We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing escape”
Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing escape”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went here in February and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A lovely lodge overlooking the river with great access to lovely walks through the valleys and forests surrounding. Whilst there we got engaged, and the staff were lovely and put a bottle of sparkling wine in our room as a surprise! Food was very good, and sitting by the fire reading books and playing scrabble was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyskidmoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We thank our guest for taking the time ti post their review.

We are very pleased that our guests chose the Royal Lodge as the venue to become engaged. We are grateful of our guests kind comments and look forward to welcoming them back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    274
    105
    49
    16
See reviews for
123
522
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after walking up to Yat Rock - It was recommended by the chap in the boat-hire kiosk. I had Scampi, my husband had fish and son had burger. All were piping hot, good sized portions and very tasty. the scampi wasn't greasy at all as sometimes it can be and the burger looked handmade. We did have to wait 40 minutes but it was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We thank our visiting guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased that our guest enjoyed their lunch with us and can only apologize that there was a delay in serving.

We do become very busy indeed on peak bank holiday weekends and strive to maintain a swift service where possible.

We look forward to welcoming our guests back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited the Royal lodge for dinner after a day of canoeing, we were staying in Symmonds Yat East so it was easily accessible to us, and they offer a 20% discount to those that use the camp site. The food was good, and the service was quick. The staff were friendly, and the pub had a good feel about it, even though it was a bank holiday and pressures were on. After our meal we walked up Yats Rock to watch the sunset - which is one of the most beautiful views we have seen within the UK. it was a bit of a trek but completely highlight! Recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elesy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We thank our visiting guest for their review and comments.

We are very pleased to hear that our guest enjoyed their meal with us and the level of service provided by our dedicated team.

We look forward to seeing our guests again.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed on Sunday night 27th May after only booking 1 hour before and got the last room available, the place was buzzing on arrival and despite there being a Porsche party which were keeping them busy, we were greeted by a lovely lady and shown to our room. We had room 2 which overlooked the river and gardens. The room was very nice and clean and also quite large. Breakfast was good with lots of variety of continental, fruit and cooked. A lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchleave2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We thank our guest for choosing to stay with us here at The Royal Lodge and for their comments and review.

We are very happy to hear that they enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming them back in the future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Bank holiday treat! We had such an incredible time whilst staying at The royal lodge this weekend. From the start of our arrival to the end we were blown away at the convenience and helpfulness of all at The Royal lodge. We brought along our own kayak which we were able to enter the river upon right outside the hotel after receiving a free car park pass due us being residents, even though we were not checking in until later on in the day. After a day on the river the retreat back at the hotel was welcoming. We had a fantastic room with the most piteresque scenery as our view of the river wye. We were most surprised at our room after only booking the day before our arrival and The royal lodge staff helping us to find a room at the last minute. The food was gorgeous, our evening meal and breakfast the following morning. We will definitlety be returning to this sanctuary. A very warm thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We thank our guest for taking the time to share their experience with others.

Very happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and the levels of service, food and hospitality provided.

We look forward to providing our guests with another warm welcome on their next visit.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to The Royal Lodge. The staff always make you feel welcome. Food is fantastic. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. Lovely garden's to relax in. There is so much to do around this historic hotel. It really is a very special place. We look forward to returning again soon. We can not highly recommend it enough. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Room 19 large spacious room with a four poster bed and views over the Wye Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandJackalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We thank our valued guest for their review and kind comments.

We are very happy that all elements of their stay were enjoyable and met with their expectations.

We look forward to seeing our valued guests again very soon.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The scenery is stunning! We stayed in a family room which was spacious and with stunning views. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food in restaurant delicious. Laid back and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We thank our guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased that our guest enjoyed their stay with us and that the levels of food and hospitality met with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming our guests back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
1.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
127 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
568 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Property: The Royal Lodge
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing