We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of THORPE SHARK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THORPE SHARK Hotel
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at the crash pad for one night in April 2013. As long as you are not expecting a "proper hotel" this is a great place to stay. Effectively the rooms are like a small cabin on a boat. We had one double bed and 2 bunk beds and there is a small ensuite shower / toilet at the end of the room. Space is limited but everything in the room was perfect. Beds were very comfortable, the shower was powerful and hot, there was a safe and a flat screen tv. The air con / heater was perfectly adequate. There is a restaurant / bar that stays open in the park just for crash pad guests and the cost of food and drink was very reasonable and the quality more than adequate. Alll in all we had a great weekend and would definitely use this again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red-Devil07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Red-devil07

Thanks for your postive review, its great to hear you enjoyed your Crash Pad experience here at THORPE PARK, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    217
    107
    51
    72
See reviews for
307
184
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a superb idea, love it, does what it says on the tin. The staff were very helpful, give it ago! Thorpe Park is a great day out with A1 thrill rides, it's got it all now. We were the first on Park it's great with only two people in a queue! Will be back in the summer for sure. Thanks everyone

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lobsterlover354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Lobsterlover354

Thanks for your positive review, we are so pleased to hear that you feel the Crash Pad is a great addition to the THORPE PARK. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at the crash pad for one night in April 2013. The service was great from all the team members we encountered and the room itself was small but perfectly formed. I had been pre-warned about the size of the rooms from others but was actually really satisfied with what we got for the price we paid.
As we were a couple there was plenty of space for us, I do feel that a family of 4 would be a little tight for space though.
Breakfast was fine for us (stayed with the continental as didn't want a full english before riding).
Overall the crash pad was great for a 1 night's stay ensuring we were rested before we went into day 2 of our park entry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Nat,

Thank you for the kind words you wrote when you posted your review on the Crash Pad here at THORPE PARK.

We are glad to hear that you recieved great service from our team at the Crash Pad and that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Ignore all bad reviews! We are at the crash pad now and have had an excellent stay! The staff couldnt be more helpful and friendly. The rooms are spotless and have everything you need to crash out for the night after a long day at the park. The breakfast is a help your self continental breakfast with all you need to get yourself charged for another day in the park. Toast, croissants, cereal, yoghurt, tea and coffee. If you want a full english you can buy one but dont sit near me on the rides when you vomit it all up! The crash pad is made up of portacabins so are small and not noise proof but if your like us and exhausted after a long day you will crash out in a very comfortable bed!! Kids will love the novelty and adults will love the price! Overall a great stay and looking forward to getting in the park an hour early with full bellys. 5 out of 5 for us! Good work crash pad staff :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Ally C

Thanks for your positive review, its great to hear that the Crash Pad delivered a great experience for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks
Suzy
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is exactly what it says. Somewhere to crash. The shipping crates are very small but as it is only somewhere to sleep it does quite well. The beds were really comfortable but I'd be wary of letting a child sleep on the top bunk as there is no guard rail so they could fall off quite easily. Also no steps to get up to the top bunk! Great being in the park and to get on the rides earlier (although not a great selection) bar 360 breakfast was just cereal and toast. If you want a proper breakfast you will need to pay extra. None of the staff look older than 12 so service was really slow.(they were all talking amongst each other!) evening entertainment......WHAT entertainment?? We had a silly quiz! Overall ok if you have far to drive and just need a bed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlovinglioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on the Crash Pad here at THORPE PARK. We really appreciate your feedback and are always trying to improve Guest experiences when visiting THORPE PARK and staying with us in the Crash Pad.

As I'm sure you are aware, the Crash Pad is new to THORPE PARK this season and we are still trialing different ways to improve the evening entertainment.

Without your feedback, we wouldn't be able to make the necessary changes to improve our Crash Pad, so thank you!

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

After the initial shock of the crash pad I was overall happy with the accommodation. It is not a hotel and the rooms are literally tin cans, which inside feel like a cabin on a ship. Plumbing is very noisy, although the rooms next to us were empty so we were not disturbed by other people.
Bar 360 food was normal pub food quality which was nice. Only annoyance was having to book a table when it really wasn't busy. Evening entertainment was a ping pong table. Although beds were very comfy and had a tv so our evening was fine!
Getting on to rides before it opened was a real bonus making the whole thing worth it.
I think that in busy periods it would be fairly noisy and Bar 360 would not be able to keep up. I would stay again though but not during the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexxy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Lexy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the new Crash Pad at THORPE PARK.

As you are aware, the Crash Pad is new this season and all feedback is very helpful and beneficial for the future. We are always trying to improve Guest experiences and have taken into consideration the loud noise from the plumbing. We have tested out a few different ideas for 'trial and error' throughout the first season of the Crash Pad and without your feedback we wouldn't be able to improve, so thank you.

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I am writing to tell you how disappointed I am with the accommodation at the crash pad.
Firstly I have no idea why I was charged £238 for 1 night and 2 days in the park for an adult, a 13yr old and a 10yr when everyone else we have spoken to paid £178! Why was I charged so much more?
As for the accommodation, where do I begin. The bed was comfortable, well the double bed.
Having a shower and a loo that sound like an aircraft toilet the entire night is no fun and kept myself and my kids awake the whole night.
The bathroom floor does not drain away and the leaking sink made going into the bathroom very unpleasant as you permanently had wet feet and socks.
Lets not even go on about the size of our accommodation.
On arrival I was told we had to eat breakfast at 6:30am as that was the slot available. As for dinner, well I have not had a worse meal anywhere. And the same happened there. Being told when I am allowed to feed my kids is unacceptable. I did not travel all the way from Switzerland to be treated like a boarding house child!
Having contacted customer service to send my complaint, the on going emails have become quite tedious and when I was offered a park entry as a consolation I asked to speak to the manager.
Only to be told I could not as they were an agency hired to deal with complaints.............
Utterly shocked and disappointed, being told I will be compensated with a park entry just does not cut it for me as we live in Switzerland!

Room Tip: Go with wellies and a swimming costume if you plan on having a shower or a wee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heidi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE SHARK Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Heidi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the Crash Pad here at THORPE PARK. We appreciate all feedback as we are continually striving to improve the experience we offer to our guests.

I'm sorry that your expectations were not exceeded during your stay at our Crash Pad. It is our aim to give guests a truly memorable and thrilling experience so it's disappointing to hear that was not the case.

Kind Regards,

Jake
Guest Relations
THORPE PARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
9.3 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,781 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
390 reviews
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THORPE SHARK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THORPE SHARK Hotel

Property: THORPE SHARK Hotel
Address: Staines Lane, Chertsey KT16 8PN, England (Formerly The Crash Pad at THORPE PARK)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THORPE PARK Resort has a new addition to the thrilling line up this year as the Park opens the brand new THORPE SHARK Hotel, adding even more bite to a fun packed visit to the UK’s most thrilling theme park. The new look hotel situated on the ‘THORPE PARK Resort Island’ features 90 shark-tastic rooms in a stunning waterfront location, only a fin away from iconic world class rollercoasters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your THORPE SHARK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
THORPE SHARK Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing