We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and tidy basic hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy basic hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for two nights in late August 2013 at The Bridge Hotel. The staff were warm and welcoming. The rooms were basic and clean. Breakfast on Friday morning was waitress service. On Saturday morning the breakfast was buffet style. There was everything from cereal, pastries and a full English. However, on the Saturday most of the full English was overcooked. I overheard a member of staff say that the Chef was late and had missed his train. The bar was a little overpriced. What was a disappointment was you could not buy a drink from the hotel bar or charge it to your room after 11pm. This was disappointing. Having traveled over 5 hours to get to the hotel we could not get a drink after 11pm. Would I stay here again. Perhaps not.

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2 and 3 have a small patio that overlook the river but no chairs and table on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and I am sorry to hear you were upset by our bar closing hours - we would have been perfectly happy to give you drinks to take to your room. I hope you will visit us again and I look forward to seeing you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    210
    140
    64
    38
See reviews for
107
227
23
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. The reception was very friendly and helpful, the hotel clean, modern and the rooms spacious with plug in fans to use. The only thing we could say is that it would have been lovely to have had an in room fridge. Very close to Thorpe Park a few miles away. Fab bar and resturant on site and not far from others by car. Lifts to all floors too. Will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisewonderer1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and I hope we see you again very soon

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've stayed here a few times with work. The rooms are very nice, and especially those overlooking the river. There is a beer garden which has had a lot of use this summer, and my only complaint is that the food is average at best.
Some odd combinations on the menu, and even the basics aren't done very well.
The rooms really are very comfortable though, and there is a reasonable choice of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChalkysChum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments about The Bridge and especially our setting. I am sorry you didnt enjoy our food - we cater to a massively diverse market and, try as we might, we do on occasion fail to hit the expectations of some. The high volume of diners we get does suggest that we are doing something right but we are always receptive to requests for dishes that dont appear on the menu, so please never be afraid to ask.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great value hotel in a peaceful location next to the historic Chertsey Bridge. Easy check-in and ok rooms though the River View we had was lovely.

Location -10 minutes by taxi from Thorpe Park and attached to the hotel is The Boat House restaurant and pub with an outside area next to the river. Very nice and reasonably priced. Over the bridge is a nice pub/restaurant too called 'The Kingfisher' - Chertsey town centre is a 20 minute walk (there were no taxi's available - be warned it is a small town).

You pay for what you get and this is not a luxury hotel. However it is a good value for money, well run, clean hotel in a peaceful location (perfect for the aftermath of the madness of Thorpe Park !!)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. We are blessed with a lovely location and being so close to Thorpe Park is a big bonus. I do agree about the difficulties in getting Taxis - it can be very frustrating.

I look forward to seeing you again soon at The Bridge

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Planning a family reunion,and thinking about booking some rooms and a function i thought i would
have a meal and test the quality of the food.Not being from the area and having used the restaurant a couple of years ago when food was good and seeing their upgrade and investment in the buisness was looking forward to a nice meal.We had 3 meals all were hot meals which you dont normaly serve on cold plates,the chips were more like potato wedges that had been microwaved and were soft and soggy.One of us had battered fish which tasted like it had been cooked in dirty burnt oil and the hand carved ham was only a thick slice of supermarket ham,the meals all poor quality and bad value for price.The staff were polite and gave good service but did not seem surprised about complaints,Was offered free coffee,but not a lot of good if your still hungry only having eaten half a meal.Can not review hotel as now will not be useing it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_CS6665BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to The Bridge and I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us.

I can assure you that our chips are not microwaved - they are "chunky" chips (hence the wedge-like shape) which are handcut and twice cooked. The oil for our fryers is changed daily but the beer batter used for the fish does contain freshly milled black pepper which might explain any appearance of "burnt" flecks and our ham - listed on the menu as "Two thick slices of hand carved honey roast ham" is supplied by Thatcham butchers of Newbury which we roast on site.

I fully understand and accept that not everyone enjoys the food put in front of them and expectations vary from diner to diner, I do feel it is important though to clarify though that the food served to you was as described on the menu.

Many thanks again for writing and I hope you did find somewehere for your family reunion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chertsey hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here 16 and 17 August 2013. I read previous reviews - mixed - so went prepared to ask for different room if necessary - and it was. We were given 203, lovely view (joke) of car park - weather was hot, room was like a sauna, very noisy with window open and ceiling fan did not work. Judging by the very thick layer of dust on the fan it must have been broken for a very long time. I immediately asked for different room - given number 9 on ground floor, nice view of river, much cooler on ground floor and rear, shaded side of hotel - no ceiling fan in here but desk fan in room, which we left on during the night, and that was fine. No safe in this room. Nice room, comfy bed, good bathroom. BUT - you cannot open the window in this room because growing immediately outside the window is a large foliage plant, resembles the potted 'cheeseplant' often found indoors - but this plant absolutely STINKS and as soon as the window is opened the awful smell pervades the whole room. I notified this to reception who said they would speak to the gardener - this plant should definitely be removed. We found the staff very pleasant, friendly and service good. Breakfast, buffet hot and cold, very good. Food in restaurant overpriced - we had a shared meat platter of ribs, chicken etc that was reasonable at £12-95 and that was surprisingly good as a snack for two, but a full meal would have been overpriced so automatically disappointing. We found the lager at £4-15 a pint overpriced too, but surprisingly got a quite decent bottle of wine for £16-95, not out of the way for a hotel. Car parking was immediately adjacent to the hotel so very convenient, but the marked spaces were extremely narrow

Room Tip: If it's hot, ask for room on ground floor, overlooking river - but do not take room 9 unless the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your comments and I am glad we were able to "cool" you down sufficiently!

If I can clear up the issue of the smelly plant - it is in fact a fig tree which in normal circumstances has a fragrant aroma, but this one was apparently attracting wildlife and the pungent odours were a result of this! Thankfully it now smells of ripening figs again!

I look forward to wecoming you back to The Bridge in the near future

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. The room was great and clean but was very hot. The fan provided was small and did nothing to reduce the temperature. We asked for another the following day but this proved to be equally ineffective, though placed right next to me on the bedside table. The fan was also covered in dust and had evidently been found in a storage cupboard somewhere. Very odd as they have had this problem before this summer and had biught new fans.

We went out on the Friday night but decided to eat in the hotel on the Saturday night. The restaurant was very busy, and noisy, so we decided to have room service. Problems:

1. No menu in the room.
2. Called room service, no answer.
3. Called reception, no answer.

We went down stairs and ordered at the restaurant counter. The staff here were clearly run off their feet trying to cope. There was no one on reception at all. The wife had to go back down to pay but again there was no one on reception. When one of the restaurant staff got a receptionist from the back room she began listening but was then interrupted by another member of staff wanting a taxi. She then ignored my wife to deal with this enquiry and then abandoned her and went back into the room behind reception, never to return.

The food arrived quickly and was of a high quality. The waiting staff were very helpful, courteous and over worked.

To sum up:

The room was great, much better than a Travelodge. The heat was not a great issue as plenty of other hotels are exactly the same when it comes to providing adequate cooling. What really annoyed us was the lack of assistance from the reception staff and the failure to answer the phones. I am a diabetic and was in urgent need of a meal, as my blood sugars were very low but became very frustrated at the poor service when trying to order.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to record your experience with us and I am truly sorry that your room service experience was so disappointing. The hotel was, as you rightly say, extremely busy but that should not have resulted in the delays you experienced and I again apologise for this. It was very kind of you to draw attention to the positives of your stay and I thank you most kindly for this.
I do hope we will be able to welcome you to The Bridge again in the future and please accept my best wishes to you both

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chertsey
1.5 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chertsey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Anchor Hotel
The Anchor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel Weybridge
2.2 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Property: The Bridge Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Chertsey KT16 8JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chertsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chertsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for comfortable accommodation in 3 star hotels, family-friendly hotels or riverside restaurants in Chertsey and Surrey? You've come to the right place. Take a stroll out to the riverside bar and terrace, order a cappuccino or a drink. Then settle down to enjoy the views of the Thames, the historic Chertsey Bridge and the green fields beyond. Allow us to spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Hotel Chertsey, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing