We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Hamilton's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hamilton's
Ranked #1 of 4 Chertsey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Food was nice enough (though they overcooked my steak which is never a good sign) but nothing that would draw me back again and generally overpriced for what it is. Also its not acceptable to arrive at 7:30 and still be waiting for your main course at 9pm when the place was not that busy!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    38
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
12
63
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

If there ever was a website that didn't quite paint an accurate picture of the venue, then this is a good example. It describes accomdation as 'luxurious', which simply isn't true - it's clean and comfortable, but not something you'd get too excited about. The 'luxury' shower and bath toiletries again were just bog standard, so again not quite hitting the mark of the description. The ensuite was very small, and the shower unti had seen better days too, with sellotape holding one of the seals together! However, it did work which was the main thing.

On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable, and towels were very nice, and the owner called Carter was a very pleasant and welcoming chap. I didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant, which was a shame as the food is well recommended. The breakfast was good, and morning staff friendly and accomodating.

All in all, I feel the website doesn't quite provide a true picture of what you get for your money, but wouldn't be averse to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreleft94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The bottle of Hamilton's chilled sparkling water on arrival set the tone. The suite is a little climb past the terrace, but not a problem if you're travelling light. Comfy beds, clean, contemporary bathroom and furnishings, nice toiletries and lovely towels. My only regret is we didn't have time for breakfast because the restaurant looks very good. I will be back, in fact, I'd like to move in!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This felt like home to me, we had our own lounge and kitchen, the bed was very comfortable with fluffy towels provided. Coffee machine provided which was a bonus.

There is a small patio garden which we used to read our newspapers before checking out.

The staff were very accommodating and parking was provided at the back of the hotel. Good breakfast the next day and a late check out made our trip all the more relaxing. If I am ever back in that area I will definitely be booking this place again.

Room Tip: I would request a back room due to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsFielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here for one night on a Saturday as we were going to Thorpe Park during the day and a ministry of sound event in the evening. Upon check in we were informed that we were upgraded to the best room which was a suite at the top of the building. The suite was really lovely and had everything you could need, including a small kitchenette. Everything was also spotlessly clean.
However, it is a shame the staff did not reciprocate this quality of the room. Despite being very friendly to other guests we were disappointed in how patronising the manager was towards us because he was concerned we would have a party. We are two young adults who are extremely responsible and considerate. We were even ignored at breakfast by him and upon leaving he ran up the stairs to check we hadnt ruined the room or thrown the tv out the window.


PROS:
Very close to Thorpe Park (A taxi costs £6)
Wifi and Virgin media in room
Very clean and decorative rooms

CONS:
Ran out of loo roll, no spare
Didn't have enough towels in the room for two people

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evenstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at Hamilton's for one night whilst working in the local area.
Check In was great, a very friendly gentleman checked me in (I'd guess the owner) and showed me to my room. He gave me advice on where to eat and drink on a Monday night as the restaurant does not open on a Monday. I was also given a large bottle of water for my room which was a very nice touch.
My double room was very modern, with iron & ironing board as well as a Tassimo coffee machine which was a welcome addition and excellent idea. The wifi signal throughout was excellent and allowed me to get on with some work in the evening. The bathroom was very clean, small but large enough for one person. The shower was very good and towels provided were excellent - much better than a standard hotel.
The only downside of my stay was the bed - it was very comfortable but was a small double. I'm 6'2" and the bed was shorter than a normal double meaning my f

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsnsjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not only was the room very comfortable with an excellent bed but the service was exceptional. The Wi-Fi worked in the room and we could park a car.Coupled with a reasonably priced restaurant below serving great food. Just what was wanted after a hard day in London.
Definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at front over road but it did not seem busy. Our room at the back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
0.8 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
578 reviews
2.4 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,041 reviews
3.1 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton's

Property: Hamilton's
Address: Windsor House 23 Windsor Street, Chertsey KT16 8AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton's 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamilton's occupies a corner site on Windsor Street that combines Luxurious Accommodation and Brasserie with innovative design throughout. Intimate in size, Hamilton's has one dining room and a delightful outside dining area both suited for private parties - Maximum of 30 covers seating capacity. Hamilton's has a contemporary and charismatic feel. Perfect for cosy dinner parties, Hamilton's can cater for small Business lunches, birthdays, christenings, engagement parties and celebrations of every kind. This is the perfect venue to host your special occasion - whether it is a lavish wedding breakfast or an intimate dinner for two. We will guarantee a cosy and intimate setting and help in every way to give you and your guests a wonderful and memorable time! Opening times: Tuesday to Saturday open for breakfast & dinner For special bookings, we are flexible to open on Sundays and Mondays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hamilton's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton's Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing