We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Nice Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spice Mill

The Spice Mill
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Riccall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ricall, Yorkshire, YO19 6TJ tel. 01757 249 707 tel. 07867 578 545 email: hobib@thespice-mill.co.uk
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Nice Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Visited early on a Friday night. The food was beautifully presented, well cooked and delicious. I'm not an expert on Indian food but it was much better than any similar type restaurant I have been to in the middle of York. As other reviewers have stated, parking is easy and the circular restaurant being a old mill is circular with a nice ambience and not noisy.

THe prices always seem higher (£92 for 4 people including a couple of rounds of drinks) than equivalent restaurants but then the quality of the food is so much better .

Recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    47
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cut above the rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Another great experience at the Spice Mill. Authentic indian food, personal and friendly service in a lovely setting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rolly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agde, France
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Superb food, lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Three of us visited without booking on a Tuesday evening, there was plenty of space (and, thankfully, this meant we could converse, as when the place is full it is very loud indeed due to the room shape providing very poor acoustics). The room is lovely (around the old windmill itself) and clean. The food was absolutely superb, really wonderful, and good sized portions. It was not as long to get food as some people seem to have experienced, but that could be because the place was half empty on a Tuesday evening). I heartily recommend the fish starter (Macher Pakora) - exquisitely cooked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Whilst visiting friends we paid a visit to this lovely Indian restaurant which is set inside an old windmill. A Saturday night and people were waiting for tables. Luckily we had book and were immediately seated. The restaurant is spacious and simply laid out but everything is spotless. There is a good choice on the menu ( a good selection of fishy dishes which I particularly favour) and you're spoilt for choice. There were 7 members in our party and we ordered a selection of starters. The samosas and onion baji were so light and tasty, the best I've ever had. The main courses were equally flavoursome. The use of lots of fresh ingredients set these curries apart. If you're looking for a quick night out this isn't the place to come. With everything made fresh there is a bit of a wait between ordering and being served and also between courses. For true curry lovers its worth it. This is truly the best Indian food I've tasted in a long time. The staff were friendly and attentive. I really couldn't fault this restaurant at all. Cant wait to go backnext time we're in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely food but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

A group of visited here recently. The food is lovely, a little pricey (£10.50 main course) but happy to pay for quality . The staff are so polite and lovely but service is slow - we booked our table for 730 and got our main course at 915. Worth the wait though for great food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beartravels2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Mill also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
Selby, Selby District
 

Been to The Spice Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing