We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable overnight stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable overnight stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Check in was quick, efficient and friendly, we booked a river view room on the top floor, and on entering it we were most impressed.

A lovely room, clean, spacious with adequate drawers and hanging space, tea and coffe making facilities and FREE WiFi.

The bathroom was of adequate size and clean.

We did not need an evening meal as we had visited relatives for Sunday lunch.

The view was really lovely and the next morning after a good nights sleep, we watched with interest as 2 Great Crested Grebes were busy nest building, dragging large bits of branches behind them. Green Parakeets were 'singing' in the trees and Swans, and Ducks were swimming around.

The weather could have been better but the skies later on so we went for a walk along the river before check out.

The car park was under cover and just a few steps away.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again as we intend to visit the Brooklands Museum, Weybridge, we did go to have a look at the Concorde at the entrance, which was previously at the entrance to London Heathrow Airport, but with limited time available to us we will have to make it another day.

Checkout was quick and friendly....................a great place to stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi welltravelled1943
Thank you for your review, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us
We are very fortunate to surrounded by amazing wildlife such as the Grebes, Parakeets, Swans and the Kingfishers

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    205
    137
    62
    36
See reviews for
104
220
22
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Have just spent few days in the bridge hotel Chertsey with my 15 year old grandson. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Room was decorated well and beds extremely comfortable. Free WiFi and plenty of drink making facilities and supplies. No complaints and river Thames on doorstep amazing walks ideal central location for historic and leisurely activities.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roamergirl51sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi roamergirl51sc

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and for your kind words about the team - I was delighted to read your kind comments

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Checking in was very easy and quick as I had already booked online. No mention of needing a charge card for extras. Going up to the room we did notice the tired paintwork but the next morning had painters at work. Initial view of room 115 was good - clean and spacious. Bathroom was clean but not enough toiletries for two people, just small soap - shower gel and shampoo. The rooms window frame was damaged so wasn't sure about room security as a fire exit walkway is directly outside the window. The extractor fans exhausts are right next to the room so there was a humming noise most of the time through the single glaze window. The hotel should replace the window with a new double glazing unit. Would I stay in the hotel again? maybe but would ask not to be in room 115 unless the fan noise has been overcome. Quality of the dinner in the evening was very good and so was the cooked breakfast but not much choice on the very small buffet area for fruit etc.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi nautique
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback, especially from well seasoned travellers such as yourself

I have reviewed the toiletries with my Head Housekeeper and we are now looking to improve our supplies to the rooms.

Since your stay we have had the extractor fans serviced and this has reduced the humming noise on the roof

Regards
Neil Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotels picture on its own website and late-rooms looked rather great.
I visited the hotel checking in on Monday 21st April and checked out the next morning and I am glad I did!

The first impressions were great.

Check in was a little long winded at around 6pm filling out details, signing for the room key.
We were told where the bar and restaurant was and how to get to the room it all looked rather promising! The only thing I wasn’t happy about was the validation on check in to add extras to our room if required. They should have said “Would you like to have a charge card” and not forced one onto me. The hotel validated my card for £70 for extras. I was not happy about this!

The ground floor corridor leading to the elevators smelled like Brussels sprouts, not to pleasing for the nose. After reading this hotel had undergone a major refurbishment we thought our room would be rather nice. So we have two choices, either the lift or stairs to room 201!

The lift opened and it looked like something from a horror movie, scratched walls, dingy paint slow opening doors and a rather horrid fluorescent light. I was forced into this lift which took around a minute to reach our floor. Very un nerving.

We entered the room which was rather large in size plenty of space in the room with two chairs in both corners, and a small table. Two bedside drawers and lamps (The right hand side bulb wasn't working) and tea, coffee ect. It all looked nice.

The window latch was broken (See pictures) the bed was dusty (Top of bed and drawers) the TV picture frames and fan in the room all covered in dust and there were stains on the floor (See pictures again)
Now as I have asthma you can see the problem here, I used a wet cloth and wiped everything myself, not really what you want to be doing at night when you check in to the hotel.

The bathroom towels were not even clean and had marks on them and the extra bed cover, and pillows were yellow and also had no covers on them... we were definitely NOT using them!

Check out at this hotel is at 11am so can someone please tell us why housekeeping were banging on the door (REALLY LOUDLY) at 9:30am want to clean the room? We spoke loudly with a yes!? And then they told us they would come back later...REALLY? So much for a lie in! This is ridiculous; you don't get that anywhere else or at any other hotel.

The bathroom was also dirty and covered in dust, the shower head was rusted and the toilet was stained black in parts and the towels were dirty (Had marks on them)

Anyway we didn't eat at the restaurant so we can't rate that however we did complain in the morning and even took the disgusting dusty towel to reception.

The Receptionist went to get the manager and she apologized, as we had decided to tell them in the morning...The manager however wasn't so apologetic.

The woman came out and stated that she was sorry for the room being dirty and that they would get the housekeeping team "re-trained" which we all know is a term for 'Nothing' Iv'e worked in the hotel industry too! She then stated that we should have put a do not disturb sign on the door (Which wasn't in the room) so that one failed. They did tell us that if we were to go back we would be given a free upgrade to a new room... I'm presuming they clean those ones?

Just for the record we will NOT be going back to this hotel and nor would we recommend this hotel to anyone in the future. We believe the room was worth of a re-fund but that clearly was nowhere in sight!

Ratings 5* Great – 1* poor:

Room Cleanliness: *
(Unclean room in all aspects)

Value for money: **
(Cleanliness and hotel poor)

Location: ***
(Good location about 10 minute walk to city centre)

Staff friendliness: **
(Should be friendly and helpful. Staff were quite forceful at check in)

Quality of sleep: **
(Uncomfortable pillows and dirty extra quilt)

**The reason we have stated what happened at reception in the morning is because most of the other reviews have had a reply by the hotel manager/reception dismissing almost all of the claims about the hotel. As a result pictures of the dust and room are provided as evidence**

Room Tip: Ask for a new room if you choose to stay. Room 201 is close to banging doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DexxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi Gearedupevents

Thank you for your review - it is clear from your feedback and internal investigation that we really let ourselves, and you down on your visit - there are no excuses for this

Through your feedback we have identified the issues that led to your disappointing stay and have taken strong measures to rectify this, including a more robust method of checking rooms and extensive retraining of the housekeeper responsible

Regards
Neil Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chertsey hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

First of all, it's expensive. Yes it's inside the M25 so corporate policies mean it usually can charge the same as the City - but it isn't the City and should be priced appropriately.

Second - soap. I might be a tight yorkshireman, but by eck, no chance of a second shower with the toiletries they provide. It would be better to provide none and be clear about it than supply something that is so small that you couldn't even wash a singular testicle before it ran out.

It was however clean, fresh towels and free wifi. Staff were helpful ( which was lucky as the door card failed three times before I got into a room ) and the car park is covered and free.

Breakfast could do with being more than a cold continental selection - but at least it seemed fresh.

Maybe I just expect more for the price ?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi Elisedriver

Thank you for your review and comments regarding your stay
I was pleased to read through your review and share your comments with the team

At Breakfast we offer a plated hot breakfast which is cooked fresh to order
With regards to your comments on the soap - I will review our supply with my Head Housekeeper

Once again, thank you for your review

Regards
Neil Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Booked this hotel through late rooms.com for £54 for the night for a standard double room, after deciding not to pay the extra £10 for the river view room option. When we got there we parked in the free multi-story car park next door and checked in only to find that they had put us in a river view room for no extra charge, which was much appreciated.

The room was very spacious and clean and, much to my wife's great pleasure, had balcony doors that we could open (my wife suffers with asthma and likes to have a window open when she sleeps). The bed was very comfortable and there was a flat screen TV with all of the usual digital channels.

The bathroom was a little tired looking but perfectly OK and the shower was strong and constant hot water so no complaints there. The toilet was a little reluctant to flush on occasion but our only real complaint was that the toilet rolls were both on the low side when we got in the room with no full spares to be seen (a liability when you have a wife that goes through toilet paper like locusts go through a cornfield).

After checking in we went down to the bar for a nightcap before bed and had a couple of drinks which were average bar prices. The bar was quite nice and I would imagine on a nice evening would be busy with doors opening out on to the riverside walk next to the hotel.

We decided not to book the breakfast at £9 each for full english, so we never experienced the food or service in the restaurant so we cannot comment on that. As other reviews have commented, the staff seemed very friendly and well spoken too.

All in all, we had a comfortable but brief stay for very little money so we had no complaints and would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi Andy B

Thank you for your feedback I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Regards
Neil Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Rude
Poor manners
Uncomfortable bed
Blocked sink
Not worth the money!
Tried to get room service but it wasn't available after later check in, leaving us hungry till the next day!
Also wouldn't even give a glass with ice without buying a drink, unreasonable after spend £98 a night on a room
I'd never stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi Vicky A

Thank you for your review, I am very surprised by your comments

You have mentioned a later check in, our Restaurant and Room service serves until 21.45hrs - I can only assume that your check in later than this?

Having reviewed our Housekeeping and Maintenance logs I cannot find any reference to a blocked sink either reported to us or found by the Housekeeper

I would like to offer that you contact me at the hotel directly to discuss in detail your feedback

Regards
Neil Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
1.5 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Anchor Hotel
The Anchor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel Weybridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Property: The Bridge Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Chertsey KT16 8JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for comfortable accommodation in 3 star hotels, family-friendly hotels or riverside restaurants in Chertsey and Surrey? You've come to the right place. Take a stroll out to the riverside bar and terrace, order a cappuccino or a drink. Then settle down to enjoy the views of the Thames, the historic Chertsey Bridge and the green fields beyond. Allow us to spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing