We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what it's says on the tin”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of THORPE SHARK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THORPE SHARK Hotel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what it's says on the tin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the crash pad on the 3rd of June. We didn't get there till half seven at night but the direction of where to go where simple and easy and with the park being closed made it nice and peaceful. From the minute we got there the staff went out of there way to be helpful. The room is not massive but we knew this infact it felt bigger than we expected. The beds where the most comfy beds I have ever slept in, I wanted to strap the mattress to my car roof. In the evening the dime area had things set up for you do such as table tennis giant jenga and giant connect 4. There was also a quiz and rock an roll bingo. We might have been a normal hotels worst nightmare as we had a few champagnes for a friends birthday and pinched the teddy ( in a joking manner ) from reception to which in the morning the staff laughed with us when we returned her, ( we just felt the ginger lady needed a girls night out ) then the day it's self was fantastic. All in all I think if your looking for a clean comfy bed to crash this is the place to go :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jowith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Jowith2

Thanks for your positive review, its great to hear the experiences our guests have when they stay wih us for the night. Champagne is certainly a great way to celebrate a birthday and finish a day out at THORPE PARK
We look forward to seeing you soon

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    206
    100
    46
    67
See reviews for
285
170
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed overnight here for the convenience & extra day in the park, and it was brilliant! Our family had great fun in this tiny, cosy little box which was perfect for sleeping & getting ready in.

Admittedly it was very, very small, however there was reasonably good storage space. The bathroom door gave very little privacy and the bathroom did flood because of a drainage problem, but the reception staff were very apologetic & it happened before checking out, so it wasn't a big issue.

The beds were very comfy, the room was perfectly warm or perfectly cool, the TV was very good, we had a nice view over the lake, it felt very safe and the reception staff were polite, friendly, chatty & showed us to our room which was nice.

The continental breakfast buffet was very basic and there wasn't loads of choice. Some croissants, yoghurts, cereal, fruit salad & toast which wasn't bad but the £4.75 upgrade to full English was very good! It tasted great and really filled us up!

The free parking was handy, we had a large relatively spacious car park and were allowed in and out as we pleased once we had our wristbands which readmitted us. We ate our evening meal out and had a great day at the park, which is just so much fun.

Overall, the Crash Pad was a fantastic place to stay. So ideal for what we needed and a good tickets/accomodation/parking package!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Kissimmee

Thanks for your positive review, our staff work hard to deliver memorable experiences, so its lovely to hear when we get it right for a guest.
We hope to see you again soon at THORPE PARK

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I brought our two daughters to the Crash Pad so we didn't have to worry about driving to and from Thorpe Park. We had been travelling around Europe and the U.K for a few weeks and it was such a fun experience and really offered a great alternative for accommodation. We loved the convenience of staying onsite and thrills of theme park. It was a wonderful experience supported by excellent staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gates2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Gates2

Thanks for your positive review of the Crash Pad at THORPE PARK, its lovely to hear that the Crash Pad hit the right spot for what you wanted from our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Crash pad provided an excellent setting for a small reunion of friends; we had not seen each other in a while and wanted something more than a theme park but something less than a holiday or hotel. The crash pad was perfect.

We spent 2 adrenaline-fueled days in the amazing Thorpe park, met some amazing members of staff operating some of the best rides in Europe, which was brilliant, then we got to stay right on the park site, with parking and breakfast included, all for a very, very cheap price!

The room’s themselves were really funky and cool, they may not be enough space to swing a cat in but there was certainly enough space to have a great time! The decor was modern and fresh and the storage container facade was whacky and fresh. The only problem we had was a slightly leaky shower.

But the best part of our trip was the incredible Crash pad staff, who went above and beyond their roles of duty and totally understood the concept of the crash pad. Their friendliness, fun and constant jokes kept us entertain every time we walked (or rolled, riding a trunkie) past the reception desk. So for making our trip extra, extra special we thank you Phillipa and Venessa!!

Other members of staff in Thorpe park itself we'd like to mention are: Denise (for cleaning up sick on Samurai and still loving her job), Jon from storm surge (for filling every boat), Sam from colossus and Rumba rapids (for having nice legs) and Everyone we made friends with at Thorpe Park!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Ryanoshea

Thanks for your positive review, its great to hear that the rides and staff here at THORPE PARK delivered a amazing experience for you and your group. We hope to see you soon.

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Crash Pad is exactly what it is a place to crash. I stayed here at the end of April with a few friends and we loved it.

We arrived at Thorpe park at opening time (10am) and went straight to reception as we were told to at the gates the staff in reception gave us locker tokens and said where we could put our luggage and that we didn't need to come back until anytime after 2pm which was great as we could stay in the park till close.

We checked in at close time of the park and it was very quick and simple the staff were lovely and let you know everything that is happening with entertainment and dinner and they even walked us to our room which was a lovely touch.

The room was amazing it was everything we needed shower, toilet,a bed and even complimentary water and toiletries.
There are 3 beds in the room one double bed and a set of bunk beds. The bathroom was a wet room so there was more room than expected. There is also a TV in the room for those who want to just chill out. Between us we also forgot a hairdryer but the girls at reception were more than happy to lend one out to us.

We had dinner in Bar 360 and I had the ribs which we were recommended in our check in and they were amazing. There was a bit of entertainment on which was Rock n Roll bingo & a few quizzes but the arcades are also left open for you, but after a full day in the park we all just went and Crashed.

The next morning we felt rather refreshed and ready for the next day in the park.The shower was lovely could have stayed in there was powerful also lovely and hot, the plumbing is a little loud but that's what we expected from shipping containers. We checked out and had breakfast which is a continental buffet which Is nice and light before a day of rollercoasters but you can upgrade if you want to for a little fee.

Overall the crash pad is brilliant its not often you get to stay in a funky hotel with Thorpe park in your back garden. Definitely going to stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxalex1989xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear xxalex1989xx

Thanks for your positive review, the Ribs from Bar 360 are my favourite too! I am chuffed to hear you had a great time here at THORPE PARK and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Where to start, loved the fact that we stayed in touching distance of the rides and the fact that we where on the park when it was closed for the night but thats all the good points i have, its the biggest con going for Merlin pass holders you would thinks that you would get a good deal but this is not the case , it cost us for 2 nights for 2 people £220 and this was with discount from the pass, if you don't have a Merlin pass you get 2 park tickets included in the price, so we felt very ripped off ....I had no issues with the room as i knew what they where like, they where small which was fine and they where very modern inside, the issue was that the plumbing from the toilets and showers were all connected so if one person has a shower everybody in that block of rooms were woken up because the sound that the toilet and showers made was ridiculous. Also we had a nice wake up call from the fire alarms at 8am in the morning i'm guessing there is still a few teething problems that need looking at....The amount we paid for the Crash pad i was hoping for a cooked breakfast in the morning, is this too much to ask for ? this was not to be if you wanted a cooked breakfast it would cost £4.95 again this felt like we were getting ripped off at every corner....come on Thorpe park you can do better than this .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the Crash Pad at THORPE PARK. As you are aware, the Crash Pad is new to the 2013 season at THORPE PARK. Without your review we wouldn't be able to make the necessary changes to improve the Crash Pad for future Guests staying with us, so thank you.

It is our aim to give guests a memorable experience when visiting us and I am dissapointed to hear that this was not the case when you stayed with us in May.

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Yes these rooms are small, they are exactly like the pictures on the website. But for two of us to sleep off the adrenalin of the day was great. They are only a few months old so very clean and comfy. The tv is perfectly placed for watching in bed but the double has padding around three sides so you can sit up and watch during the day if you're not in the park for whatever reason. The bathroom is a wet room so if you are showering take everything else out including the toilet roll as it will get damp! There were washing sachets and bottles of water in the room, nice touch. There is plenty of storage space for bags and any large teddies you may win, unless you have kids with you in which case you won't be able to move. It's nice there is allocated parking near the gates for guests and its very easy to find. Staff were great, friendly and enthusiastic.
The breakfast was a bit rubbish, being charged extra when the booking said it was included but in the end it was better not have too much! As guests you can wander a short distance into the park but not far so being allowed there early was pointless.
We went on a Wednesday/Thursday so there were few people about considering how big the place is. We went on swarm five times one after the other because there were no queues - excellent! And the weather was on our side which helped.
Overall I would recommend this to friends and family and I would stay again. It's somewhere to dump your stuff that's within the park so you don't have to go back and forth to your car, you can change if you get too cold and wet and you only have to carry minimal things in your pockets. There was a deal where you got two days in the park when staying over it so you don't have to cram everything into one day and you don't have to drive there and back the same day which is a bonus.
Definitely worth it. Enjoy

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Whyvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello Whyvonne

Thanks for your positive review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon at THORPE PARK

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
1.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
9.3 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
4.1 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THORPE SHARK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THORPE SHARK Hotel

Property: THORPE SHARK Hotel
Address: Staines Lane, Chertsey KT16 8PN, England (Formerly The Crash Pad at THORPE PARK)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THORPE PARK Resort has a new addition to the thrilling line up this year as the Park opens the brand new THORPE SHARK Hotel, adding even more bite to a fun packed visit to the UK’s most thrilling theme park. The new look hotel situated on the ‘THORPE PARK Resort Island’ features 90 shark-tastic rooms in a stunning waterfront location, only a fin away from iconic world class rollercoasters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your THORPE SHARK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
THORPE SHARK Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing