We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster”
Review of THORPE PARK Resort

THORPE PARK Resort
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$46.61*
and up
THORPE PARK Resort Admission Ticket with Meal Deal
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Chertsey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With over 30 thrilling rides, attractions and live events, THORPE PARK Resort is an island like no other and the UK's must-visit destination to share endless fun with family and friends. THORPE PARK Resort has hotel accommodation available for booking at the THORPE SHARK Hotel which is only minutes walk from the action. Rooms sleep up to 4 persons. During Summer season THORPE PARK Resort has its very own beach and paddling pool with beach huts available to rent. NEW for 2017 is the multi-award winning Derren Brown's Ghost Train: Rise Of The Demon, designed by the master of illusion, Derren Brown himself.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disaster”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Thorpe park previous to this and had an ok time not brilliant but ok. We came here for the fright nights prices were higher than usual because of this. I was really excited about going thinking it might be something like what they do at universal studios at Halloween! No! Clearly they had allowed too many people in therefor in 7 hours we manage to get on 3 rides ! We queued in one line for nearly 3 hours. After that we decided to try the swarm as it wasn't one of the Halloween special rides. This had a technical fault which no one bothered to let people in line know. Queue time said 30 mins and we waited for an hour and a half. The whole day was a complete waste of time and money! I complained ( there was another queue of complaints ) they said no refunds but would give me free tickets! I would never ever go back so did not accept. The worst part really was the horror mazes all the money Thorpe park make they couldn't even make a decent scary maze. Hope this helps anyone thinking of going to the fright nights save yourself the time and money

Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your visit to THORPE PARK in 2013.

During FRIGHT NIGHT's, we appreciate it can be busy and for this reason we are open for a full 12 hours to allow out guests the chance to enjoy all attractions. In addition to this our horror mazes are included in the entrance price at no extra cost, give our visitor extra value for money. We would strongly recommend arriving for our opening time of 10am to ensure you experience all our attractions.

See you again soon at THORPE PARK Resort!
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,349
    2,041
    1,136
    694
    853
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Find another Theme Park”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We went for a day out with our daughter and friend only to find half the rides didn't work, we couldn't get out the car park, and the photos cut your heads off. The whole place was tired and dirty and this is after a winter closure. What did they do? Nothing by the look of it. We went to buy doughnuts (£5 for 5) and the machine broke, plus the girl serving had an ear hole where the ring had been removed and it put me right off. Good job at that price. The Stelph Ride broke down three times while we queued, and the 40 minute wait was over 90 minutes. Nemesis was broken down, Saw broke during the day, Samurai was broke, and Rush broke down. Amity Fish and Chips didn't exist, and we told our kids we would meet them there!!! The map is horrendous to read. The parking barrier machines broke, and so many people hadn't paid before the barrier, why not put people in a kiosk, there was three there anyway!! I spent more time trying to find a working ride, it just ruined the day. Oh, and of course, when we walked in we purchased a photo ticket for £25, giving you four items with your picture on. We ended up with four pictures from the same ride because the other rides were shut! Don't get that deal. There are better theme parks, and they are probably worth a longer drive. Certainly won't be going back to Thorpe Park......ever.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Lee

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent visit to THORPE PARK Resort.

We are sorry to read that your experience with us did not exceed your expectations.

During the winter period we invest a huge amount of resource into the existing resort infrastructure i.e. deep cleaning, painting, repairs etc in addition to having a dedicated on the day park presentations team. We are therefore disappointed you left the park with such a poor impression.

Our rides and attractions are subject to availability and can sometimes experience shutdowns, this can be due to a technical fault or guest action. Rest assured we have a dedicated team if engineers and ride staff to ensure that rides re-open as soon as possible. Our onsite Guest Services team are also on hand to assist our guests if they have any concerns and I trust you visited them on the day.

In regards to car par tickets, we sell these in advanced online, at the entrance kiosks, on park at our fastrack unit and at our Annual Pass building on exit. We also have signage to inform guests of sale points in the park. Despite this, we do still find some guests arrive at the barrier without a ticket and as I'm sure you can appreciate, this can slow down the exit procedure.

Thank you once again for providing your feedback and see you again soon at THORPE PARK Resort!

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
1 review
“IF U R IN LONDON AND HAVE KIDS NEVER MISS IT”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My kids wanted to visit Disney but we planned last summer to visit London, so I searched the net til I found this as best which i thought will entertain them. Its really a very good amusement park rides are scary nice, I never though I would dare to ride them but i did, very safe and enjoyable. But I couldn't dare to ride the STEALTH or the SAW though my 13 yrs old boy did :-).
Its really fun but the queues are extremely long, for a good ride u wait 1:30 hours so you cant enjoy all rides, they must find a way to make tickets available for 2 day, one day is never enough for Thorpe park.
Its better to book tickets online and print it to save yourself another entry queue.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Niveen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Niveen,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent visit to THORPE PARK Resort.

We love to hear when our guests have a fantastic day out so really appreciate your feedback! Next time we dare you to ride SAW!!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon at THORPE PARK Resort!

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Thorpe Park Opening Weekend.”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visit Thorpe Park regularly as we have Merlin Annual passes. This was our first visit of 2014. It was a sunny day and the park was moderately busy, bit overall the queues were not too bad.

One thing that has changed since last year is the 360 bar/grill which is located in the dome at the entrance. The drinks bar has been moved from where it was in the center of the room to the end which has made a lot more room. There is a more clearly defined eating area, where you are now shown to a table, with waitress service. This is better than the previous setup where you had to queue to order at the bar. Our food, typical theme park fayre, was fine, but the bill for a main meal and one soft drink each for four of us came to £30 even after 20% annual pass discount.

Most of the rides were operating, but I don't think Slammer was. We had a good day and will no doubt visit several more times this year. The final sting is a £5 charge to get out of the car park. Buy your parking ticket during the day from one of the Fast Track ticket stalls to avoid a queue at the end.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent visit to THORPE PARK Resort.

We love to hear when our Annual Pass holders have a fantastic day out so really appreciate your feedback! Thank you also for letting us know you like the new layout for Bar 360!

We look forward to seeing you again soon at THORPE PARK Resort!

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother with the buy one get one free absolute con”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was disgusted with the buy one get one free vouchers I got there and had to pay £48 for one ticket and then parking on top. If I had bought two tickets online without a voucher or any discounts it would have only be 2 pounds more how this is a buy one get one I have no idea its an absolute scam!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gemma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThorpeParkUKOfficial, Guest Relations Manager at THORPE PARK Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Gemma,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent visit to THORPE PARK Resort.

All ticket prices are clearly advertised to give our guests the chance to make an informed decision prior to arriving. Our online prices are exclusive to guests paying online. Guests using promotion vouchers on entrance must use these against a full price day ticket and this is made clear on the voucher terms and conditions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at THORPE PARK Resort!

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THORPE PARK Resort also viewed

 

Been to THORPE PARK Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing