We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South Newlands Farm B&B”

South Newlands Farm
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Newlands Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 Riccall B&B and Inns
Los Lunas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“South Newlands Farm B&B”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying here! The hosts were professional but also very sweet, kind and helpful. They had 2 Bearded Collies who were the official greeters...we loved them, as well. The location was convenient to York(North) and Selby(South). The little village of Ricall was very close and they had 2 very nice restaurants. Our favorite was the Italian restaurant, owned and run by Italians.
The rooms were very comfortable, had wi-fi, the breakfast were made to order and they had plenty of space to walk around the property or to just chill out inside.
My husband somehow forgot a new cap he had bought and Peggy mailed it to us! What a nice gesture!

Room Tip: Some rooms had their own bathroom, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Well, are we glad we found this B & B, Rod & Peggy were the perfect hosts nothing was too much trouble, comfortable accommodation,great breakfasts real Yorkshire hospitality keep it up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6mazda6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Highly recommended. Peggy and Rod are very hospitable and nothing is too much trouble. Great breakfast. Rural location but only a couple of miles to York Park and Ride makes this an ideal base to visit York. Two decent pubs in village, excellent Italian restaurant and we understand a good Indian Restaurant in village, so no shortage of places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer0744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Peggy and Rod made every to effort to ensure that my husband and I along with our three boys had a really enjoyable break at South Newlands Farm, they are naturally fine hosts. South Newlands farm is beautifully kept and offers the best of both worlds as it is situated in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside but is only a 15 minute drive into the wonderful city of York. This B&B is certainly not one to be missed, we are already planning our return trip....

Room Tip: Good local pubs within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseigoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

This was our 2nd stay in Pound Cottage. We have booked to return in the summer and autumn 2011. Peggy and Rod are so friendly and helpful. Most welcoming. Well equiped comfortable accomodation where my elderly mother feels at home too. Highly recommended and excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelvinKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Thanks so much Peggy and Rod for your hospitality! We had a wonderful time at South Newlands Farm and are lookinf very forward to your visit to Florida in the winter! We really enjoyed our evening with you guys, Jeanne and David and Paul and Sandra! What a treat that was...adn amazing food!
The place was exactly what we needed at the end of a busy day of sightseeing! Perfect location...perfect amenities!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calgontakemeaway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We had been looking for a pleasant, warm, comfortable and quiet place to stay for a February week in between moving out of one York house and into another. We had just got married, and wanted independent living, while experiencing a 'holiday' feel. South Newlands Farm(Copper Cottage) fully fitted the bill. We liked the large rooms - the lounge was comfy, the kitchen well equipped, with some nice extra touches such as tea bags, sugar, dishwasher tablets and a very tasty home-made cake waiting in the fridge. The cottage felt detached from the other two cottages, and from the owners' farm: But Peggy and Rod were in any case really friendly and obliging folk. The stay here helped make our house move a relatively pleasant one; it had a real get-away-from-it-all quality. As we were York-based, we were happy to be somewhere different. If you are not worried about the distance from York, you can often get better value for money outside the city. That applied in this case, although we were off-season, giving lower cost. Riccall has pubs with a local feel, plus at least two nice restaurants, in the Spice Mill (Indian, good dishes, including some unusual ones, but we were ridiculously made to wait one hour past our booking time), and the newly-reopened Italian, Per Bacco, which was very friendly, with nice, home-cooked food. Finally, South Newlands Farm has excellent facilities for the disabled.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riccall
3.9 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
9.1 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dairymans Cottage B&B
Dairymans Cottage B&B
#1 of 5 in Riccall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Owl Hotel
The Owl Hotel
#2 of 9 in Selby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oakwood Lodges
Oakwood Lodges
#2 of 3 in Selby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#6 of 9 in Selby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Newlands Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Newlands Farm

Property: South Newlands Farm
Address: South Newlands Farm Selby Road | York, Riccall YO19 6QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Riccall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Riccall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — South Newlands Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our quite, comfortable, and friendly Bed and breakfast and self catering cottages. Our B&B has en-suite rooms bed rooms, a visitors lounge and gardens to wander round, whilst the 3 bedroomed self catering cottages are set in 2 acres of garden and ideal for our guests with mobility issues, being fully wheelchair accessable . Short breaks are available in the cottages as well as longer periods. Just 20 minutes drive from York with its wealth of history and many attractions. The market town of Selby and its beautiful Abbey is just 3 miles away. The Moors and Dales an hours drive. The undiscovered Yorkshire Wolds even nearer. an ideal base to explore Yorkshire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your South Newlands Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Newlands Farm Riccall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing