We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebration Meal”

The Captain Digby Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Captain Digby Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Kingsgate
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With a unique childrens outdoor and indoor play area close to the bar serving snacks and light meals. Our restaurant is separate and raised from our bar area with our ever so popular restaurant menu. A friendly, family pub and restaurant with spectacular cliff top views close to the beach. Providing fresh home cooked food and local real ale.Catering for all ages all year round serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm/10pm 7 days a week.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Celebration Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to have a good, hearty meal. The extensive variety on offer is well proportioned and freshly cooked. All staff are friendly and the service is fast, although you don't feel rushed. A word of warning thou, on a hot sunny day, you may get a text from your mobile provider to welcome you to Belgium.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    104
    54
    29
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely food & friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just had a great meal at Captain Digby. I can vouch that the Chicken pie was fantastic, rack of ribs great and also the fish & chips.
The staff were very obliging and we had a great evening, thank you much appreciated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules1964_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always good. Great menue and decent prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've been here a lot over the years as I have family in the area. When my kids were small they could use the indoor playground, but now they're much older we sit at the 'grown-ups' end! Always a good menu, specials & friendly staff. If you only want to go for a beer it's a bit cramped in the bar; but as most go to eat, it's OK.
Yes, I'll go back as I have done over the space of about 20 years.... And they cater for parties & celebrations. We held a 'do' for my old Mum last Xmas and the staff were willing & accommodating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Food Excellent - Decor a bit sad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have used this venue several times. My wife chose a steak 5* there is a choice of potatoes and comes with a salad or vegetables. I had the Cajun chicken nan bread and rice, the portions are very generous. The sauce is very moreish 6*. As usual the staff were very attentive and friendly.

The downside of this venue.

They used to have place mats, they have disappeared. Consequently on a highly polished table my bottle of wine slide from one side to the other. Cottage furniture is a popular style of furnishing for many venues.

The table for 2 we sat at has a central column with nowhere to stretch your legs. The chairs although padded (that is a bonus in some venues) are clearly uncomfortable as the upright bars at the back of the chair are worn down to the bare wood where customers have fidgeted. You can not sit back with a straight back.

For a very busy and popular venue with a menu that is NOT "Pub grub" it would be nice if the company spent some money making the customers a little more comfortable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaye5848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First visit .... won't be the last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

My partner and I decided to try the £9.99 steak and glass of wine (other drinks are available) offer on a lovely warm evening. It was the first time either of us had been to the Captain Digby and we were a little concerned about some of the reviews, but we've been looking for somewhere local, with great views, for a while now since moving to Palm Bay. We hadn't booked but the restaurant wasn't too busy and we were promptly shown to a table by the window by a very nice waitress. We knew what we wanted but took a look at the menus anyway out of interest and were impressed by the range of meals on offer! We ordered our steak meals, opting for chips rather than baked or new potatoes, and vegetables rather than salad. Our drinks were brought within minutes (red wine for me and a pint of Doom Bar him) and the steaks followed no more than 10-12 minutes later. Wow - we were presented with well-cooked steaks, beautifully crispy and non-greasy chips, homemade onion rings, mushrooms and petit pois! The food was tasty, hot and beautifully presented. We were so full that we couldn't manage a dessert but took a look at the menu anyway and again, saw a wide choice of desserts with something for everyone. Don't be put off by the negative comments on here - we were served by two waitresses during our visit, both of whom were extremely hospitable, pleasant and efficient. A delicious meal and drink for two for £20 - you can't beat it. We will be back!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KentHappybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captain Digby Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Captain Digby Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing