Fasttrack tickets for Thorpe Park. The Crash Pad would be absolutely fine if it were priced according to what it is - a budget mobile home overnight facility with a brief Early Ride offer. At upwards of £100 a night, The Crash Pad falls badly short in too many ways, too much of the time.

Room Tip: Book a nearby budget hotel instead and spend the £60 you save on queue jump tickets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your stay at the Crash Pad here at THORPE PARK.

It’s lovely to hear that you were pleasantly surprise by the size and lay out of the room we provided you. We do try to provide Guests staying with us with the best value for money.

It’s great that the toilet incident was sorted out as soon as possible; obviously that isn’t what Guests are expecting upon arrival and it is something that could have been avoided completely.

Thank you for complimenting the efforts of the entertainment team in the transformation of the dome for the evening entertainment, it’s not as easy as it looks getting that big curtain around the dome.

As you are aware, the Crash Pad is new this season, so we are still trying things out and planning for the future. I will pass on your comment on having a decking area for guests to sit and view the lake, thanks for the suggestion.

In regards to the hot water problem, we would like to follow this up for you, if you could email Guest.Services@thorpe-park.co.uk and someone will reply as soon as possible.

We are glad that you made the most out of the early ride time by getting on some of the big rollercoasters before the park opened to guests visiting for the day.

Once again, thank you taking the time to write such a detailed review on the Crash Pad and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Me and my friend Danielle stayed here from Sunday 2nd June and came home Tuesday 4th June and had a fabulous stay, the Crash pad is lovely and literally is just a place to 'crash' it's not massive just a small space - our room had a double bed, bunk beds and a wet room with a shower inside it was perfect for our little holiday away (the room also has a safe).

When we arrived checking in was quick and easy, the lady with longish brown hair was lovely gave us all the correct information whilst showing us to our room and we settled in straight away.

By the time we arrived to Thorpe Park it was around 6.30pm so the park was closed and it was lovely and peaceful, we left our things in the room and went for tea in the restaurant which was lovely I had the chicken nachos yum :P - Breakfast was also lovely, basic toast/cereal but I couldn't eat much more or I'd of been sick on the rides haha!

The rides were absolutely brilliant and the weather was fabulous, we are now absolutely made up we have been the stay was lovely, the beds were comfy and the shower was hot and powerful... We will DEFINITELY BE BACK soon!!!

Thanks for a great stay and hopefully we will see you soon! :)

Room Tip: Both sides of the crash pad are lovely, the front is where you can see the theme park and the back w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandJohn91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Lisa and John

Thanks for your positive review of the Crash Pad, we are so chuffed to hear you enjoyed the experience and hope that we see you again soon at THORPE PARK

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the crash pad on the 3rd of June. We didn't get there till half seven at night but the direction of where to go where simple and easy and with the park being closed made it nice and peaceful. From the minute we got there the staff went out of there way to be helpful. The room is not massive but we knew this infact it felt bigger than we expected. The beds where the most comfy beds I have ever slept in, I wanted to strap the mattress to my car roof. In the evening the dime area had things set up for you do such as table tennis giant jenga and giant connect 4. There was also a quiz and rock an roll bingo. We might have been a normal hotels worst nightmare as we had a few champagnes for a friends birthday and pinched the teddy ( in a joking manner ) from reception to which in the morning the staff laughed with us when we returned her, ( we just felt the ginger lady needed a girls night out ) then the day it's self was fantastic. All in all I think if your looking for a clean comfy bed to crash this is the place to go :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jowith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Jowith2

Thanks for your positive review, its great to hear the experiences our guests have when they stay wih us for the night. Champagne is certainly a great way to celebrate a birthday and finish a day out at THORPE PARK
We look forward to seeing you soon

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed overnight here for the convenience & extra day in the park, and it was brilliant! Our family had great fun in this tiny, cosy little box which was perfect for sleeping & getting ready in.

Admittedly it was very, very small, however there was reasonably good storage space. The bathroom door gave very little privacy and the bathroom did flood because of a drainage problem, but the reception staff were very apologetic & it happened before checking out, so it wasn't a big issue.

The beds were very comfy, the room was perfectly warm or perfectly cool, the TV was very good, we had a nice view over the lake, it felt very safe and the reception staff were polite, friendly, chatty & showed us to our room which was nice.

The continental breakfast buffet was very basic and there wasn't loads of choice. Some croissants, yoghurts, cereal, fruit salad & toast which wasn't bad but the £4.75 upgrade to full English was very good! It tasted great and really filled us up!

The free parking was handy, we had a large relatively spacious car park and were allowed in and out as we pleased once we had our wristbands which readmitted us. We ate our evening meal out and had a great day at the park, which is just so much fun.

Overall, the Crash Pad was a fantastic place to stay. So ideal for what we needed and a good tickets/accomodation/parking package!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Kissimmee

Thanks for your positive review, our staff work hard to deliver memorable experiences, so its lovely to hear when we get it right for a guest.
We hope to see you again soon at THORPE PARK

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I brought our two daughters to the Crash Pad so we didn't have to worry about driving to and from Thorpe Park. We had been travelling around Europe and the U.K for a few weeks and it was such a fun experience and really offered a great alternative for accommodation. We loved the convenience of staying onsite and thrills of theme park. It was a wonderful experience supported by excellent staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gates2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Gates2

Thanks for your positive review of the Crash Pad at THORPE PARK, its lovely to hear that the Crash Pad hit the right spot for what you wanted from our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Crash pad provided an excellent setting for a small reunion of friends; we had not seen each other in a while and wanted something more than a theme park but something less than a holiday or hotel. The crash pad was perfect.

We spent 2 adrenaline-fueled days in the amazing Thorpe park, met some amazing members of staff operating some of the best rides in Europe, which was brilliant, then we got to stay right on the park site, with parking and breakfast included, all for a very, very cheap price!

The room’s themselves were really funky and cool, they may not be enough space to swing a cat in but there was certainly enough space to have a great time! The decor was modern and fresh and the storage container facade was whacky and fresh. The only problem we had was a slightly leaky shower.

But the best part of our trip was the incredible Crash pad staff, who went above and beyond their roles of duty and totally understood the concept of the crash pad. Their friendliness, fun and constant jokes kept us entertain every time we walked (or rolled, riding a trunkie) past the reception desk. So for making our trip extra, extra special we thank you Phillipa and Venessa!!

Other members of staff in Thorpe park itself we'd like to mention are: Denise (for cleaning up sick on Samurai and still loving her job), Jon from storm surge (for filling every boat), Sam from colossus and Rumba rapids (for having nice legs) and Everyone we made friends with at Thorpe Park!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Ryanoshea

Thanks for your positive review, its great to hear that the rides and staff here at THORPE PARK delivered a amazing experience for you and your group. We hope to see you soon.

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
643 reviews
9.3 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chessington
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
4.1 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,794 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THORPE SHARK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THORPE SHARK Hotel

Property: THORPE SHARK Hotel
Address: Staines Lane, Chertsey KT16 8PN, England (Formerly The Crash Pad at THORPE PARK)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THORPE PARK Resort has a new addition to the thrilling line up this year as the Park opens the brand new THORPE SHARK Hotel, adding even more bite to a fun packed visit to the UK’s most thrilling theme park. The new look hotel situated on the ‘THORPE PARK Resort Island’ features 90 shark-tastic rooms in a stunning waterfront location, only a fin away from iconic world class rollercoasters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
THORPE SHARK Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing