We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay, with lovely hosts.”

South Newlands Farm
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Newlands Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 Riccall B&B and Inns
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay, with lovely hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

South Newlands Farm is the ideal stop off for a tourist visit to York.
I booked for a three night break and enjoyed every minute of my stay with Peggy & Rod in their lovely farmhouse.
Atmosphere was great. Very relaxed and welcoming. Loads of chit-chat from Peggy & Rod who made the stay so enjoyable.
Peggy's breakfasts are real belly-busters, and the guests sit at a large farmhouse kitchen table and natter over their full Yorkshire breakky!
Great value, Great people, Great location, Great stay. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Always best with en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selbyhappytravelers, Owner at South Newlands Farm, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for giving us such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I am working in York for a few months and have stopped at a few over-priced establishments in the City centre. It made a change to stop at a reasonably priced B&B with great hosts in a nice quiet location. Although South Newlands is 10 miles south of York it is easy to get to and is just a few hundred yards from the A19. I shall be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZKLTSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selbyhappytravelers, Owner at South Newlands Farm, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to meeting you again.
Kindest regards.
Peggy and Rod.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I needed a place to stay for one night while picking my son up from York the following day. Travelling alone, Newlands Farm offered better value than a discounted room at Travellodge, and included breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying here! The hosts were professional but also very sweet, kind and helpful. They had 2 Bearded Collies who were the official greeters...we loved them, as well. The location was convenient to York(North) and Selby(South). The little village of Ricall was very close and they had 2 very nice restaurants. Our favorite was the Italian restaurant, owned and run by Italians.
The rooms were very comfortable, had wi-fi, the breakfast were made to order and they had plenty of space to walk around the property or to just chill out inside.
My husband somehow forgot a new cap he had bought and Peggy mailed it to us! What a nice gesture!

Room Tip: Some rooms had their own bathroom, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Well, are we glad we found this B & B, Rod & Peggy were the perfect hosts nothing was too much trouble, comfortable accommodation,great breakfasts real Yorkshire hospitality keep it up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6mazda6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Highly recommended. Peggy and Rod are very hospitable and nothing is too much trouble. Great breakfast. Rural location but only a couple of miles to York Park and Ride makes this an ideal base to visit York. Two decent pubs in village, excellent Italian restaurant and we understand a good Indian Restaurant in village, so no shortage of places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer0744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Peggy and Rod made every to effort to ensure that my husband and I along with our three boys had a really enjoyable break at South Newlands Farm, they are naturally fine hosts. South Newlands farm is beautifully kept and offers the best of both worlds as it is situated in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside but is only a 15 minute drive into the wonderful city of York. This B&B is certainly not one to be missed, we are already planning our return trip....

Room Tip: Good local pubs within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseigoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riccall
4.1 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
8.8 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dairymans Cottage B&B
Dairymans Cottage B&B
#1 of 5 in Riccall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Owl Hotel
The Owl Hotel
#2 of 9 in Selby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oakwood Lodges
Oakwood Lodges
#2 of 3 in Selby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#6 of 9 in Selby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Newlands Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Newlands Farm

Property: South Newlands Farm
Address: South Newlands Farm Selby Road | York, Riccall YO19 6QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Riccall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Riccall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — South Newlands Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our quite, comfortable, and friendly Bed and breakfast and self catering cottages. Our B&B has en-suite rooms bed rooms, a visitors lounge and gardens to wander round, whilst the 3 bedroomed self catering cottages are set in 2 acres of garden and ideal for our guests with mobility issues, being fully wheelchair accessable . Short breaks are available in the cottages as well as longer periods. Just 20 minutes drive from York with its wealth of history and many attractions. The market town of Selby and its beautiful Abbey is just 3 miles away. The Moors and Dales an hours drive. The undiscovered Yorkshire Wolds even nearer. an ideal base to explore Yorkshire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your South Newlands Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Newlands Farm Riccall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing