We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Botany Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great views if you want to see the sea, pleasant receiption staff, breakfast was very good - though some of the staff seem scared to smile

Room was adequate ( remember it's a 3* ) but a fair walk from receiption

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    196
    88
    34
    19
See reviews for
157
255
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights last week in a sea view double aspect room. Unfortunately it was bitterly cold which so our intentions of spending our days wandering were a bit curtailed, although we did manage to walk to Broadstairs and a couple of other local towns.
the hotel, however was lovely and warm, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had a balcony; flat screen tv; en suite with a bath and shower over and plenty of room. It really was a delightful room.
We had intended to dine out at least one night but because of the weather, (and because it was good) we stayed in the hotel for our evening meal. I was surprised to find that most of the meals are cooked fresh and that the chef was more than happy to adapt his recipes to suit. Breakfast also was excellent with a good choice on offer.
The Faireness is a pub as well as a hotel which was fine with us, we were more than happy to use the bar. We also met Chris Jordan who amongst other professions works as a DJ on a Kent radio station, (sorry Chris forget which one). Anyway he was good fun as were all the staff we met.
It wasn't until we had been there for a couple of days that I noticed that all the staff speak English, in fact they were all English; such a change from most hotels in this country where English is always a second language. It was nice not to have to use pigeon English for once.
I booked through Bookings.com but I am told you can get the same rate by booking direct with the hotel.

Room Tip: sea view was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a nice sea view room which had a balcony and furniture. Luckily the weather was quite mild.So we could use it! The room was nice with big screen t.v. Unfortunately the picture kept breaking up.But wern't too bothered.Biscuits came with the tea and coffee making facilities (a first for us)The breakfast was all you could want, Cereals,fruit and yoghurt,lots of different cooked breakfast options.I had an accident with a bottle of ketchup that shot out when opened. My ketchupy shirt was washed and dried and hung up in the room for the evening! All in all a pleasant stayI would come again as Kingsgate is a nice quiet spot.

Room Tip: The sea view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seemore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thamestrader
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The accommodation is 'good hotel' but the downstairs ambience is very much pub. The breakfast was a disappointment. The staff, male, possibly ex Military, don't do 'service', the food quality is Weatherspoon's but without the staff training. The SN establishment in Broadstairs centre is much better.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth the fiver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thamestrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our first stay at the Fayreness and will look forward to return visits. Our superior seaview double room with Juiliet balcony was clean, spacious and comfortable. The friendly staff made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The bar and restaurant served good tasty food at reasonable prices and had great seaviews. The bar area and some bedrooms are also dog friendly, and there are fantastic beaches and cliff top walks right outside the hotel. There were some very minor niggles - balcony doors quite drafty and wobbly toilet seat in en-suite, but overall an excellent and relaxing five night stay. Thankyou to all at the Fayreness.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milo1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gravesend
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed for one night in February and were not disappointed.We were in the superior suite and the view is fantastic and the room clean and spacious.Although the room and bathroom could do with some updating this did not detract from how comfortable we felt. The evening meal was superb and the restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.We have already booked the same room for later in the year as we enjoyed our stay so much and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daetslef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel many times now on business and pleasure and have never left feeling let down.
Super superior rooms with a great view if you ask and book them. This does cost a little extra but well worth it. There is a great bar area downstairs with a good local feel about the place.
Many great golf courses around you also.
Breakfast is great but I have not had an evening meal thete as I always go to the Tartar Frigate, a fantastic fish place in Broadstairs.
I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsgate
2.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
3.8 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Botany Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Botany Bay Hotel

Property: The Botany Bay Hotel
Address: Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Kingsgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Botany Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the beautiful cliff top at Kingsgate Bay, The Botany Bay Hotel in Broadstairs promises a tranquil and peaceful getaway - whether it's for a long weekend, a wedding, birthday celebration or just a lunch hour. Stay in one of 30 en-suite bedrooms, enjoy a pint of real ale in the lounge bar or sample fantastic food (with a view of the sea) in one of the best restaurants in Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Botany Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayreness Hotel Kingsgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing