We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Botany Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
dartford
1 review
“Friendly relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We chose the Fayreness because of its position on the cliff. Wonderful views. We found the service excellent from checking in to checking out the staff are warm and friendly. Breakfast was delightful, as was lunch and dinner. Room was small, but we were informed of that, so it was expected. It's nice to have had such a lovely break.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    196
    88
    34
    19
See reviews for
157
254
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very frequent visitors ,very warm welcome always, lovely staff and food improved after going of track for a while.Hope dogs will still be welcome after refurbishment,location on cliff tops perfect for walking,and also for exploring the kent coastline.

Room Tip: Sea view executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Memphis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was our second stay at the Fayreness. We can take our Jack Russell as it is 'dog friendly' and she loved it too. We took Mum with us and she stayed in the room opposite us. Lovely rooms, great food and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We spent 3 happy days at this hotel. The position on the cliffs and beach was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We even had our room upgraded, to a sea view, FOC. We chose this hotel as it is very dog friendly and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DutchGirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Quite a small room with aukward layout and very dated, toilet and shower very narrow. Room was very noisey as a result of the kitchen being below. TV had very poor signal strength and as a result the majority of TV stations could not be watched, when this was raised with reception the fault was not fixed.
Only had a very light breakfast one morning because no one was available to take my order!
I understand that the place will be closed after Christmas for refurbishment - lets hope it is a big improvement when it opens again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've stayed here previously, and it's certainly slipped in both service and room quality. There are plans displayed for a refurbishment, so hopefully there are good times ahead.

Parking - easy parking out the front.

Check in - average.

Room - had to change rooms due to an electrical fault.

New room - better, but showing age. Bathroom quite dated with some cracked tiles, mould around the shower, and a suspiciously springy floor next to the bath. Good night sleep though.

Wifi - free

Food - good. Good breakfast.

Check out - easy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellin_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nicely situated with a view over the ocean. The rooms are good english standard, spacious and clean. Refurbished nice bathroom with daylight. Breakfast is english standard with the usual choices. My room was no. 502 top floor oceanview, can recomend it any time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsgate
2.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
3.8 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
1.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Botany Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Botany Bay Hotel

Property: The Botany Bay Hotel
Address: Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Kingsgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Botany Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the beautiful cliff top at Kingsgate Bay, The Botany Bay Hotel in Broadstairs promises a tranquil and peaceful getaway - whether it's for a long weekend, a wedding, birthday celebration or just a lunch hour. Stay in one of 30 en-suite bedrooms, enjoy a pint of real ale in the lounge bar or sample fantastic food (with a view of the sea) in one of the best restaurants in Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Botany Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayreness Hotel Kingsgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing