We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant country hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant country hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

If slightly down at heel country hotel is your scene this is your dream. Set in the most beautiful countryside it is a very good base for walking or visiting the many attractions near by.
Service was usually good and the staff were helpful.

Our room (9) was large but it could do with redecorating and a better wardrobe. It had a wash basin but strangely not in the bathroom/ toilet. The bathroom had a large bath with shower attachment. On the plus side there was plenty of hot water, and the central heating was good.

Breakfast was very good with bread, croissant, meats including hand carved ham, juices etc. In addition you could order toast and afterwards you could order a cooked breakfast (?). The cooked breakfast was freshly cooked to order with decent sausages.

The evening meal was also very good but slightly expensive for what it was.

Parking is by permit.

Not much nearby, just the Saracen's Head which does serve still cider. Their restaurant seems to be permanently fully booked.

Overall I would say it is a homely hotel and I would go back again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pg0153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We can only apologise that this guests room was not to their liking. The Royal Lodge is an ancient Royal hunting lodge and due to the age of the building retains some period character features.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    254
    96
    48
    16
See reviews for
115
495
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I would give this hotel a rating of good, but its not an option. We made the royal lodge our base for 3 nights as we cycled, walked and even went canoeing. The hotel is very welcoming. Staff brilliant. We stayed in room 21. This has just been created and is at top of stairs so we can hear passing hotel guests and the telephone in reception. Wouldn't describe room as superior, as hotel claims. Ordinary double bed, no bath, just shower. 1 radiator not working. One of our party in room 13, had no heating or hot water for 1 evening. Got the impression boilers were struggling. Lovely food. Good beer and wine. I would go back, but wouldn't want room 21 again.

Room Tip: Not room 21! Although decent enough, not as good as other rooms in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillB_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

It is unfortunate that our guest did not like the room that they were allocated not all of our rooms do have a bath. We acknowledge that during this guests stay we did encounter a pump failure but endeavored to rectify it as swiftly as possible.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just had a wonderful walk round symonds yat,the place is breath taking. then we called in to the royal lodge for a lunch time meal and drinks,we both had sandwiches and a side of chips i choose the tuna mayo on brown bread no mayo!my wife had ham and mustard, both sandwiches were i feel for the portion supplied over priced,Nice location friendly staff but over priced drinks and poor value for money on their lunch menu.we will try somewhere next time.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Whilst we appreciate all of our guests views and opinions we do urge guests to advise us of any issues while they are here.
This guest has visited on a Bank Holiday weekend where large volumes of food are being freshly prepared and served. We are unable to rectify any issue if the customer does not make us aware.

It is with regret that this guest feels this way and unfortunate that we did not have the opportunity to deal with an issue that they have raised.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend for 2 nights before Easter bank holiday weekend. The hotel had a scenic location, by the river. There was a pub a short walk away and plenty of nice countryside to wander around in. We stayed in room 2.
Plus: large room size, very comfortable double bed, shower was hot and powerful. A nice clean room (the odd cobweb on light fittings), couch if you wanted to sit and watch TV and decent view from the window. The breakfast selection was good and very tasty (cooked and continental). We ate in the hotel restaurant- the food was great! The staff are friendly and can give good suggestions for places to walk around. There is a large car park for which the hotel gives.a permit, so I imagine that's a valuable thing in the summer!
Minus: very little complain about really. The room was a bit cold but maybe that's our fault for not knowing how to work the radiator. We couldn't work out if there was WiFi provided for hotel guests- there were no details in the room. Apparently we were meant to have a free bottle of wine, but we didn't get one.

Overall, I would recommend staying here. The scenery is amazing and you will have a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLHLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the lodge late last year for a long weekend break. We had a river view room with opening doors with views across the river. The staff were very welcoming and cheerful. The room we had was clean and comfortable and the views amazing. The food was wholesome and portion control large (if your in to cheese go for the board) and hearty. The hotel has a rotation regime at breakfast for tables at the windows which I have to say works well, allowing all rooms concerned views of the country side without having to rush down in the morning. Walks out from the hotel along the river are relaxing. Try the cycling in the forest and the kayak past the Yat (the kayak trip was fantastic especially at the Yat view point) and further up with some really nice views. Will defiantly be going back this year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obleron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Last weekend we stayed at The Royal Lodge Hotel.
Wonderful views, friendly staff they couldnt do enough to accomodate you.
The breakfast was hearty and would keep you going for the day.
We had a cream tea on the Sunday which was yummy.
Our room was a family room which would have slept 3 even though there was only the two of us. Very clean room and bathroom, lovely big towels and lovely and warm as it was a very cold weekend!!

Great walks and views around the area.

Special note to Lynette and Dave who were on duty during our stay. What lovely people they were, very chatty and friendly which makes a nice change as often the staff dont bother much.
We would certainly return to this hotel and would highly recommend it

Room Tip: we had room 10 which was very quiet and a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenwooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Royal Lodge for my son and daughter in laws wedding. We could not have asked for a better venue. Everything was first class. Staff welcoming and always cheerful and helpful. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The whole place was welcoming and comfortable. Food was excellent. Views at this location are superb.
Everything on the day of the wedding ran seamlessly. Couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.
Hope to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra_snelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#11 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Property: The Royal Lodge
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing