We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class accomodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chertsey, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
magan92
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First class accomodation”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Lodge was very comfortable and very well equipped with lovely furnishings and tastefully decorated. It is in a lovey quiet situation, but only ten minutes drive to places like Egham, Staines, Virginia Water. The motorway junction is very close, but we did not hear any motorway noise, or airplane noise from Heathrow. We saw rabbits running on the lawned area in front of the bungalow. There were cows in the adjoining field, and horses opposite. The owner had left us a cake tin with homemade flapjacks, which was a nice touch. We would highly recommend these Lodges

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viji R
1 review
“amazing”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

had an amazing time. beautiful cottage with beautiful surroundings. will be visiting again in the near future

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmey_Do
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect, relaxing location and high standard accommodation”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived unfortunately there was a powercut and the electric gates did not open. We were welcomed and let in manually with a huge apology (from Natalie's Mother) - although it was completely out of her control as it was the whole of the lane and area.
The lodge was excellent - clean, spacious, open and home from home. We were fortunate to have the owner kindly put our food/drink delivery in the fridge and there was ice in the freezer ready for our Pimms, whilst our wine was nicely chilled and ready!
The bed was comfortable and spacious, whilst there were ample soft, fresh towels for the double ended bath and wet room. It was really nice to sit outside the lodge in the sun overlooking the water well, field of cows and generally groomed and spacious gardens. The wi-fi, docking station and large TV were also useful.
We had a great meal at the Virginia Waters Indian - The Viceroy; as well as some nice lunches at local, traditional pubs. We enjoyed a walk one morning looking for a small village shop, to buy milk, but was unfortunately unable to find any local convenience store.
Hopefully we will get chance to come back for another stay in the future. An incredible base that is strongly recommended. Thank you Natalie, your Mother and her two dogs, and any other staff who maintain such high standards of accommodation.
Mick & Amanda

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, cleanliness and relaxing location
Liked least: Not being able to purchase more milk locally, very easily
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john c
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“stay at oak”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

very impressed to begin with
bath has a mixer tap but need a shower bath mixer as you you have to go to the shower to wash the shampoo out your hair shower basket is rusty and noise from next door TV and talking so dividing wall needs to be made quieter hard to get to sleep otherwise lounge is brill

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We have resolved the issue with the shower basket.

We are sorry to hear you had problems getting to sleep. Some guest have there TV volume higher than others but unfortunately this is out of our control.

Best wishes

Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotsCanu...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

If you only read one line, this is true 5* self-catering accommodation!

I put off booking at Hill Top Farm Lodges for about a month, partly because it came up in so many searches that I wondered what was wrong with the place, and partly because the website made me think it might be a bit "corporate". Eventually though, the location and availability led me to book, and I am very glad I did!

The building (a converted stable block) is much more welcoming than it appears in the photo on the website. Outside, there is pleasant landscaping with a patio table for each lodge and also ashtrays made from small milk churns. For decoration, there are some old flour mills and a well. A warm and friendly welcome from Natalie added to the good first impression.

It should be noted that true tranquility is essentially impossible anywhere close to London. The lodges do a very good impression of tranquility, giving you a view over fields and woodland, but you can't move Heathrow Airport and the M25! Inside though, the only noise was the occasional "crack" as acorns from neighbouring oak trees landed on the roof. Outside, the aircraft and traffic noise was never an issue.

Inside, Oak has a proper king-size (6ft wide) bed with a wonderful mattress, and there's ample wardrobe space in the bedroom. The bathroom has a "wet room" style shower with a monsoon head (an additional head on a hose would have been useful), and also a deep bath which we didn't use but which looked like a nice place to be.

The main living area has two sofas (one of which is a sofabed), a coffee table and a small dining table, and a huge TV. The kitchen is well-equipped, the only thing lacking being a dishwasher.

Shared between the three lodges is a laundry room with a modern washing machine and a separate tumble dryer. Note that if the latter doesn't start, it probably means the water tank needs to be emptied! This was an easy job which I did myself, though I'm willing to bet that Natalie would have been there in minutes if I'd asked for help. There's an honesty bar in the laundry room, offering crisps, soft drinks and chocolate bars in exchange for donations to Compassion in World Farming.

Beyond the (electric, operated by the lodge keycard) gates, there are several railway stations nearby offering access to central London. We used Egham station, a less than 10 minute drive away, because it seemed to have the fastest train services. There's a Sainsbury's supermarket in Egham, though if you don't feel like cooking there are a decent number of eateries through the Just Eat and Hungry House websites which deliver.

Talking of eateries, we had supper at the Rose and Crown pub in nearby Virginia Water. If you're a foodie, give it a very wide berth. On the other hand, the Fat Duck and Hind's Head in Bray are about 20 minutes away!

Road access to the M3 or M25 takes a few minutes, though we stayed off the motorways as much as we could. We did some clay target shooting at Bisley, which took about 15 minutes to reach.

In summation; warm welcome, great bed, nice bathroom, nice kitchen and living room, nice patio area, nicely off the beaten path given such proximity to London. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed
Liked least: It would too easy to get locked out.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the cottage
Liked least: Shower glass wall was not long enough, (bathroom floor became a bit wet)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martin T
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“Beautiful, fantastically equipped large accomodation”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights family of four with a 4 and a 2 year old. The accommodation is bigger than the pictures show. Very luxurious and modern in a rustic building a nice contrast. Exceptional kitchen, media(WiFi, T.Vs etc), bathroom and bedding, especially for the price. Also great facilities for washing, BBQ etc.
Plenty of room for the kids and parents to sleep apart and all in fantastic surroundings. Out in the country with beautiful views. The owners are very nice and superbly accommodating. I really cannot fault this stay for price and comfort we had a lovely stay. Will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the complete package
Liked least: personally I can't fault it.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing