We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Botany Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Lovely hotel, in a beautiful location, our room overlooked the sandy Botany Bay. We were lucky with the weather on two out of 3 days. There seems to be plenty to do around Broadstairs and Margate.The hotel bar was very busy because of the weather but the staff coped really well and didn't seem at all fazed.

Would recommend the sea view rooms at the front, lovely large rooms with balconies.
We would have extended our stay but there was a wedding at the week-end and the hotel was fully booked! Never mind, we will come back another time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayreness51, Manager at The Botany Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review regarding your stay at The Fayreness Hotel. We thank all of our guest who find the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that we were fully booked and that you were unable to extend your stay with us, we have been fully booked for a lot of the summer this year despite the poor weather!

Our Sea Facing rooms make the best of the beautiful coast that our hotel overlooks, Our Hotels location is nicely set in the middle of Broadstairs and Margate making it easy to explore both towns.

Lets hope you bring the sunshine with you again.

With Kind Regards

Joanna Garrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    201
    90
    40
    20
See reviews for
166
265
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rutland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

A reasonable hotel, clean tidy and friendly staff. Food again pretty average

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynotcracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayreness51, Manager at The Botany Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are pleased you found our hotel to be ‘clean and tidy ‘our housekeepers take great pride in making sure the hotel rooms and communal areas are left to a high standard making our guests stay as comfortable as possible.
We are extremely proud of the staff we have at the hotel and the service that they provide year after year. We have been working very hard at the hotel recently and have been taking a good look at the food we provide at the hotel, we have since updated both our A la carte menu and Bar Menu. This will be ongoing and we hope if you do stay with us in the future that you will be impressed with the changes that have already been made.

With Kind Regards

Joanna Garrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here in June 2011. We were lucky to pick the two hottest days of the year so far, but I suspect it would be great even in lousy weather. The hotel stands on high ground, a few hundred yards back from the top of spectacular chalk cliffs. Between the hotel and the cliff top is a lovely coastal path, along which there seems to be a steady procession of people walking dogs. The restaurant, from which you get a perfect view of the cliff-top activity and a panoramic view of the North Sea and English Channel, provides really good food at breakfast and in the evenings. There's a large bar area (plenty of space inside and out, with similarly spectacular views), where a wide range of real ale and bar food is served. There are rooms on the ground floor, well suited to people with restricted mobility, which are not far from the dining room or a welcoming series of public lounges, etc. There are interesting things to see (ruined coastal fortifications, chalk stacks, etc) a few hundred yards along the coastal path in either direction and it's a short walk down steps between the cliffs to a beach which extends a long way along the coast. Bedrooms are clean and well equipped with daily maid-service. Staff are friendly and efficient. This was our second visit and we'll definitely return!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mjmacdonald234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayreness51, Manager at The Botany Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review of The Fayreness Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in June. The Fayreness Hotel is situated in such a beautiful area with golden sandy beaches that you can take full advantage of in the English sunshine. The area does have some gorgeous views that our restaurant and bar area take full advantage of.
We have now started up a new scheme, where we like to reward our regular customer with a 10% discount off your next stay. We hope that you will take full advantage of this discount and we hope that you carry on enjoying your future stays with us just as much.

With Kind Regards

Joanna Garrett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We always use this Hotel when staying on Thanet and have now stayed on at least one dozen occasions.

The standard of service never falters, the rooms are always clean - some with excellent sea views - and the staff polite. Arrive early if you have a cherished car and wish to park it safely in a single bay without cars alongside - there are several bays to help you achieve this.

Food in the restaurants is now excellent, a few years back it was just good. Although portions of vegetables can still be a little too large for some, you are certain to be properly satisfied with a choice to suit everyone.

Avoid Friday / Saturday stays if possible IF there is a wedding party using the Hotel, although to be fair, we have had little cause for complaint even then. But some can be very noisy if you chose to turn in early.

It is easy to compliment The Fayreness and difficult to find fault which rather says it all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayreness51, Manager at The Botany Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for your review of The Fayreness Hotel. We have been working very hard on our Restaurant menu as of late and have recently updated both our Restaurant A la Carte Menu & Bar Menus.
We are so pleased with your comment that you feel that our restaurant menu has now improved and you feel that the food is now excellent. This is the standard that we will strive to stay at.

We do have a lot of weddings at the hotel especially during the summer months. All of our weddings do finish at 12pm Midnight. If you book with us direct you will be notified of any function during your stay .If you book online and would like to check if there is a wedding during the time you would like to stay with us, our team are more than happy to help you.
You can call us direct on 01843 861103 and speak to a member of our reception team.

Thank you again for your review of our hotel, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

With Kind Regards

Joanna Garrett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Room was good. Everything you need and clean. Shame that a double room which would probably be used by a couple should be underneath a family room. We were awoken at 5:45am by extremely noisey children above. Bar and restaurant were tired and in need of a upkeep. Breakfast was very good, although the room was stifling hot. Surely aircon or better ventilation required similar to that of the bar area. Good service in restaurant also. Reception greeting could have been friendlier. Worth coming back at somepoint.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upthepalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayreness51, Manager at The Botany Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
We are currently dealing with the problem of stuffy rooms by installing air conditioning units. This has already been installed in many of our 30 rooms and we hope to have the remainder installed over the next couple of months (please see comment on Trip Advisor from Mr & Mrs Mason comment below). With regards to the breakfast room, unfortunately as it is in a conservatory it is very difficult to regulate the heat, we do open doors, windows & put fans on .This is something we will look into further.
Since your visit we have been having ongoing maintenance on the building both inside and out, carpets have been replaced, the restaurant has been painted and our furniture upholstery is due to be cleaned and repaired in the bar and restaurant over the next month.
As you will see from other trip advisor reviews there are many comments highlighting the friendliness of our staff. I wonder if you could let us know the date that you arrived at the hotel so I can speak to the member of staff concerned, with regards to your comment about the greeting.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we take all your opinions on board. Comments such as those made by yourself and other guests mean we can only improve our hotel and the service we provide.

Kind Regards

Joanna Garrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We first stayed at the Fayreness at the end 2009.

We liked it so much that we booked up every four to five weeks for 2010 and have done it again for 2011.

Our daughter and her husband stayed there for their 1st wedding anniversary, on our recommendation, and very much enjoyed it, especially the food. The Fayreness staff arranged champagne and flowers on their arrival (this is an extra).

The staff are helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The food is great and very reasonably priced.

We are puzzled by some of the negative comments such as:

“the bar and restaurant were packed with tables” – there are tables, as well as chairs, what do you expect to sit and eat at.

“approaching the reception involved running the gamut of the restaurant customers” – we are not sure how you get in to get to reception through the restaurant !!

The rooms that we have stayed in, all have hair dryers. There are now new televisions and some rooms have air conditioning.

We would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayreness51, Manager at The Botany Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Mr & Mrs Mason,
Firstly I would like to thank you for your lovely comment, it really was a pleasure for the staff and I to read your review.
We were so pleased to hear your comment regarding our staff as we know with out our warm and friendly staff The Fayreness Hotel would not be the same. We feel that going the extra mile for our customers is what distinguishes us from other hotels.
I hope you carry on enjoying your future stays with us and I look forward to seeing you again in June.
With Kind Regards
Joanna Garrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Just returned from a three night stay at Fayreness Hotel where we had a super time. The staff were so friendly and obliging - nothing too much trouble. They happily organised a pre-breakfast pot of tea each morning, sent out for my newspaper when they were one short and and even searched for a bulb for my bedside table lamp when it had blown at 10.40pm. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had a large screen TV with Freeview. The setting of the hotel overlooking the sea is just wonderful and relaxing. We would definitely return again - hence we warmly recommend a stay here. The only two minor criticisms - the free wi fi was very slow and kept dropping out and the road approaching the hotel from Percy Road is absolutely terrible - full of pot holes and craters but this can easily be avoided by taking the parallel road to the hotel (obviously this is not the hotel's fault - not sure who owns that section of road and why it has not been made up?)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinStubbington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsgate
1.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
493 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
163 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
685 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
346 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Botany Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Botany Bay Hotel

Property: The Botany Bay Hotel
Address: Marine Drive, Kingsgate CT10 3LG, England (Formerly The Fayreness Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Kingsgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Botany Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the beautiful cliff top at Kingsgate Bay, The Botany Bay Hotel in Broadstairs promises a tranquil and peaceful getaway - whether it's for a long weekend, a wedding, birthday celebration or just a lunch hour. Stay in one of 30 en-suite bedrooms, enjoy a pint of real ale in the lounge bar or sample fantastic food (with a view of the sea) in one of the best restaurants in Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Botany Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayreness Hotel Kingsgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing