We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Botany Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Reviewed September 19, 2012

On a trip through Great Britain, we stayed here one night the end of August to visit with relatives in Margate whom we'd never met before. We were very pleasantly surprised to find we had been given a seaview room with a nice little balcony and a wonderful view. The bar was very accommodating in setting up a special table for us to gather and we had a great time. We also had Sunday lunch in the beautiful dining room and the food was really good. I would not recommend the hotel for someone with disabilities though as there did not appear to be an elevator and the stairs are quite narrow and steep. For us, it was a wonderful choice and we would not hesitate to stay there again. The people were very friendly to us.

Room Tip: If you can get one, a seaview room is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 643 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stumbled upon the Fayreness yesterday evening looking for lodging for 1 night before ending our 3 week England, France, Italy vacation from the U.S. This place is the nicest so far. It sits right on the coast, Spotless rooms, Comfy bed, great food, drinks, nice walking in front, very safe, extremely friendly staff, and very reasonable. If you find the rooms are a bit higher than you want to spend go ahead and pay the extra. ITS WORTH IT!! This made our trip so much nicer to end our journey. If you can get it try the "Honeymoon Suite". You'll wake to a beautiful sunset view and have a cup of tea or coffee (already in the room to make) to sit and sip and listen to the sounds of seagulls, birds, and breath in the crisp ocean air. This place is an 11 out of 10. Oh and DONT fly RYANAIR in Europe. They ripped us off! Charged us 60 Euro each to print boarding passes for a 100 Euro flight.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TejyaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Booked via booking.com and got a really good price and was even more impressed when on arriving at the hotel was informed that we had been upgraded to a room with a seaview! We love the nearby beach - botany bay so that was the reason on our visiting the fayreness. Hotel stands alone on the cliff above the bay. It is so peaceful and relaxing - early in the morning people are walking their dogs, riding their bikes or jogging along the cliff tops. Hotel is listed as a 3* but it has all the little things on offer that make your stay rememberable. Sewing kits, shower caps, shoe shines, sweets in bowls. Large flat screens tv on the walls - not that we came here to watch tv but handy if the weather was cold. Receptionist was very welcoming on arrival which is very important as this makes or breaks a hotel - first impressions. We opted to have breakfast brought to our room and the charge for this was £3.50 - worth every penny! Only litte fault would be that on dining in the bar area,the lady bringing out the meals, didnt ask us if we required any sauces with our meals and disappeared quite quickly after bringing the meals out, which did not give us chance to request this, and I also saw another party who had their food served up, hunting around the bar area for sauces, and you do not want this when your food is sitting there getting colder. Whereas, the gentleman serving another party enquired if they required any sauces etc, which just makes for good customer service. All in all a lovely, peaceful, relaxing break by the sea.....what more could you ask for!

Room Tip: Request a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank at_hodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here in August and I was very impressed with everything about this hotel . Amazing views .. Great location .. Comfy beds . Stayed in the family suite and it was ideal ! Breakfast was served in the conservatory and was extremely appetising ! Would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be returning ! Thank you .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ju1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed here in July 2012 and was very impressed with the hotel, service and room. I am very fussy when it comes to hotels and usually stay in very nice hotels. When I saw the reviews of this hotel, I had low expectations but as we booked late I figured it would do. The reason I gave it a 5/5 is that the value for money is exceptional. Our room was definitely not modern, but had character and overlooked the sea. The staff were incredible friendly and accommodating, showing us our room and even giving us the room for an additional night at the same discounted price when we decided to stay on an extra night. It was the opening night of the Olympics and the manager on duty came and turned up all the volume on all the teles and checked with us if it was loud enough (as we were obviously watching the game).

We spent both evenings in the hotel room watching the Olympics on our large tele, which was fantastic. There are little touches in the room that are really appreciated - a lovely selection of teas, hot chocolates, and shortbreads - even a bowl of mints. (not a big deal, but it makes it nicer).

The bathroom was modern (seemingly recently re-done recently) and had a skylight in it. It was so inviting that I had a bath in it (which I usually do not have).

The only slight (and I say very slight) disappointment was the breakfast. The continental breakfast was a little lacking, and I certainly wouldn't order it again. I also had the vegetarian full english, which I thought was nicer. They have a buffet to accompany your cooked breakfast, but it is very sparse with only a few items.

Overall a fantastic value for money. The location is romantic, overlooking the cliffs and each day we took the one hour walk into either margate or broadstairs on the cliffs. You can catch the bus back to the hotel (drops off at the top of the road) and is very inexpensive - only £1.30.

Highly recommend for views, value, and hospitality.

Room Tip: The suites are really nice - highly recommended!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We wanted to stay in Broadstairs but this hotel turned out to be quite a walk outside of it. Walk in parts is on the road and is dangerous to walk when dark. Not only from traffic but pavements covered in dog dirt!
It was good value for money though and the breakfasts were lovely. The waiting staff were nice but other staff did not go out of their way to be friendly.
Rooms are dated but clean, bit disappointed that bedding wasn't changed during visit as the weather was very hot.
Beautiful sea views.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsobellaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here in March 2012 which my partner for the weekend, It was a very nice place right by the sea, and friendly bar and reception staff. Also the breakfast was faultless.
Simply a A++ place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkHeart5915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsgate
1.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
533 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
213 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
745 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
375 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Botany Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Botany Bay Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Kingsgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Price Range: $81 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Botany Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the beautiful cliff top at Kingsgate Bay, The Botany Bay Hotel in Broadstairs promises a tranquil and peaceful getaway - whether it's for a long weekend, a wedding, birthday celebration or just a lunch hour. Stay in one of 30 en-suite bedrooms, enjoy a pint of real ale in the lounge bar or sample fantastic food (with a view of the sea) in one of the best restaurants in Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Botany Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayreness Hotel Kingsgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing