We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Botany Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay in The Fayreness and have to say we were pleasantly surprised. We normally stay in 4/5* establishments and had no great expectations for the two days however, we stayed in a sea view superior room with a small balcony and were very impressed - the room and bathroom were very clean and had everything that we required. The staff were very friendly and helpful and bent over backwards to accommodate our needs and absolutely loved our dog. We had a cooked breakfast delivered to our room which was plentiful and hot and the one meal we had in the bar (because we had our dog with us) was excellent. The hotel is well situated on a cliff above Botany Bay and a short walk to a pub and Kingsgate beach. The hotel is a "dog friendly" hotel and we were made to feel very welcome. Whatever you are doing keep doing it!!! We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scaffsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    205
    92
    41
    20
See reviews for
168
275
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have been staying at the Fayreness every 4 to 5 weeks since 2009. After Shepherd Neame took over there was talk of refurbishment of the restaurant, bar and the bedrooms. None of this happened, although they did announce on their web site that the bedrooms had been refurbished and quickly withdrew that after we told them they hadn't.

Things started to change from the time Shepherd Neame took over and not for the better. The menus for the bar and restaurant were combined and the specials board is now a slip of paper pinned to the other menu. We did contact them and say that the menu was now not to ours or a lot of peoples liking, and gave them comprehensive examples. The reply was dismissive. We then stopped eating at the Fayreness and either went to the Captain Digby (highly recommended), Brewers Fayre in Margate or the Smugglers Retreat at Minster in Thanet.

We noticed in the bar at night and at breakfast the next day that there were fewer corporate guests than usual. There were many more people at breakfast than had been in the bar or restaurant the night before, so where did they go to eat?

Some of experienced staff began to disappear, as did the regulars and the whole atmosphere of the place changed. The television was moved out of the main bar area to the other end of the bar, around the corner. On major footballing nights it was very quiet, and sometimes the television was not even turned on.

A major factor of us continuing to stay at the Fayreness was its position, overlooking Botany Bay and the room we always booked, which faced out to sea. Prior to our last visit we booked an additional night, by email. It took a number of emails to get the day and date right as there was a new receptionist. On arrival the cost of the 2 nights had gone up by nearly £60, which we had not been advised about. We had been enjoying a discount as a regular guest, but we told that the discount had now been reduced, as they were busier now.

We then discovered when checking on the Internet, that all of our forward bookings could be booked for considerably cheaper than we were going to be charged. We discussed this with reception but they did not seem particularly interested. Said we could ring them and then they would reduce it, it was our prerogative if we wanted to go elsewhere. We have cancelled all of our future bookings there and then and have booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Nice view but there is nothing to do here. My room was tiny, smelly, looked like my Grandma's bedroom and the TVs don't work. Dreadful customer service (not a smile or greeting from anyone in three days) and the food was awful. How they can display a "*** Breakfast Award " I do not know::mouldy brown bananas, dried-up watermelon slices, rude staff and they admitted their scrambled eggs were made from something other than egg.. I could go on...don't stay here unless you have areally good reason to do so. We moved toT he Albion in Broadstairs, SO much nicer, more polite, better rooms, service and food:for just a few pounds more.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed one Saturday night in June and that was enough! The hotel is situated in a marvellous position on cliffs overlooking the English Channel with a lovely sandy beach on the doorstep. There the positives end!

Our room was small with a small double bed but good view of the carpark. The room was drab but clean. Old-fashioned furnishings and carpet reminded us of the 50s.

The restaurant could be wonderful with great views but is, instead, lifeless and souless and cheap-looking. We ate there in the evening along with about nine other people who were spread out. The menu was very limited for all courses and printed on one side of a small piece of card. They were obviously not expecting many diners. The food was average at best but unimaginative. Service - what service?? Two young girls were our servers but apart from smiling nicely sometimes they were completely useless and clueless. No manager to be seen anywhere to direct or support them. I ordered a bottle of wine and one of the girls just brought it to the table and plonked it down unopened saying "there you go." Good job it had a screw top so I could pour myself! The meal cost £75 which was way over the top for the quantity and quality delivered.

Breakfast was interesting. Where the previous evening the restaurant was virtually empty, in the morning it was heaving with guests. Where were they for dinner? Obviously found a proper restaurant somewhere else. The cooked breakfast took twenty minutes to be delivered but was then found to be short of the black pudding. I asked the waitress (different from the evening) where it was and she said chef had one piece left but it was burnt and looked like a biscuit. No offer of an extra piece of bacon to make up for it. Other diners were complaining about their breakfasts being cold or the wrong order. Our breakfasts were rubbish being overcooked with scrambled eggs you could play tennis with. One male, mature server was surly and rude and was obviously only there to make up his pension. Again, no sign of management - must have been having a lie-in or avoiding the punters.

We checked out having experienced an interesting but very poor stay. Would we return? When England next win the football World Cup then we may consider it.

Message to owners Shepherd Neame; i) sell the hotel or, ii) employ a proper manager and staff or, iii) stick to brewing great beer and away from hotels all together.

Room Tip: Pay more, much more, and get a room with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bigboyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed in a Superior double room with sea view. The room was a little on the small side, the bathroom was very small and as a result the shower cubicle was on the small side, but aside that the room was clean and comfortable, and the view of Botany Bay was good. We had a meal from the bar menu whitebait to start followed by steak and It was very tasty and flavoursome. The drinks were a little on the dear side, but all Shepherd Neame establishments tend to be dearer than most. Had a restless night as the bed was a little uncomfortable and too small with my feet hanging off the end of the bed. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of foods and fresh fruit and cereals.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a good view of Botany Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just came back from a beautiful long weekend at this hotel, the location is lovely. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. We booked a table for our evening meal in the bar restaurant and was very disappointed! The restaurant was dull with no atmosphere, tables looked drab, and did not look that clean. Staff were walking over serviettes that were on the floor rather than pick them up! It all looked quite tatty and needs updating, although, considering there was only one waitress, service was good. Food was good but drinks at the bar were quite expensive.......£4 for a bottle of beer!! Breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly, helpful and worked hard. We would return again to the hotel, but would not use the restaurant or bar again unless things change. It does not seem to be managed as well since Shepherd Neame took over from Thorley Taverns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaygirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Fayreness Hotel was a nice surprise for what we paid. Having arrived mid-afternoon for an evening wedding reception it provided a nice start to the weekend. The staff were welcoming and the food we had as a very late lunch was good. Room wasn't huge but was perfectly fine, clean, well decorated and suited our needs. Very good choice on breakfast menu and the waiting staff very friendly and helpful. There were eight of us for breakfast with quite a varied choice ordered which arrived promptly and all at the same time. Lovely position.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill541208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsgate
1.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
502 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
177 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
695 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
356 reviews
3.8 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Botany Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Botany Bay Hotel

Property: The Botany Bay Hotel
Address: Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Kingsgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Botany Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the beautiful cliff top at Kingsgate Bay, The Botany Bay Hotel in Broadstairs promises a tranquil and peaceful getaway - whether it's for a long weekend, a wedding, birthday celebration or just a lunch hour. Stay in one of 30 en-suite bedrooms, enjoy a pint of real ale in the lounge bar or sample fantastic food (with a view of the sea) in one of the best restaurants in Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Botany Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayreness Hotel Kingsgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing