We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really lovely over all experience”

The Captain Digby Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Captain Digby Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Kingsgate
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With a unique childrens outdoor and indoor play area close to the bar serving snacks and light meals. Our restaurant is separate and raised from our bar area with our ever so popular restaurant menu. A friendly, family pub and restaurant with spectacular cliff top views close to the beach. Providing fresh home cooked food and local real ale.Catering for all ages all year round serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm/10pm 7 days a week.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“really lovely over all experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have visited this venu many times over the last year,everyone food,service,and staff were 1st class.Value for money first rate.
highly recomend a visit,well worth the drive--plenty of parking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forth-Broadstai... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captaindigby I, Manager at The Captain Digby Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I am very happy to hear of your enjoyable experience at the Captain Digby!

We like to think that our food is at its best every day of the week, and with our Head Chef of 13 years and his dedication, our good food is not going anywhere! We are very lucky to have him and his team doing such a fabulous job.

All staff front of house continuously work hard to provide the best service possible to all of our customers, and with our new training methods coming in to place, we are hoping to make sure every member of staff can look after you the best they can.

Please come back and visit us again soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    104
    54
    29
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly if a touch expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Delicious meals and good selection of wines served by really friendly staff who seemed to like their jobs..It was a touch more expensive than usual but the food was so nicely cooked that the old adage "You get what you pay for" is very true because of restaurants like this...Treat yourself to the dessert that you share between two, cant think what it was called but my wife and I met in the middle and didnt even fight over what was left..All in all a truly enjoyable experience

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A Palace Tor Rest for Tour family after a long walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great atmosphere and a beautiful view over the sea. The meal was delicios and the service perfect. Our children had a place to play and run around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captaindigby I, Manager at The Captain Digby Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
As a Family run venue, we cater for all ages and I am happy to hear that your family enjoyed themselves and we hope you'll visit again soon.

Many Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We came here on our holiday after a friend recommended it,loved the views from the restaurant.Food was good and so was the service

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bunnyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beer with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went here after a little splash and paddle at Viking Bay, we had a lamb burger, chicken mayo baguette, it was exactly as we expected, pub grub, nothing more and nothing less, nothing to complain about but equally nothing to celebrate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Munkeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captain Digby Restaurant also viewed

 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Captain Digby Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing