We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night, mid week on business. Had a lovely large, light and airy room with a four poster bed. As other reviewers comment, the view from the bedroom make this hotel- I left the curtains open and enjoyed a beautiful sunrise over the river Wye. This hotel isn't luxurious- the breakfast room could do with a bit of a refurb as could other public areas of the hotel. However, if it's warm hosiptality you're after and a peaceful break away from it all then I recommend it here. Even better if you get good weather!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manoloCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

We thank our guest for taking the time to post this review.

We are very pleased that our guest enjoyed their recent stay with us and enjoyed the stunning views over our mature gardens and the river.

Great to hear that the level of hospitality was to the guests satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming them back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 866 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Royal Lodge - the scenery, even from the bedroom window, was absolutely beautiful and the area around just perfect for strolling, We thoroughly enjoyed a brief cruise up th river Wye.of things to do in area - we enjoyed visits to Tintern & Monmouth.

The staff in the hotel were really helpful and added to the whole experience. Our room. 16, was in the attic and there were lots of stairs and nooks & crannies - worth checking with hotel if you have a stair problem

We ate in the hotel both nights but weren't fussed on the a la carte selection so had bar menu on both nights - pretty average really. Breakfast good.

Again it is so worth staying here for it's loactaion & the staff - we will return

Room Tip: Our room, number 16, had a direct view over the River Wye but brochure says they all do. Shower not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjan708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

We would like to thank our guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased that our guest enjoyed their recent stay and were appreciative of the level of service provided by our small but dedicated staff team.

We aim to provide our guests with a level of service and hospitality that allows them to relax and watch the river float by. Great to here that this guest appreciated this.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at The Royal Lodge last week after booking through a KGB deal. I can truly say it was the best offer I have ever had. What a perfect hotel in an absolutely stunning area. The hamlet is small but was bursting with life with tourists.

Our welcome at the hotel was friendly and dog friendly which was a real plus for us. We travelled with 2 teenagers and my mother and the 3 rooms we had were all perfect. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and we were not disappointed with the Royal Lodge.

The staff, especially Gary were so friendly and helpful at all times and were made very welcome. We ate in the hotel on the first night and the food was fine. But have to admit the pub down the road was superb for food, busy but great.

Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty and a great started to the day ahead.

The walks from the hotel are great, although very muddy if it has rained and we loved the boat to get across the river. The scenery is absolutely stunning and sitting on the terrace and watching the world go by was very relaxing.

We are already talking about returning next year and can't wait.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 and 3 and would recommend them both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

We thank our valued guest for taking the time to share the experience of their recent stay with us here at The Royal Lodge.

We are very pleased to hear that our guest was able to enjoy the stunning walks and scenery that are available from the doorstep, despite the weather.

We strive to provide all of our guests with a pleasant and enjoyable stay and are very pleased to hear that our guest enjoyed their entire experience.

We look forward to providing our guest with another enjoyable stay in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Once again another four nite break at the Royal Lodge, which onec again excelled with service and friendley smiles and welcome.

I have visted the Royal Lodge and a number of occassion and have been very happy with my room, service and food.

Reading some of the feedback, I think people do not accept the age of the building and if major alterations and modernisation took place the building would be spoilt.

All the staff very helpful and friendly.

Will be returning again soon

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HappyJack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

We thank our guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are grateful to our guest for their ongoing and valued customer and we are very pleased that as normal they enjoyed their recent stay with us.

Very pleased to hear that our guest enjoyed all levels of service and hospitality that we provide.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A very warm welcome by all staff members, in a very beautiful location in the evenings sat in the garden the only sound was that of the river where it goes into a bit of fast water, a very peaceful & relaxing place to get away from it all, and personally can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterB1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

We would like to thank our guest for posting their review.

We are very pleased to hear that our valued guest enjoyed their recent stay with us. As described this guest also enjoyed the stunning mature gardens that look out over the river.

We look forward to providing our guest with another enjoyable stay in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Having read the reviews before booking, I thought I had made a good choice. Sadly, we were rather disappointed. The building is very tatty inside with dirty carpets especially in the reception, restaurant and staircases (these are pretty steep) and not very welcoming at all. It is rather dark inside, very tired looking and upon entering the building mid afternoon, we were greeted by the smell of old fish - yuk!

Our 'superior room' had a reasonable view but the furniture consisting of 2 club chairs which were badly stained and in need of urgent steam cleaning, tatty wardrobe and sideboard, with a small table, would be better suited to a skip! Yes, the room was fairly spacious but very tired with poor decorating, dust and dirt. The ensuite 'limestone' bathroom was nothing to write home about and was dark and gloomy and the overhead shower produced only a trickle of water. Decoration again was very shabby. Our room was not properly serviced, dirty wet cups were left as well as milk from the day before. The bed was very poorly made. We did mention this and were told it was difficult to get good staff and that the Housekeeper was away on holiday. Quite frankly we were not interested in excuses. Eventually, the cups did get changed and the toilet paper had its end pointed. Wow.

We had dinner in the restaurant and quite frankly wished we had not wasted our money! Poor quality starter and the expensive main course was bulked out with wet broccoli, soggy chips which were of the frozen type and lettuce. Frankly it was very over priced. The staff are reasonably pleasant but young and unprofessional with some of them lacking in training. A better image might be projected if they wore a smart uniform.

On the plus side, it is in a good location for exploring this part of the Wye Valley. If you want peace and quiet - you may get it out of season. The rates charged at this 4 Star hotel are rather high for such poor quality. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Here at The Royal Lodge we take our guests comfort and feedback very seriously indeed.

We can find no record of some the issues raised by this guest and because we take matters seriously we urge the reviewer to contact the hotel manager directly.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous two night stay at the The Royal Lodge . This was a re-visit thanks to a kind offer from Graham Howells. The room was beautiful with stunning views of the river. The staff were excellent, attentive and friendly, eager to offer assistance and make our stay pleasant. The food was excellent, we eat there both evenings, and breakfast offered a wide variety of choices.
Thank you to graham and his staff for making this return a complete success. We hope to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

We would like to thank our guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased that our guest enjoyed their recent visit and appreciated the stunning location that is Symonds Yat East. Great to hear that the level of service, hospitality and food were delivered to our high standard.

We look forward to welcoming our valued guest back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
1.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
523 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,174 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
190 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range: $73 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing