We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel last week for 2 nights, having travelled to many places all over the world we can homestly say this rates in our top 5. From the minute we arrived till the minute we left we could not fault anything. The room overlooked the river with amazing views and was perfect, so clean and comfortable. The food again could not be faulted on any level it is homemade and locally sourced. The staff service was exceptional and they made us feel like we were old friends so helpful and they could not do enough. Would highly reccomend to anyone and had we not have had to get home would have extended our stay without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griff1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    269
    104
    49
    16
See reviews for
121
514
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This Hotel is a real gem. Wonderful welcome, smart clean rooms, beautifully situated overlooking the River Wye.

Restaurant is fabulous, no complaints whatsoever, good, varied menu (the Chef's Menu was delicious).

Great for sightings of Peregrine Falcoms just above the Hotel with excellent walking around the area.

I will be returning, without doubt to this most enjoyable & friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Lodge Hotel for two nights on 2nd March using a kgb voucher. We were delayed and arrived there after dark, got slightly lost and telephoned - the lady was very helpful. We parked up and had a lovely welcome from Lynette and Jane who gave us a car permit. The young man carried our suitcase up the flights of stairs for us, very helpful. Very nice breakfasts with option to make own tea and lovely bar meal in the restaurant on first night. We would certainly recommend this hotel with beautiful views over the River Wye and hope to stay there again!

Pam & Andy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamandy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a great groupon deal. Bed and breakfast for friday and saturday. The room we were first shown to only had a shower so we asked if there was one with a bath available. We were kindly shown a couple of other rooms.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The food was fabulous.
A great place for lots of walks and Goodrich Castle is a must.

Room Tip: Room 9 had a lovely view and a bathroom and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiltons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am writing this review on behave of my parents. I bought the break on wowcher as a present. It included 2 nights B and B and cream tea for £99. They paid extra to take the dog! lol.
They said 'Excellent hotel, comfortable bedroom, very friendly and welcoming. Location great for walking if the weather on you side. Breakfast was fabulous, great choice and cooked fresh for you.
Dinner wasn't cheap but excellent, you get what you pay for and was worth it just keep it in mind.' They would certainly return and ask me to keep eye out for another deal!!! P.s the cream tea 2 huge home made scones absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolajones1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently enjoyed a two break at the Royal Lodge with friends. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable with views looking over the River Wye, food excellent, what more do you want? Give it a go! - we certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard and Mar... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Please, please, if you are travelling on the A40 between Ross on Wye and Monmouth, pull off at the sign for Symonds Yat East and stay at The Royal Lodge. The accommodation is warm and comfortable and the staff are particularly helpful and friendly. We loved Alison on the reception desk. Full of energy and great advise of where to visit, she is invaluable in this age of indifference. I also liked the barman who asked for proof of age when I ordered a drink. I am 61! Nice touch, old joke - but then so am I!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishacook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their recent stay with us and the levels of food and hospitality that were provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
1.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
117 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Property: The Royal Lodge
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing