We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and the River Thames”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
livingston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfort and the River Thames”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Bridge Hotel,very comfortable spacious rooms and beds too.Booked 2 rooms 1 for 2 of us & 1 for my mother both equipped with walk in wet room bathrooms ideal for disabled and adjoining rooms.Breakfast was excellent and full choice available.Dined outside in the garden next to the river food was good and served with a smile .
Could not fault Hotel stay .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinkat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi vinkat1
Thank you for your review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    210
    140
    64
    38
See reviews for
107
227
23
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed at this hotel with a group of friends, eight in total. Great location, central for just about everything, including Mercedes Benz World and Brooklands Museum. Our room overlooked the river so lovely views of swans and ducklings. However, there is no air conditioning in the hotel and, at 32 degrees and 80% humidity, it was like a sauna! When we mentioned this to the lady on reception, she said there was no need for air con as hot weather was extremely rare. Really?? Public toilet areas were dirty on arrival Sat afternoon and still dirty when we checked out Sunday lunchtime. Staff were lovely and helpful in the breakfast room but very understaffed. Meals looked pretty awful so we decided to eat at The Kingfishers Arms over the bridge next door to the hotel. Had a great meal there with excellent service. Tried to order a drink back at the hotel but bar closes at 11! Never stayed at a hotel where the bar closes. Thought this was a little odd. Don't think we would stay there again. an over-priced, grubby hotel.

Room Tip: Our room seemed to be the best. This was on the second floor overlooking the river. Just a warning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hi Denise B
Thank you for your candid review

I do understand your comments regarding the heat over the summer however it is important to note that we do not advertise we have air conditioning. The heatwave that we found ourselves in is unpresidented

I am sorry that you didnt get to try the food - we have a great menu that has enjoyed favourable reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chertsey hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Redditch England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Room was clean and adequate with small fan as no air conditioning. The breakfast was plentiful, and Bernadette and Ann couldn't of been more helpful, in fact I was asking directions to Thorpe park and one of the ladies offered me a lift there, which I think you will agree is above and beyond.
Hotel is lovely an comfortable, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: By the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieRedditchEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi JulieRedditchEngland

Thank you for your review, I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently spent couple of nights here. It's in a great location right next to River Thames. Check-in was quick and easy. Plenty of free parking in hotels own 2 storey car park. Our room was on the ground floor over looking the water inlet from river. Lovely little balcony. Shame there were only 2odd dining chairs out there and not couple of nice garden chairs. The room was a good size with plenty of storage. Queensize bed with Hypnos Mattress. Unfortunately this proved to be totally unsuitable for us as it was very, very firm. We both had very little sleep and ended up with a bad back. Obviously this is just our opinion as we prefer a medium firm mattress. But getting 2 nights of little sleep didn't really make our weekend stay here good. Pillows left a lot to be desired as well. Really thin and flimsy. One was so bad if it had been one of mine at home I would have binned it. They were more like the cheapest budget pillow you buy off the shelf not what you would expect to find in a hotel. Bathroom was small but nicely laid out and spotlessly clean as was the room. CAUTION if you get in shower when bath is wet it's extremely slippery as I found out when I used after my husband. Also in our room when you open glass shower screen to use taps it hits against the towel shelf. Tea/coffee selection good and restocked when room was serviced. 2 bottles of water on arrival also nice. Major downside when we stayed was NO air conditioning. It was very hot and humid (28/30degrees) the public areas were lovely and air conditioned but none in room. A must when as hot as it was. Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice. Continental, cereals, fruits, hot buffet with good choice. Poached eggs were excellent and cooked to order. We ate in main restaurant on our second night and food was excellent. All the staff we met were polite and helpful. The whole hotel looked as if it had had a recent refurb and was crisp and clean everywhere we used.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devondizzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
HI slobbergob
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments

I will look into our mattress, as we have not recieved any feedback historically about them

I look forward to welcoming you on your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located if you want to visit Thorpe Park, The hotel itself is OK and the free parking and Wifi is a bonus, but the service in the retaurant could be better. The continental breakfast is very limited and the hot breakfast overpriced. The room was rather small for a family room and the rooms downstairs have a very small window, so we could not really enjoy the river view. No airconditioning is a negative.

Room Tip: Request one of the river facing room on an upper level, or one of the 3 - 4 rooms with a balcony on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilibee243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Lilibee243

Thank you for your review, was pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay.
We offer a wide selection for continental breakfast, including meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals and more - our Full English Breakfast is only £2.00 more to include a fully cooked breakfast

Regards
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and chose it as it is really close to Thorpe Park which was perfect after a drive up from Cornwall. Check in was fine and friendly enough so we dumped our stuff in the room which seemed fine after a quick look then headed for a drink in the bar, the river next to the hotel was a nice setting so we had a few then went for a walk to see what was around.
We ate out and then got back the hotel and had more of a look around the room to see really bad cleaning issues, there were cobwebs all at the top of the curtains, stains on the walls and a dead fly had been smeared along the back of the bathroom door and not been cleaned which wasn't great at all.
Despite being so close to Heathrow there was no air con which seems odd and the manual fan above the bed didn't make much difference so it was a hot restless night,
We were hoping that breakfast would make up for the poor start but it just made the whole visit worse, service was poor and it felt like staff really couldn't be bothered with us. Nothing on the continental side was covered and all the bread had gone hard on the top, cups had ground coffee bits in them and crockery wasn't clean and we asked for a cooked breakfast without some items but it turned up with everything and eggs were under or overcooked from our requests. The milk was warm as we had a cereal as a result of not eating all the breakfast so that was left.
We mentioned all of these problem at check out but didn't speak to a manager which was offered as we'd frankly had enough but also wanted to get to Thorpe Park in good time.
We have stayed here years ago and it was very good but this visit was really disappointing and will definitely be our last.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi simws

Thank you for your review, it was disappointing to read the comments regarding our housekeeping, needless to say that corrective actions have been put in place and retraining of the housekeeper has been carried out

I am surprised by your feedback regarding our breakfast which has always receieved very high praise - your comments have been passed onto our Head Chef & Restaurant team

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had occasion to stay there for 3 nights. Unfortunatelly i got hotel just tigh to kitchen fan. It was loud and smelly. It was stuffy and hot inside room without open window. I had to choose to not sleep because of noise and smell or because of hot temperature.

What's more, room was not clean enough, i did not get new shampoo and shower gel after i used old ones. Safety Deposit Box was not working (error message when try to do anything). Iron was dirty.

When I asked for fan, receptionist promised me one delivered but it was never delivered.

Overall, hotel was not bad but It could be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pphase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi pphase
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that the extractor fan disturbed your sleep - we have instigated a full service of the fan systems to dampen the noise

Regards
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
1.5 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Anchor Hotel
The Anchor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel Weybridge
2.2 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Property: The Bridge Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Chertsey KT16 8JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for comfortable accommodation in 3 star hotels, family-friendly hotels or riverside restaurants in Chertsey and Surrey? You've come to the right place. Take a stroll out to the riverside bar and terrace, order a cappuccino or a drink. Then settle down to enjoy the views of the Thames, the historic Chertsey Bridge and the green fields beyond. Allow us to spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing