We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay in England”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Botany Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had a wonderful four days in Fayreness. The room, dining, staff were excellent. The room was warm and had updated bathroom and facilities. Great view of the sea. Dining room was always clean and the food delicious for every meal. The staff were friendly, helpful and obliging with any request for change from norm. One waitress copied her own map for our next day trip. Lots of advice on area and what to see. We will return for sure and explore more of the Kent coast.

Room Tip: some have windows that help ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 643 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Booked the two night New Year package and arrived at the hotel late afternoon on New Year's Eve. Immediately we were impressed by the welcome and friendliness of the staff and this continued throughout our stay. The service was exceptional, the food excellent, and the whole package could not be bettered. We just hope that the same deal is available next year as we would certainly be first on the booking list.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAINDONWEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

What a great hotel with a wonderful atmosphere, created by friendly helpful staff.
The hotel throughout was spotlessly clean and bedrooms were very roomy. The food was very good quality, with plenty of choice and it was served by very attentive staff, who genuinely seemed to enjoy their job. The location was perfect, with a great view out to see and although it was very busy , the service was always first class. We will be going back again soon I hope. This independent hotel is joining the Shepherd Neame group and I see no reason for it to not carry on being a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronborrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The bedroom with sea views. was large clean and very comfortable, the breakfast was just ok..The hotel stop serving food at the bar if they have a function on. The corridors leading to the bedrooms smelt like an old peoples home however we did get used to the smell by the second day. There are stunning views over the bay from the hotel and the staff were polite and helpful. We did think the hotel was over priced at £119 per night, for what was offered.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 178Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My family and I have been visiting Kingsgate for as long as I have been alive, and the Fayreness is an amazing hotel. Now I have children myself I can say that it is in such a fantastic location for them. Perfect to be just on the beach!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brettdsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

After reading in the press today about fake Trip Advisor reviews, this is genuine.

The last review we wrote was back in March of this year. We have been staying at the Fayreness, every 4 to 5 weeks since late 2009. We have booked for the rest of this year and as it may get busy with the Olympics in 2012 we have booked that as well.

All of the staff are always friendly and helpful, this includes those at the bar, reception, restaurant and includes the cleaners. There have been some changes in personnel since we started staying there, but nothing changes. It seems to be part of their ethos.

At one of our stays the reception staff discovered in conversation it was our wedding anniversary. They arranged with the bar to provide complimentary drinks.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We really look forward to going there and will be back again at the end of August.

Congratulations Jo, becoming the Hotel Manager, a deserved promotion.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayreness51, Manager at The Botany Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear Mr & Mrs Mason,
Thank you so much for another lovely review on The Fayreness Hotel. Your review made all of the staff here smile; we are so pleased you carry on enjoying your stays with us. I personally always look forward to seeing you both and hearing about your family.

When guests come as regularly as yourselves being able to offer you a small gesture to help celebrate your special day is something that we are pleased to be a part of .

I would like to speak on behalf of all the staff here when I say that it is an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us.

I look forward to seeing you again soon

With Kind Regards

Joanna Garrett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Fayreness Hotel this past weekend. We needed a last minute room for three (2 adults and a child) during a very busy time, and the staff set up the Kingsgate Suite for us, which our local friends said was more like a flat than a hotel room!

We were terrifically comfortable, and felt well welcomed. The site was particularly good for an 11-year-old boy, who played on the well-kept beach every day and interacted many times with friendly neighbors walking dogs.

The room had internet (a little weak in the room, but free!), 2 cable-connected TVs, trouser press, blow dryer, spacious bath, empty fridge for guest use, free parking, and of course tea things (including packets of hot chocolate).

We were also able top walk very easily to a family friendly pub down the road, which has a play area with attractive amenities.

For those traveling without a car, be advised that the cab fare to Broadstairs is a bit over 4 GBP each way, and we did not find the bus to be an acceptable alternative when arriving by rail with bags.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about your needs -- they WILL help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayreness51, Manager at The Botany Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you found your room to be spacious and comfortable for your family.

We are very lucky with the location of our hotel as it offers families a great chance to explore the beautiful English coastline that we are so lucky to be so close to.

Because of the location of the hotel our wireless connection has been weak in some parts, we have since fitted boosters around the hotel to try and increase the strength of the signal throughout the hotel. As well as the wireless that we have already set up around the hotel we have recently had the Sky cloud set up in our bar area providing an excellent signal and connection for our hotel guests. We hope to have this fitted throughout the hotel in the near future.

We hope that you will return with your family in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Joanna Garrett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsgate
1.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
532 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
213 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
745 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
375 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Botany Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Botany Bay Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Kingsgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Price Range: $81 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Botany Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the beautiful cliff top at Kingsgate Bay, The Botany Bay Hotel in Broadstairs promises a tranquil and peaceful getaway - whether it's for a long weekend, a wedding, birthday celebration or just a lunch hour. Stay in one of 30 en-suite bedrooms, enjoy a pint of real ale in the lounge bar or sample fantastic food (with a view of the sea) in one of the best restaurants in Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Botany Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayreness Hotel Kingsgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing