We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, lacking in other areas”

Thyme at the Tavern
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thyme at the Tavern
Ranked #2 of 5 Chertsey B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I chose this tavern as it had won a CAMRA award and was close to Thorpe Park. The room and ensuite were large and clean with a very comfy bed.
However, the downside was the lack of communication after I had booked online, which lead to a few disappointing events. Their website advertised (and still does) that food is served Tuesday - Friday, 12pm - 2.30pm and 6pm - 9pm. We arrived just before 8pm on Friday and were told they were not serving food! Also, as we were shown the room, we were informed that a band would be playing until midnight that night. Yes the website does say live music on Friday's, but it certainly does not mention how late it would be playing, and how loud it is in the room. The final issue was the lack of parking. No mention on the website, and after a phone call to check, I was informed that we could park at Sainsbury's for free after 6pm, but that involved getting up at 7am to move the vehicle! Not ideal when you want to enjoy a relaxed night away.
Our stay would have been much more enjoyable if we had received a courtesy call or email after booking, warning about the above items as we would have been prepared to make other arrangements. In the end, they lost out on our custom as The Crown across the road, served amazing food (and had a very good choice of ales). I also noticed they supplied parking!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Good food, great pint, clean comfortable rooms prepared snacks in morning as I had to leave before breakfast was served, would recommend to anyone travelling through area or on way to Heathrow airport.menu limited but well prepared

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrrobroy432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for one night at this B&B. Room 1 was clean and very comfortable with tea/coffe and biscuits in room.En-suite was luxurious and enormous. Was visiting friends who live in Chertsey and stayed over to go out for meal with them. Brerakfast was good and had free parking whilst there.

Room Tip: Room 1 was a fabulous room but faced onto the main road so was a little noisy but once we closed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a small hotel, 4 rooms above a pub. The room was beautiful, bed comfortable and spotlessly clean. I was worried about it being noisy but I didn't hear a thing!
Breakfast was cooked to order and again was lovely.
I think it makes a difference when the people who serve you are the owners - they really care that your experience is good.
Would recomend this hotel, and would come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Friendly Staff and a pleasant ambiance. Although the first pint was a little cloudy it was easily rectified with complete understanding. Complimentary pork scratchings were very hard to resist. Relaxed clientele.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We chose this hotel because we had an early departure from Heathrow the next morning. It and the tavern below are operated by the kindest couple. Because we were arriving after the kitchen would be closed, we called a couple of days ahead to see if we could still manage a meal. They happily obliged, getting the necessary cooking instructions from the chef, and preparing it themselves when we arrived. It was delicious! Thyme at the Tavern is a wonderful pub, with hotel rooms above. There is no elevator, just stairs. Bonus on the night of our arrival: Tuesdays are "Quiz Thyme" at the pub. Teams of patrons were competing answering various trivia questions. It was so fun to watch, and everyone was friendly. Very much a neighborhood pub. The room and its bathroom were spacious, clean and absolutely beautiful. The owners do it all and then some. We will definitely return for more than an overnight. HIGHLY recommend Thyme at the Tavern.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a good pub with hotel rooms, the rooms are clean and tidy with reasonable options on the menu for dinner, a great breakfast to start your day, overall good value and worth a look

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattturner101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
0.7 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chertsey
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
0.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hamilton's - B&B
Hamilton's - B&B
#1 of 5 in Chertsey
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Coach and Horses
#3 of 5 in Chertsey
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thyme at the Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thyme at the Tavern

Address: 20 London Street, Chertsey KT16 8AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chertsey
Price Range: $112 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thyme at the Tavern 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thyme at the Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thyme At The Tavern Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing